We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gray Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
MK/UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gray Days”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have just returned from six nights at the Gray d'Albion and cannot fault it. My room was immaculately clean with sparkling white linen bedding and the bed was outrageously comfortable. In fact, I think I slept better there than I do at home! The bathroom was spotless with unlimited hot water and lots of fluffy white towels.I had a little balcony which was lovely to sit out on and watch the world go by under my feet. No sea view but then I didn't expect one. It was only a couple of minutes walk to the beach anyway. Some reviewers have complained about the staff's lack of English (well, they were in France!) but all the members of staff I spoke with had excellent English - and were polite enough to let me try my French and not laugh at my attempts! I had several interesting 'franglais' conversations! Travelling on my own I felt perfectly safe and secure in this hotel - helped by the security which meant outsiders could not access the lifts and gain admittance to the bedroom floors. I cannot understand why anyone should object to this - it only takes a second to swipe a room card! Everyone was unfailingly polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the service there prompt and courteous. The bar prices were a bit steep but their Margaritas were better than those at The Carlton and came with lots of complementary nibbles! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Gray and would unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Vickyvoyager,

Thank you very much for your nice review that I will share with my team.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, its location and the service provided (bar and buffet breakfast) and our security requirement with this restricted access to the rooms' floors for a better privacy and security of our guests.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    422
    109
    29
    27
See reviews for
184
597
52
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Well, first of all, it is listed as an ocean view hotel, when in fact it is a block away from the coast and perpendicular to the coast, so only 4-6 rooms with a little view that are only available at a much higher room rate.We traveled from Monaco to Cannes the day before we were scheduled to arrive in Cannes, so when we discovered that we would not have a view, I tried to cancel the reservation and the lady reservation manager would not let us cancel. And to add insult to injury, I requested some additional bedding for the sofa ,because I occasionally snore ,and need to sleep a little distance from my girlfriend, and he lady at the front desk told me that if I used the sofa to sleep on they would charge me more for the room. This did make me angry and I went back to the room and returned in 30 minutes and explained what had happened to a gentleman at the desk and he apologized and was shocked that she said that and did not charge me more. Also, the maid was rude, elevator security was difficult to understand, expensive and if you wanted to use the gym ,you had to go to another hotel and pay to use the equipment. Also , I had a junior suite, and I am sorry but they assigned me a room on the second floor, that had a view of a building that needed paint. I wish that when we asked to cancel, because of no view , they could and hold have released us, because we could have stayed at the Radisson Blu in a suite with two balconies overlooking the Cannes yacht harbor at about half the price!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911Gray65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear 911Gray65, Dear Mr E,

I have paid special attention to your comment posted on the TripAdvisor website with regards to my hotel.

We constantly strive to provide exceptional service in keeping with the image of all Lucien BARRIERE establishments and I deeply regret that you have given a mistaken image of our hotel, particularly because your comments are not a fair reflection of the quality of the services we provide.

With regards to the different comments you have made, and after having carried out the necessary research, please allow me to clarify certain points:

- Regarding your room without a view, I have to contradict as your travel agent informed you of the absence of a sea view prior to your stay. In addition, the request for an upgrade made by your travel agent could not be granted due to the occupancy of certain suites and the important difference in price between the two suite categories. Furthermore, you will not find any sales documents claiming junior suites with sea views. In fact, as you have highlighted, our hotel is built perpendicular to the sea and only 4 exclusive suites have a view of the Mediterranean.

- In addition, you made your reservation in our hotel via the "Expedia.com" website, a website which operates a pre-payment system, and you therefore paid for your stay with this company and not directly with our hotel. Upon arrival, you informed us of your dissatisfaction with regards to your room, which did not meet your expectations, and you expressed your desire to leave the hotel. Our staff informed you that, due to the pre-payment of your stay directly with Expedia and the fact that the contracted cancellation period had expired, we could neither cancel your reservation nor refund it as we were not in possession of the funds given that Expedia only pays us after the client's stay.

- Finally, with regards to the comments left in the different log books of the services you encountered, it would seem that impoliteness is not only a prerogative of my staff or of the French people in general, as you recount of your stay in France.

Our hotel is normally recognised for its exceptional service, as our rating on the TripAdvisor website shows, and it is my duty to provide this detailed response given that the reputation of my hotel could be damaged by such an inappropriate comment.

With my best regards.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel more than met our expectations in every way, I highly recommend it. The staff in the restaurant were particularly helpful and friendly.It was exactly as described. You don't get crisps in the bar, they give you gummibears, they are addictive!

Room Tip: ours was on a sidestreet, and very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Alastair M,

Thank you so kindly for your recent posting on TripAdvisor.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I am happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion and especially in the restaurant, has been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again,

With my best regards.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stylish hotel; great breakfast, and comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful and centrally located for La Croisette and a short walk to the Old Town. Very trendy bar, but prices are high. Tedious security requirements for lifts and toilets! car parking pricey as well.

Room Tip: Higher the better to avoid street noise. Wall are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear SmallWallah,

Thank you very much for your review that I will share with my team.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, its location and the service provided.

Regarding your comment about the security requirement (principally with a restricted access to the rooms' floors), they could be effectively tedious but these equipements have been fit to preserve the privacy and security of our guests.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With my best regards,

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is a luxury one. If booked well in advance, you can get great deals. Otherwise you should expect to part with 500 euros each day.
The room was excellent, with a balcony. The bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but very good and taken on a very pleasant terrace. The coffee was good too. The bar was ok, a bit staid though. The position is excellent, although not on sea front. No swimming pool may be a minus point, although the hotel has it's own beach, which they shamefully charge you for.
Service was excellent. I did not try the restaurant though.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room (don't expect a view though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeirdFish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear sprig63,

It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time in our hotel.

At the Gray d'Albion Hotel, we take all the opportunities to make a client happier; that is why we answer to requests in the best way possible as you experienced.

Rest assured that I have shared your kind words with our team ; I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide all of our guests with the quality of service in which we take great pride.

We are looking forward to welcome you at the hotel,

With best regards.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a real nice hotel but since it's a five star place I would have preferred if they could spoke some more english. Never the less, its classy and nice - accept for the horrible rose-chairs in the lobby ;)

It's clean with a high level of service from arrival to departure. And the breakfast is very nice with the absolutely best coffee I've ever tasted.

I can see my self stay there again for sure if I wont look for something smaller and more personal perhaps...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Heliaw,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel last March.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I am happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Near the Boulevard de la Croisette the hotel has good rooms and offers a very good breakfast. Parking the car is very expensive and despte I booked the room months before when I arrived at 2.30 pm I had to wait for 30 mins. Probably you can't expect nothing different in the very expensive Cannes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Matteo T,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction after your stay at the Gray d'albion Hotel on TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service and the best value for money worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, I regret that these were not up to your expectations. Nevertheless, a comparative benchmark on the web will show you that our rates are competive comparatively to others hotels of the same category in Cannes, this assertion being increased during low and mid season.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Gray d’Albion,

I remain,
Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Address: 38 rue des Serbes, 06406 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in between the sea and the shopping artery of the most prestigious stores of Cannes, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion is a trendy haven of peace with a warmly atmosphere. Renovated in a contemporary style, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion excels at welcoming its guests in its 200 rooms and suites where you will be pampered by our teams. The hotel resembles the Cannes’ atmosphere: bright during the day and shiny at night. Discover the sunny delights in its two restaurants: taste the most subtle alliances at “La Terrasse du Gray” or typically Mediterranean flavours at the restaurant of the private beach on La Croisette. Let yourself be carried away by the Bohemian-chic ambiance of the private beach, its Summer parties, colourful cocktails and nautical activities. At any time of the day, the “Jane’s Bar” is the ideal place to meet up. And for sport sessions, enjoy the intimacy of the brand new fitness centre of the hotel. A stone’s throw away from the hotel, between the azure of the sky and the blue of the sea, be tempted by some green. Just a short walk away, you will swing on the best greens of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing