We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and pleasant stay - could update decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cannes Palace Hotel
Ranked #105 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Overall this wasn't a bad hotel. The decor could do with a serious update, but if you're looking for a good value place in the ever so expensive Canned, go for it .

Pillows are terrible - so maybe BYO!

The lights were broken also.

But for the price, it was clean and a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBuggie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived here and were greeted by an ok looking entrance. However, the rooms were awful - not renovated/maintained since the 70s by the looks of it. The ceiling was falling off and something brown was smeared on the ceiling (don't really want to think what that was!). The bathroom smelt mouldy and had hairs on the sink. Just being in the room made us feel sick. The furniture looked like 70s second hand which is about to fall apart.

We went straight downstairs to complain that this was not a 4 star standers room and the receptionist and the duty manager were both not even acknowledging that the rooms were totally sub standard. They told us that they could 'maybe' upgrade us to one of the refurbished rooms as shown on their website (the ones we thought we were staying at!) the next day.

We de decided that we could not bear staying at this total dump for even one night so left and found ourselves another, lovely hotel which was also 4 stars, which were well deserved.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel was about $400 U.S. per night. I've seen Motel 6's with better rooms (okay, I've never been to a motel 6 but I can imagine). It's not on the main street, doesn't have a beach view, the rooms are not clean nor have they been modernized in about 25 years. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

On our annual jaunt to Cannes for a business exhibition our team had grown since last year so a number of us ended up in the Cannes Palace. I'd stayed there last year and had very different recollections to what greeted me this year. EUR189 per night (+ city tax + breakfast) bought me a damp, mouldy, dirty room with some creature comforts - a bidet on wheels (attached to the plumbing by a hosepipe), the right to invest further in a dodgy internet connection and a minibar filled occasionally by the enterprising cleaner who wanted EUR10 for a 1kg bag of Carrefour 'Value' peanuts.

This sort of place is exactly the reason why exhibition hotels get a bad reputation - complaints to the management were futile - "we're full so we can't move you and there's nothing we can do to sort the issues until the room's vacant".

Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k3lvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This place is DISGUSTING! I was put off by other reviews, and I was right to be! Unfortunately I was booked in by my employer during MIPCOM and had no other choice of place to stay. Don't be mis-led by the nice looking reception area. The first room they gave me stank of an old people's home and had someone's old nail clippings on the window sill. They then put me in a second room and after I let myself in with the key, there was a man already in it! The third room that I had to settle on had dirty, fraying curtains, paint peeling off the ceilings, cracked tiles in the bathroom and felt generally shabby and tatty. The bed had old brown blankets and the whole place is really grim, at best a 2 to 3 star hotel. Even the pool area was run down and uninviting. Breakfast was an extra 18 euros and a complete waste of money - dirty tables and crockery, milk that was going off and a poor selection of soggy stale food. Please read this reviews and choose somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This Hotel needs a complete refurbishment.
Very dated decor.
Air conditioning was practically non existent - room was very hot at night which means not much sleep.
Pool very small and pool area dirty - no toilet facilities near pool - we had to go down to reception to get the lift back to the 6th floor - not very good when you have a 4 year old child with you. Pool was drained empty for 2 days out of 4.
Staff on reception told us they were so fed up with dealing with so many complaints.
Mainly due to the owner being in so much debt they were not spending any money and they hoped the hotel would soon be sold on.
Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjudypartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My friend and our 2 teenage daughters took a 3-night break here to celebrate the end of GCSEs. We loved the location of this hotel; in a quiet street yet only a few minutes' walk from the beach and the shops/cafes etc. In addition, the local 200 bus which serves Nice airport and the resorts between Cannes & Nice (cost 1 Euro!) stops at the end of the street. The pool area is quiet, secluded & well supplied with loungers, umbrellas etc. The staff were really helpful and the whole place had a friendly atmosphere (Nothing was too much trouble & small touches like posting results of various sporting events of interest on a board in the foyer added to the feeling of good-will). Our rooms were clean & comfortable; the air-conditioning a god-send in the heat! We found Cannes an ideal destination for us as it combined beach, pool, shopping (both "high street" & glamour), culture & good french food - finding a great hotel was the finishing touch!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumfromealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
1.3 mi away
Amarante Cannes Hotel
Amarante Cannes Hotel
#101 of 126 in Cannes
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Modern Waikiki Hotel
Modern Waikiki Hotel
#97 of 126 in Cannes
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Mondial
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#78 of 126 in Cannes
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannes Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannes Palace Hotel

Address: 14 avenue de Madrid, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $76 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannes Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cannes Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing