We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for Cannes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Gray d' Albion from 8.29-9.2 and we thought it was perfect for our time in Cannes. The location was excellent, very close to the beach and a short walk to old Cannes. We got an amazing rate through hotels.com at $200/night which is much less than the hotel's published rates. It was also a 5 minute walk from the train which was very convenient. Only downside is you have to pay for the hotel's beach facilities, but the public beach is nearby and free. There are also other places that charge less for the set up on the beach. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book through hotels.com for a better rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmagoulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Jacques F

Let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make your stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This studio is central to everything,safe secure,comfortable minutes from all the attractions and a good price the owner made everything smooth with payments and returns of security deposits.Its got free wifi so you can plan everydays trips while you are there,10 minutes walk to the train station if you are travelling by train like we did.book it you won't be disappointed thanks Patrick it was a pleasure

Room Tip: Use holiday rentals 400058 studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAILEDTOSTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear mattthetraindriver,

Thank you so much for this nice comment posted on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that we meet your expectations during your stay in our establishment and very much look forward to welcoming you back,

With my best regards,

François Portiglia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'd actually score this hotel as average if I hadn't seen its potential in the rooms my friends stayed in. Stayed at the Gray for 5 nights in August. It's not cheap but it's a great location and a good base in Cannes. It seems that some floors have been recently renovated while others haven't (and really should be for the price guests are paying). My room on the 8th floor was unfortunately not one of the renovated ones. The biggest difference is in the bathrooms. The new ones are white, modern and fresh while mine had old brown tiles and, shockingly, a really dingy sad excuse for a shower curtain. Also, when I walked into the room it smelled like an ashtray, something the hotel apologized for - they sent housekeeping in to open the balcony door to air it out and spray LOADS of air freshener all around to kill the smell. Also the carpet really needs to be changed, it's time. And watch out for all the extras, they add up at the final payment, nothing is not expensive. You have to book to go to the hotel's beach and I think it's an additional cost (i never ended up going there). On a more positive note, the staff were helpful when we had any questions or requests. The bed was really comfortable. The balcony had a nice view of the garden and rooftops across Cannes. There's a bar in the lobby that was a good meeting point as we were a large group of friends in different rooms and even different hotels. Never had breakfast because the cafes nearby seemed more inviting and were a third of the price. The location is excellent. Walking distance from La Croisette, from the Casino, the port, old town and there's a convenient downtown shopping/cafes/market area just behind the hotel. Also a bus stop is right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get the rooms that have been renovated and obviously the suites are much nicer. DO NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Dima K,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’mhappy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations, despite that your equipement didn't fullfil all your expectation.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Simply put - every euro well spent! I was there few years ago (not 2011) during festival in Cannes and I must say that I was pretty satisfied with pretty much everything. Professional stuff, pretty big room with terrace filled with high plants, clean and modern bathroom and so on. Plus, it is located in downtown Cannes, in the middle of the "rush". I looked at their site and a price seems to be much lower then they where few years ago, classic room is around 100 euro. 100 euro is pretty good deal for this category of hotel. If following is some reference during festival I managed to even see some celebrities there, mostly faces we know from various TV series, actors we all know but don’t know their names ;-) So, I give it 5 stars since prices are really low now

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Srkey,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your message pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I went for a short break in August 2012 and choose this hotel. We were extremely satisfied with everything from the tidiness and cleanliness of the room and its size to the friendliness of the staff whom we found extremely helpful. We were ecstatic with our choice. The only downside is the cost especially on extras, but that is Cannes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Joseph G,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your comments push my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make your stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,
I remain,

Yours faithfully

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is our Second stay at this hotel after being at the Pullman in Mandelieu.
We like this Hotel because you get best value for your money.
Beautiful Entrance, Nice Welcoming Staff.
We've booked a deluxe room with breakfast and beach included. A must if you want to go to the beach. The beach of the Hotel is mostly fully booked in high season.
The room comes with a king-size bed and nice Balcony. House Keeping was impeccable.
We've missed the appliances to charges our iPhones as we always find in other places, otherwise all the rest was well provided.
The only minus about the room is the air-conditioning, we couldn’t get it high enough as it is centrally controlled. The Staff try everything to improve it but no luck.
Wireless Internet is this year free for guest, you can enjoy it throughout it the property and even at the beach!
We've booked the parking in advance (big saving if you have a car), as it doesn't belong to the Hotel but you have direct and secure access.
The Hotel is in the best location and walking distance to everywhere.
We enjoy our stay and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inside with view on the gardens, they are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Mjamous,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.
We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

But we also consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected (by providing you an IPhone appliance for example)

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back after staying in the Gray D'Albion last week. Excellent time staying here and will definitely stay here again when next holidaying in Cannes.

I am always dubious when staying in hotels in France as the general standard of hotels in not that high, however, I need not have worried - this hotel is a gem! The hotel is clean, well air conditioned, is located in an ideal position in central Cannes and the staff are courteous, helpful and polite. We had a balcony with our room which was a real delight when enjoying a glass of pinot noir, watching the sun go down in the evenings.

There is a shopping mall located behind the hotel, and the main shopping street (Rue d'antibes) is located right next to the hotel. Im not sure you could choose a better location for this place!

The beach is literally a 2 minute walk (as is the glorious promenade).

I must also add that the bar (Janes bar) is worth a visit or two... the ambience is perfect and its such a clean and sophisticated bar located just off the main entrance. Cocktails are pricey though.

Well done Gray D'Albion! You more than exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Doscal,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your nice comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected, and your message pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work has contributed to make your stay pleasant.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion

Address: 38 rue des Serbes, 06406 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $109 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in between the sea and the shopping artery of the most prestigious stores of Cannes, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion is a trendy haven of peace with a warmly atmosphere. Renovated in a contemporary style, the Hôtel Barrière Le Gray d’Albion excels at welcoming its guests in its 200 rooms and suites where you will be pampered by our teams. The hotel resembles the Cannes’ atmosphere: bright during the day and shiny at night. Discover the sunny delights in its two restaurants: taste the most subtle alliances at “La Terrasse du Gray” or typically Mediterranean flavours at the restaurant of the private beach on La Croisette. Let yourself be carried away by the Bohemian-chic ambiance of the private beach, its Summer parties, colourful cocktails and nautical activities. At any time of the day, the “Jane’s Bar” is the ideal place to meet up. And for sport sessions, enjoy the intimacy of the brand new fitness centre of the hotel. A stone’s throw away from the hotel, between the azure of the sky and the blue of the sea, be tempted by some green. Just a short walk away, you will swing on the best greens of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing