We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round! a gem of a hotel & position!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent all round! a gem of a hotel & position!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We can only add more praise to the already glowing reviews! The hotel is a gem, an oasis of calm and class just off the busy & bustling Cannes seafront ... spotlessly clean, modern and brilliantly designed ... the pool was perfect and all of the staff were great! A special mention for Josette on reception who was extremely helpful, professional and welcoming! We had free wifi, free parking for 5 days, breakfast was very good and the whole stay was an absolute pleasure!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DVD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    223
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
107
318
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Hotel Canberra is a perfect boutique hotel. The decor is stylish, our Junior suite was spacious and very clean. The service from all staff is exceptional. We had a superb breakfast each morning and spent time lounging by the small but well appointed pool area. Location ideal and we will return to the Hotel Canberra very soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northstar150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The location was excellent and within close walking distances to the shops, beach and restaurants. We stayed in a family room (garden suite) facing the pool on the 3rd floor. The room was very well decorated with good facilities. Too bad we only stayed for one night.

Parking was limited but free (4 lots) but the hotel is not easy to reach in the sense that there are many 'one way streets' in Cannes and my maps on the GPS was not updated. Nearby parking will set you back by 25 euros per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chue_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and absolutely loved the hotel. The rooms are great, clean, new and tastefully decorated. The receptionists are very friendly and informative and always willing to help with anything at all :)

Great location too and we even managed to get parking for 2 nights from the hotel for free :) A+

Really good sound proofing, we were right next to the road and couldn't hear anything and even have block out curtains so the room can remain totally dark.

Just be ware of the toilets in this hotel, their flush will absolutely shower you if you happen to be standing next to the toilet with the lid open.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is Cannes, where things tend to be expensive for nicer hotels. The good things: Staff is courteous, breakfast (which was included in my rate) is above average for France, pool was small but nice, rooms small but clean. Not good: PARKING. Don't plan on staying here if you have a car. In fact, Cannes in general is a problem if you have a car unless you want to pay a lot for parking or walk many blocks to park for free. In particular, the Canberra has no parking lot (they have a TINY one which holds 4 cars) and street parking is not free during the day - you need to go to the meter every 2 hours. The garages are 25EU - 35EU for 24 hours.
All that being said, this is a nice hotel. Whether it's worthy of the high praise, I don't know. Chances are I won't stay here again because of the parking issues. Otherwise, for touring, I guess I would recommend it since it was overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We originally intended to stay here for only six nights, but we loved it so much that we extended to seven. Forget the expensive large hotels on the Croisette – this is THE place to stay in Cannes. I am still amazed at the value of this hotel. We paid just slightly over €100 per night – and I would have honestly paid twice that for what you get.

It is located only two blocks off the Croisette and is directly on Rue d'Antibes (one of the main shopping streets). It is an easy walk from/to the train station, and a slightly longer walk down to the bus station near the Hotel du Ville. It gives you easy walking access to tons of shops, restaurants, beaches.

The service was excellent – in particular the lovely man who worked the morning shift at the reception desk. Unfortunately, I don’t remember his name – but he always remembered ours.

The rooms are large (we had one of the smallest rooms, and it was still very large – so I can only imagine how large the other rooms are) and well decorated in a cool, glam style with neutral colours and splashes of pink. We have stayed in a lot of boutique hotels where the pictures online look great but in person the décor is cheap and poorly maintained – this hotel is NOT like that. The furnishings were all of high quality and well cared for. The bathroom is a hoot, all shiny black stone with a neon pink light shining down on the bathtub/shower. We didn’t pay for a room with a balcony, but we were fortunate to be given a room on the third floor of the pool side of the hotel where the rooms have little tiny balconies – not big enough for a lounge chair but big enough to step out onto. The view over the pool is lovely – so I strongly recommend requesting a room on the pool side rather than the street side. It is probably also a lot quieter. Unlike other hotels, we never had any problem with street noise or with noise coming from the adjoining rooms.

We were glad that we didn’t spend the money for a bigger room with a balcony. The smallest room is plenty big, and you don’t really need the balcony because you can use the pool area for the same purpose.

Our favourite feature of the hotel was the pool area. The pool appears small, but once you get in it you realize it is plenty large. The hotel doesn’t have many rooms – and most people are out and about during the day – so we had plenty of time in the pool by ourselves. There are chairs for sunbathing next to the pool – and in a raised area next to the pool there are three sets of chairs with umbrellas where you can sit and talk or read – and receive bar service. We spent a lot of time out there reading and drinking wine!

The free Wi-Fi worked fine – though having to repeatedly login can be a chore.

We never ate the breakfast or dinner - so I can’t comment on that. I do highly recommend L’Art du Pain for breakfast-on-the-go – a little patisserie on Rue Jean Jaures on the northeast side of a lovely market – and conveniently on the way to the train station.

We only had two minor complaints: (1) One night, the air conditioning (which had otherwise worked great) stopped working – and we had an unpleasant night’s sleep. To the hotel’s credit, this was corrected by the next evening and we had no further problems. One of the hotel employees said that the engine had fallen off of the air conditioner?! (2) Although the bathroom is great, the toilet is immediately on your left when you enter and sort of sticks out so that the door barely brushes against it – which means it is impossible to open or close the door if someone is sitting on the toilet. That is fine for one person but not optimal for two. I don’t know if other rooms in the hotel are like that.

Cannes is a great base for day trips as long as the railway employees aren’t on strike. We took day trips to Antibes, St Paul de Vence, Nice, and Monaco.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. Beautiful decoration and very friendly staff. The room was very clean and had a brilliant bathroom which added to the whole experience. Despite it's location on the Rue d'Antibes the windows kept the sound out. The air-con worked well, the only downside was the bed was two mattresses put together. Everything else more than made up for this though.
Definitely a couples hotel, lovely!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Jack1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuisseHotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Le Canberra, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Dear Guests,

We wanted to thank you very much for your kind feedback ! we are glad that your stay pleased you and look forwards to welcoming you again soon at the Canberra Hotel in Cannes,

Kind Regards,

The Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing