We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is fine for a short break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannes Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cannes Palace Hotel
Ranked #110 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is fine for a short break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We are a family of 4. We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean, if a little shabby. The whole hotel could do with a make over but the price was very reasonable. The pool is just right for young children and considering we stayed in one of the busiest periods the pool was quite peaceful.
The location is great just a short walk to the Croisette and central Cannes. It is also possible to park in the surrounding streets.
The price of the breakfast was laughably pricey but as it was only a short walk to the local cafes at a 1/4 of the price this was not a major inconvenience.

Room Tip: We booked through Expedia and got a good price I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariel3cps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    39
    30
    49
See reviews for
31
37
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Cannes is a lovely place to be, especially in the Festivals season. I was booked a single room through the Cannes Lions travel services agency, so I had little say in where I was staying, since most of the rooms appeared to be booked, due to the busy Festival season.

I have read most reviews from Trip Advisor being negative, so I was hoping that it wasn't true, unfortunately they were. However, the hotel had an upside, since it is based very close to the main street, the Croisette, which means we could walk back and forth from the Festival to the Hotel and so on, without spending money on taxi's etc.

On the downside:
- the room has poor lighting
- the entire hotel felt dirty
- the entire hotel looked too old
- most of the things in the room felt like they were not taken care of, such as the broken bathtub, the broken toilet seat and the balcony door which would not lock
- I had at least two cockroach encounters, one in the bathroom and one in the main room, over the TV
- there was wifi at 10 euros per hour or 20 euros per day, too expensive
- the balcony had 2 plastic chairs and a small table, the ones that you would find in the cheapest D-Class hotel around the less civilized countries.
- no English channels on TV, except BBC and CNN
- the swimming poo looked dirty and was far smaller than most of the hotel pools that I have seen in my travels.

My room was #333 but enother friend who had suite #607, said his room was much better.

However, for 200 euros per night and 4-stars, this is not at all what we should get.

Room Tip: Suites are heard to be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank penlidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannes hotels

Århus, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

This place (no palace) needs a hefty refurbishment. Location, behind Martinez at the eastern end of La Croisette, is OK. Reception is reasonable and reminiscent of a 3 star business hotel. Once you enter the lift and the upper floors its a journey back to the 1970s. All surfaces need either a deep clean or complete replacement. The rooms are of a good size. The beds are OK, Best thing about the hotel is the breakfast (extra cost) but at least it is plentyful and varied. All in all a disappointing experience but no harm done and the staff were pleasant enough obtaining taxis etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Overall this wasn't a bad hotel. The decor could do with a serious update, but if you're looking for a good value place in the ever so expensive Canned, go for it .

Pillows are terrible - so maybe BYO!

The lights were broken also.

But for the price, it was clean and a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived here and were greeted by an ok looking entrance. However, the rooms were awful - not renovated/maintained since the 70s by the looks of it. The ceiling was falling off and something brown was smeared on the ceiling (don't really want to think what that was!). The bathroom smelt mouldy and had hairs on the sink. Just being in the room made us feel sick. The furniture looked like 70s second hand which is about to fall apart.

We went straight downstairs to complain that this was not a 4 star standers room and the receptionist and the duty manager were both not even acknowledging that the rooms were totally sub standard. They told us that they could 'maybe' upgrade us to one of the refurbished rooms as shown on their website (the ones we thought we were staying at!) the next day.

We de decided that we could not bear staying at this total dump for even one night so left and found ourselves another, lovely hotel which was also 4 stars, which were well deserved.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel was about $400 U.S. per night. I've seen Motel 6's with better rooms (okay, I've never been to a motel 6 but I can imagine). It's not on the main street, doesn't have a beach view, the rooms are not clean nor have they been modernized in about 25 years. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

On our annual jaunt to Cannes for a business exhibition our team had grown since last year so a number of us ended up in the Cannes Palace. I'd stayed there last year and had very different recollections to what greeted me this year. EUR189 per night (+ city tax + breakfast) bought me a damp, mouldy, dirty room with some creature comforts - a bidet on wheels (attached to the plumbing by a hosepipe), the right to invest further in a dodgy internet connection and a minibar filled occasionally by the enterprising cleaner who wanted EUR10 for a 1kg bag of Carrefour 'Value' peanuts.

This sort of place is exactly the reason why exhibition hotels get a bad reputation - complaints to the management were futile - "we're full so we can't move you and there's nothing we can do to sort the issues until the room's vacant".

Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k3lvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa Cannes Croisette
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexandre III
Hotel Alexandre III
#92 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
#40 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
1.3 mi away
Amarante Cannes Hotel
Amarante Cannes Hotel
#97 of 126 in Cannes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannes Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannes Palace Hotel

Property: Cannes Palace Hotel
Address: 14 avenue de Madrid, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannes Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Cannes Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing