We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best so far”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my third trip to Cannes for business. Previously I stayed at the Martinez and the Marriott. The Grand is my favourite so far. The views of the sea are to die for, it's in a wonderful location and the rooms are very comfortable. The large balcony means it is possible to cool the room even though the a/c hadn't been switched to cool and in the day it is wonderful to sit out on it. It has good room facilities including a spacious work area strong hot shower (with no pressure or consistency issues) and comfortable bed and pillows. I have a small criticism that there should be complimentary water with the turn down service as it is €8 for minibar water. It is a little noisy from the bar downstairs until 1-2am, but not more so than traffic noise if you are near a street instead

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lonelyasacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback further to your stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that our establishment has met your expectations.
We have well noted your suggestion regarding the complimentary water and will discuss this.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times, for various conferences. Would i ever stay here on holiday? Not sure. The Grand is superbly located, on the croisette opposite the beach. 2 mins away from the main shopping street & if you're staying here on business, less than 10 mins from the Exhibition centre. Room was spacious, more than enough cupboards and wardrobes and a flat screen TV. very comfortable bed. Had a beautiful view of the sea from the balcony. Slightly annoyed that the A/C was still on heat mode and they were unable to switch to cool, apparently, it's all pre set and the whole hotel changes simultaneously. And the shower screen in the bathroom is so inadequate, that the floor will be soaked after a shower. The hotel undertook a major refurb a few years back and the bathrooms should have been dealt with then. Its pricey & gets busy and loud at night, during a conference. I would give it 3.5, rather than 4 stars and whilst its suits me for business, think i'd stay elsewhere if i was on a personal holiday.

Room Tip: 10th floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms as well as the location of our establishment.
Regarding the screen in the shower we have taken good note of your remark.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back twice a year for business, and hopefully one day for holidays too!

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is in the best location, close to the best stores and restaurants. Very clean, the rooms were huge and the bed was just perfect. Definitelly would stay there again. The restaurant is great, the food was just what we espected, but the staff was a little slow. Overall, was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and for the time you took to share it on this website.
We are delighted to read that you spend an enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit in Cannes.
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Located on the croisette opposite the beach, in Cannes. And also 2 mins walk from the main shopping area. However, the hotel had a major refurb a couple of years ago and the workmanship is very poor. Air conditioning difficult to work, shower screen in bathroom has a gap which results in a soaked floor when you shower. Restaurants and bar over priced.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms above level 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment further to your recent stay with us.
We have taken good note of your remarks and will check every rooms during our annual closure (December 2013 - January 2014).

We are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations but nevertheless, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
With my best regards,

Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Although I have been to Cannes several times , first time staying at Le Grand . Very impressed . Service levels are good , particularly the breakfast restaurant team and reception who were exceptional . Larger than average rooms , with ample living space . Very well located , with numerous restaurant options just behind the hotel or in the old town which is a 10 minute walk . 5 minutes to the conference hall .

Attractive sub-tropical gardens , facing out to the promenade and sea ,

It has a boutique feel to it once inside , so the emphasis is on service and room quality . If you are looking for more comprehensive hotel facilities such as restaurant choice then it might disappoint , but you have so many options within a few minutes walk .

Room Tip: Request a sea facing , elevated room for the best views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment as well as the service provided.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sadly this is the worst of the sea front hotels I have stayed in Cannes.. It is not on par with the proper Five star hotels and lacks in service, amenities and attention to detail.
Sadly I have not seen the friendly courteous service that many others write about.. No one assisted me to my room, the one receptionist was checking in another guest and talking on the phone at the same time. Very poor indeed. Maybe it is the attitude that many of us are just hear for a Luxury Travel conference so we don't need to be treated like a real client??

My television has one channel working, the shower is either hot or cold and drainage is terrible.

I am saddened that the quality and the service is not just there, last night I wanted to have a hot chocolate outside... NO! It is not possible the bar is closed at 22:55.. tonight i get back at 12am and want a hot chocolate.. again this is it not possible no room service... What sort of 5 star doesn't have 24hr room service.

Compared to the true 5 star in Cannes this is not in the league.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review.
We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us has not been up to your expectations.
We have taken good note of the different points that you have highlighted and we will take the necessary steps in order to improve the service provided upon check-in and at the room service.
Thanking you for your usefull feedback,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent 5 nights here as a base to explore Cannes and nearby Provencal villages. Enjoyed the fact that the hotel is set back a bit, which cuts down on street noise -- yet the beach and sea is fully visible. We had a nice view of the sea with a balcony and comfortable lounge chairs. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a good size and very clean, no mold or moldy smells. Toilet was separate from the bathroom as is the custom in Europe; both could use ventilation systems. Since we did not expect to spend a lot of time at the hotel, we didn't mind that there was no pool or fitness center. Depends on what you're looking for in a hotel during a vacation. We splurged on a dinner in the Michelin-rated restaurant and were left positively speechless by the quality, service, etc. It's expensive, yes, but Cannes is expensive and one should not go there expecting to live and dine cheaply on and around the Croisette area.

Room Tip: The large front yard makes this hotel a destination for a variety of sales events and business meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToujoursProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your posiive feedback.
It's a pleasure to read such a comment and we are delighted to learn that your recent stay was up to your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | Bp 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $135 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing