We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from yet another holiday at the "Gray" as usual we were treated as friends from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We were upgraded to a "deluxe" room which has spoilt us for the future!! As soon as one walks into the hotel the reception and concierge area was pristine and the flower arrangements are as always beautiful. We could stay at any hotel in Cannes but we would not think of staying anywhere else. We feel the "Gray" is like a second home to us, not only for the welcome but also the location, which is fantastic. A special "thank you" to all the staff and we look forward to returning in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZ516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear BAZ516,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel -Cannes.
We also want to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gray d'Albion.
With all our very best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    423
    108
    29
    27
See reviews for
188
599
52
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good location. Reception Area inviting and receptionist friendly and helpful. Room on 3rd floor average for 4 star hotel. Carpet badly stained. This was reported 4 times in the first 2 days of our 5 day visit and nothing was done so gave up complaining. Brown water in bath one evening. No apologies for inconvenience but was told to run water for 10 minutes and it would become clear. Breakfast not bad but crockery mugs dirty 2 mornings out of 5. Once again no apologies. Do not think we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Anne B,
This message to inform you that I carefully read the comment you wrote on Tripadvisor after your visit at our hotel.
We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotels, and I regret that the service you were given at the Gray d'Albion Hotel has not been up to your expectations.
I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been the case this time.
Measures have been taken to remedy those failures. Usually, the quality of service of my hotel is held in good quality but, this time, it has not been at the level of its reputation..
However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed 3 times at this hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location, 1 minutes walk to The Croisette where you can take a stroll, sit, people watch and just enjoy the view over the beach and the Bay of Cannes is fantastic. It is also located on the corner of Rue Antibes the main shopping street in Cannes.

Make the effort to walk to the old town (about 12 minutes) and sample the many restaurants in that area, of go and check out the market for some great fresh produce.

Reception staff are efficient and courteous on arrival. There is a small bar on your right as you enter - this does not stay open very late - a problem for us as we were a group of work colleagues attending an exhibition at the Palais des Festivals, but having said there there are other bars nearby. The public areas are small - really on the reception area, decor is fun, with some funky soft furnishing - always smells of rose petals!

The rooms are larger than many in Cannes. That is a bonus if you are staying for a week! All rooms have outside balconies with a table and couple of chairs. I have always staying in winter, but it is nice to sit and have your coffee in the morning outside. Be careful not to close the door and lock yourself out on the balcony - if you close the door you are stuck, but there are warning notices!

Rooms are well furnished and carpeted, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are warm in winter, tea and coffee making facilities are available along with a mini-bar.

Bathrooms are ok, I would prefer betting lighting for putting make-up on, but the shower/bath is fine with good water pressure.

Breakfast is served on the first floor - staff are friendly and efficient - time is always limited in the mornings. There is a good selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and cooked items.

The bar is again full of funky furniture, and a great place to meet up before heading out for dinner in one of many nearby restaurants.

I have always enjoyed my stays here and compared with many other 4 star hotels that is above average. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east look into a courtyard and are quieter. But I like the street rooms as it is fun t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear CareySJC,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel -Cannes.
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gray d'Albion, we sincerely hope to see you again.
With all our very best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Back again at this hotel and there has been a nice improvement in the staff and the way they treat you. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Cannes. I wish the Bar was open more as it was a nice place to meet clients and work partners before heading out or before a meeting. The breakfast is very good and the service is top notch. The overall feel of the hotel is modern and cool.

Room Tip: Rooms above the third have views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Christopher H,
Thank you for having taken the time to post your experience at the Gray d'Albion Hotel.
It was very nice to read that you loved our hotel, appreciate the improvement, and that you were particularly impressed by the quality and choice of our buffet breakfast proposed as well as the ambiance of the bar.
Your nice feedback will be forwarded to the department concerned.
All the Gray d'Albion team is looking forward to welcoming you back in our property,
Regards
François PORTIGLIA
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Spent 4 nights in a Classic room. I found a good deal and thus chose this hotel.
For the money we paid, it was a good choice.

The hotel is very well located and we were really happy about the breakfast - served in a great environment with fantastic fresh orange juice and nice staff.

Our room was on the 5th floor with a balcony towards west. The windows and doors provided sufficient insulation for the noise from outside but occasionally one could hear horns honking from the road below.

All in all, no complaints, I would recommend this hotel - especially outside festival dates when prices might be rather high.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Antt1,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.
Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make our stay pleasant.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,
I remain,
François PORTIGLIA
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a Majestic-barrierre familiy 4 star hotel.
Situated in 3 minutes from the beach (has it's own beach, which you pay additionally) & close to Palais des Festivals.
Rooms are quite big. Suites have big terrasses with sea view.
Rooms need renovation (carpet was quite dirty) you expect better quality for that level of price.
Pet friendly. Do not charge for small dogs.
Staff is very friendly & helpful.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera_Tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Vera_Tron,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction after your stay, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.
Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Gray d’Albion,
I remain,
Yours faithfully.
François PORTIGLIA
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is extremely well situated near the town centre,the beech and the station.Breakfast was excellent and the staff very efficient.The room at the front can be noisy as the sound insulation is' nt wonderful .Beds are very good but the TV s are tiny.
There is a bar but no coffee shop or lounge area to relax in on a bad weather day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Mike R,

This message to inform you that we carefully read your comments you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel. We thank you for your positive remarks about the service you got during the days you spend at the hotel.

Nevertheless, we also want you to know that we consider our guests’comments very seriously.
Client feedback is of great importance to us as we use this feedback to continually improve ourselves with the aim of attaining a level of service up to your expectation

However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Address: 38 rue des Serbes, 06406 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in between the sea and the shopping artery of the most prestigious stores of Cannes, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion is a trendy haven of peace with a warmly atmosphere. Renovated in a contemporary style, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion excels at welcoming its guests in its 200 rooms and suites where you will be pampered by our teams. The hotel resembles the Cannes’ atmosphere: bright during the day and shiny at night. Discover the sunny delights in its two restaurants: taste the most subtle alliances at “La Terrasse du Gray” or typically Mediterranean flavours at the restaurant of the private beach on La Croisette. Let yourself be carried away by the Bohemian-chic ambiance of the private beach, its Summer parties, colourful cocktails and nautical activities. At any time of the day, the “Jane’s Bar” is the ideal place to meet up. And for sport sessions, enjoy the intimacy of the brand new fitness centre of the hotel. A stone’s throw away from the hotel, between the azure of the sky and the blue of the sea, be tempted by some green. Just a short walk away, you will swing on the best greens of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing