We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Cannes!”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great find in Cannes!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Le Canberra for two nights in the first week of June. It's a beautiful hotel, in the main shopping street. You can walk to the beach in less that two minutes. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the corner. The location is top.

Loved the interior of the room. Ours faced the garden, it was a haven of peace and quiet.
Great design in the bathroom as well. Loved the heated mirror, no fog from the shower steam!

Very good bed as well. It's a great shame that we were woken up by a fire alarm at 3am. Everyone had to evacuate, which ruined that night for us. We did get a good nights sleep the next day.

Too bad the hotels restaurant doesn't provide a proper dinner service anymore (only snacks and some tapas). We had heard some good things about their menu.

What really makes this hotel stand out, is its fabulous service. The people at the reception desk will bend over backwards to help you out with anything you might need: restaurant reservation (great recommendations!), info about rental cars, etc.

I really recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incrociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    237
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
118
337
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a family holiday with our 9 and 11 year old daughters. girls slept very comfortably on the fold out sofa. My husband and I had an absolutely luxurious bed set into the corner balcony of the hotel. Bathrooms were spectacular... you could play in there forever... even had the radio piped in and a pink lit bathtub. The children enjoyed some English speaking tv for a break. Great location near restaurants, shops and the beach. Very helpful staff (we had booked that day and received a room at a significant discount but regardless the staff treated us like vip guests). Secure parking located close by. excellent free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is right on Rue D'Antibes which is a great location. It is close to Le Suquet which was my favorite part of Cannes. Very central.
If you are driving just park at the lot called Lamy and don't bother asking if the hotel has parking. It is almost impossible to park even for 5 minutes to drop off your luggage without somebody honking their horn. They do have a 5 minute park area but it was filled with cars each time we passed by.
The hotel is very chic and nice. My dissappointment is that I reserved a pool view room months ahead but we got a room facing the street. What is the point of reserving I don't know. I was very upset about this. Supposedly he was going to send us drinks for the inconvenience...which we never got either.
The room was very spacious and comfortable but very noisy. I felt like I was sleeping in the middle of Monaco Grand Prix. It is a tiny road but youngsters were showing off their Ferraris all night. Just as I finally fell a sleep drunken serenade started about 5am. So if you want to sleep get a pool view room!
I think I would stay at this hotel because of its location and cleanliness but I would avoid Cannes Film Festival period to guarantee my pool view room.

Room Tip: pool view!! pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

After a sticky start - the private car transfer from Nice airport had been quoted at the wrong price! - the staff could not have been more helpful, including a bouquet of fresh flowers delivered to our room. The staff were very unobtrusive and the rooms were immaculately cleaned with new soap and provisions left every day. Breakfast was very basic, a case of help yourself, best to eat out at the numerous cafes nearby. The location is amazing, with a 5 minute walk to the beach and located on the Rue d'Antibe alongside all the shops.

The only complaint were the sunbeds on our balcony were too uncomfortable to stay on for long. The pool and garden is comfortable but small. We will definitely return to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ydrewnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel does exactly what it says on the label! Great location, nice rooms - well decorated with plenty of space and a really comfortable bed & up-to-date and clean bathrooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a little chaotic as it was busy but other than that we couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Le Canberra must be aiming for five stars particularly with its customer service which is impeccable. I was upgraded to a suite, having booked a prestige room, and it was both large and extremely comfortable. The pool area is quite small for the size of the hotel but that is to be expected for the location which is right in the middle of town, and the restaurant wasn't open in March, but I would still return again and again.
A totally enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: If you are out of season, it is worth asking for an upgrade to your room. They may not charge for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I know that a lot of hotel reviews depend on the room you end up with when you are there but for me, perhaps I was lucky enough to get a lovely room, but the room really made my stay. We had already moved hotels twice in our four night trip away...feel free to read the reviews of the other hotels to understand the journey we had...but this was our final hotel we stayed in because it was fantastic and we didn't feel the need to move any further.

From the moment we arrived, on the day without a booking, they made us feel welcome. They showed us the room before we booked it and it was stunning. Great design, toilet far away from the bedroom on it's own down a corridor in the bedroom and a separate bathroom with just bath and sink which was beautifully designed. Very clever lighting and lovely toiletries made it exceptional. The bedroom was beautiful; large french doors with an electronic shutter which made the room pitch black, lovely seating area and very cool TV which could be backlit in different colours. If I had to describe the vibe of the hotel in one word, it would be sexy. Very sophisticated without being brash.

The location was fantastic, close to the beach although without a sea view which is one of the only downsides, but right on a great shopping street. We faced the swimming pool rather than the street which I suspect makes a big difference in the noise. The balcony doors were double glazed and after two nights of constant noise in hotels, it was sheer bliss. So quiet and peaceful; I really didn't want to leave.

The swimming pool was gorgeously clean and had fabulous loungers and seating areas around it. I suppose in high season it's probably a bit cramped out there but I can't say because I was there in low season.

Staff gave great recommendations for places to eat and were just so exceptionally helpful and friendly. Really impressed. Also, this is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever visited. The cleaning staff were incredible; the room was immaculate and we even had a turn down service in the evening as well which was lovely.

It's not often that I can say so many positive things about a hotel but this one truly deserves it in my opinion. If you go there, I really hope you have the same experience as I did.

Room Tip: I think it might be best to ask for the swimming pool side perhaps but I can't say for definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KrissieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing