We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Good Value for a 4.5 Star on the Riviera.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, Good Value for a 4.5 Star on the Riviera.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Le Grand. We reserved through the Small Luxury Hotels website which entitled us to an upgraded room and breakfast. The hotel has a convenient location on La Croisette. It is easy to walk to restaurants, shopping, across the street from the beach and the boardwalk which goes for miles. It is within walking distance of the train and main bus station(about 1km) The room was spacious, very comfortable king sized bed with a view of the mediterranean on the sixth floor. The service was excellent. We used the complimentary bikes to ride along the promenade.The included breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor in an ocean view room in September we weren't bothered by any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dera Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, its location and the service provided.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    136
    52
    29
    15
See reviews for
73
230
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just set back from the promenade to benefit from a slightly quieter hotel than certain others in Cannes. We had really attractive room overlooking the med at front of the hotel. Valet parking.
Strolled along seafront and decided to return to hotel to dine having browsed through menu before leaving. What a good decision. Very attentive staff and a gastronomique experience to remember. Worthy of any stars they are awarded. Will definitely choose this hotel if returning to Cannes.

Room Tip: With sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

It's a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the restaurant.
We thank you for your kind words about the staff that we will pass on to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hotel is perfectly located on the croisette and our stay was made better with the stunning sea view that we had. Each room has a big balcony (good for the smokers) and the rooms are spacious and modern and clean. The hotel is walking distance from the harbor and casino. We drove to the hotel, which also provides valet parking at a daily cost. The beach at Grand Hotel is a nice beach, but sun beds should be booked in advance as it can get pretty crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to post this review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it was up to your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

With my Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Came to celebrate the wife's birthday. It was a special venue, with exquisite decoration that lifts the soul if you are partial to mid 20th Century chic. Our room was wonderfully furnished with good quality furnishings, well appointed bathroom with toiletries. Pricey mini bar and a La carte so be warned. We hired the pontoon for €80 for the day, not cheap but well worth it if you can, alternatively hire a day bed on the beachfront. The hotel sits back from the Croisette. Very exclusive feel. More so than the big name hotels such as the Marriot, Martinez and Carlton with the terraces of the prestige room. The garden lights up at night to look like a winter wonderland and the restaurant was wonderful for a romantic evening meal, amuse bouches very much present.

The downsides - poor in room entertainment, no iPod, or DVD, just a pricey option. Drinks and food are pricey, admittedly goes with the Cannes territory, but some of the prices were a homage to the best fiction. Breakfast wasnt great, somewhat limited in cereals and service not always as attentive as it could be, but this is me being picky. All in all, a really good stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the atmosphere the Grand Hotel has.
We have taken good note ok your remarks regarding the equipments in the rooms and the breakfast and we thank you also for this feedback.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Grand Hotel,
Best Regards,

Huugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did not unfortunately stay at this hotel. However, we were driving through and were absolutely lost. We stopped into this hotel and a kind gentleman named Fredrick helped us in every way possible. We could see that the hotel was very busy at the time but he still took the time to help us and we were most impressed.

I am sure if we go back to Cannes we would be happy to stay here as we liked the atmosphere of the place, location and most of all the kindness shown to us by FREDRICK.

Well done Fredrick, your kindness has gone a long way to making us realize that this is very important in this industry.

Jim and Marina D'Costa, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Thank you Fredrick your help was much appreciated.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs D'Costa,

We would like to thank you very much for this unexpected review and for your kindness in taking the time to write it.
One of the Grand hotel's main asset is its staff and I am very proud of working with this wonderful team.
Of course, I will not miss to pass your comments on to Frédéric.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next visit in Cannes.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Le Grand is an icon of Cannes at Croisette Boulevard with fantastic garden, stared restaurant and bar. The staff is very helpful and efficient. Small building compared to its neighbours but more cozy and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Rooms with sea view are more noisy and the view is not that great. Rooms with city view are a bit large ´coz they dont have the balcony. Beakfast is the down side finishing 10:00h with few options and slow replenishment and served in the Le Park Restaurant space. This is a lack of atmosphere for a stared restaurant. Anyway, Le Grand is a nice point but on average cost/benefit. Doesnt have pool and the La Plage is expensive requiring reservation in the Summer.

Room Tip: City view rooms are more spacious and quiet. High floor suffer of low water pressure in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our establishement and that the service provided met your expectations.
Regarding the breakfast experience we are sorry that you remain disappointed. Anyway we thank you for your useful comments that will help us to make improvements.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Le Grand Hotel.
With my best regards,

Hugues raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

30 years ago my husband and I borrowed my aunt's appartment in Le Cannet just above Cannes and spent our honeymoon there. This year for our Pearl anniversary we decided to retrace our steps ...but in a little more style ! We booked the Grand because it seemed to offer good value in the best location and had the added bonus of a lovely garden and a Michelin starred restaurant for our special anniversary meal. We were impressed with the service from the beginning as the hotel booked the restaurant and the beach for us . Just before we flew to Nice I broke my foot and we nearly cancelled....thank goodness we didn't. After 2 blissful days at Hotel Alain Llorca (see separate review) we didn't think anything could equal it-we were wrong. We arrived rather early and reception said they would do their best to get us into our room. Eventually they apologised saying the person in our room had checked out late- they could only get us in 15 minutes early . We were tired and hot by then and were glad to be taken up to our room by Laura. When we entered the room on the top floor we were absolutely amazed ...our room had been upgraded to one with a huge terrace with not only a sea view but a jacuzzi and a garden with an actual tree! We all ( including Laura) had tears in our eyes and what with 2 dozen roses, chocolates, champagne on ice with delicious macaroons and fresh berries , we were almost speechless and really delighted- it made our holiday so special and throughout our stay we had fantastic service from the staff in both the hotel and restaurant where we were given a great table looking on to the garden . Merci infiniment a tout le personnel du Grand Hotel- nous avons bien apprecie vos efforts pendant notre sejour. Nous allons garder de tres beaux souvenirs de notre deuxieme voyage de noces a Cannes ! Mr et Mme Duggan

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Duggan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are delighted to read that we contributed to the success of your Pearl anniversary in Cannes.
Wishing you more years of happiness to come,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing