We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, poor breakfast”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, poor breakfast”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Le Grand is an icon of Cannes at Croisette Boulevard with fantastic garden, stared restaurant and bar. The staff is very helpful and efficient. Small building compared to its neighbours but more cozy and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Rooms with sea view are more noisy and the view is not that great. Rooms with city view are a bit large ´coz they dont have the balcony. Beakfast is the down side finishing 10:00h with few options and slow replenishment and served in the Le Park Restaurant space. This is a lack of atmosphere for a stared restaurant. Anyway, Le Grand is a nice point but on average cost/benefit. Doesnt have pool and the La Plage is expensive requiring reservation in the Summer.

Room Tip: City view rooms are more spacious and quiet. High floor suffer of low water pressure in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our establishement and that the service provided met your expectations.
Regarding the breakfast experience we are sorry that you remain disappointed. Anyway we thank you for your useful comments that will help us to make improvements.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Le Grand Hotel.
With my best regards,

Hugues raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    147
    59
    33
    16
See reviews for
88
258
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

30 years ago my husband and I borrowed my aunt's appartment in Le Cannet just above Cannes and spent our honeymoon there. This year for our Pearl anniversary we decided to retrace our steps ...but in a little more style ! We booked the Grand because it seemed to offer good value in the best location and had the added bonus of a lovely garden and a Michelin starred restaurant for our special anniversary meal. We were impressed with the service from the beginning as the hotel booked the restaurant and the beach for us . Just before we flew to Nice I broke my foot and we nearly cancelled....thank goodness we didn't. After 2 blissful days at Hotel Alain Llorca (see separate review) we didn't think anything could equal it-we were wrong. We arrived rather early and reception said they would do their best to get us into our room. Eventually they apologised saying the person in our room had checked out late- they could only get us in 15 minutes early . We were tired and hot by then and were glad to be taken up to our room by Laura. When we entered the room on the top floor we were absolutely amazed ...our room had been upgraded to one with a huge terrace with not only a sea view but a jacuzzi and a garden with an actual tree! We all ( including Laura) had tears in our eyes and what with 2 dozen roses, chocolates, champagne on ice with delicious macaroons and fresh berries , we were almost speechless and really delighted- it made our holiday so special and throughout our stay we had fantastic service from the staff in both the hotel and restaurant where we were given a great table looking on to the garden . Merci infiniment a tout le personnel du Grand Hotel- nous avons bien apprecie vos efforts pendant notre sejour. Nous allons garder de tres beaux souvenirs de notre deuxieme voyage de noces a Cannes ! Mr et Mme Duggan

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Duggan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are delighted to read that we contributed to the success of your Pearl anniversary in Cannes.
Wishing you more years of happiness to come,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a really fabulous few days in Cannes, staying at Le Grand. There is some good news and some bad.This hotel is rocking a 1970's interior design vibe. You either like it or you don't. Personally I don't like it but I booked it anyway for the jewel in the crown - the gardens. They are however marred by a hideous set of huge, bright red 'statues' masquerading as 'art'. Vulgar additions to a beautiful space where some smart loungers would be of better use in this lovely space. The mass of colours; planters, up-lighting in trees, umbrellas, cushions etc. makes it look like a kindergarten. Someone has run amok. It has a good beach club with quite a good restaurant and a chic little bar area however guest's enjoyment is spoiled by the constant, loud throb of club music playing from mid-morning, seemingly for the sole benefit of the young staff who despite the protestations of the guests just laughed when asked if it were possible to substitute 'le throb' for something a little more 'chill out' and appropriate for the GUESTS. That's the bad news. The good news is that the hotel is run seamlessly. The restaurant is superb, as is the service. I regret not noting the name of the young waiter who served us with charm, wit and elan; He was unobtrusive yet there at every turn for advice or a quiet, throwaway line. The bar area is chic and laid back too. We found it impossible to walk past without stopping for a glass of champagne! We will definitely return. We really liked being there. We felt cossetted. That's as it should be.

Room Tip: OK, This is Cannes. It is not ever going to be quiet along La Croisette but the rooms are big and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion.
We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the Orlinski exhibition in our gardens. We try to propose different artists all over the year and it usually is a success.
Regarding the music at the beach we have taken good note of your remark and will discuss it with our beach manager. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Nevertheless it is a pleasure to read that you spent an enjoyable stay and that you already plan to come back.
We are glad that the atmosphere and the service provided meet your expectations.
We also very much look forward to welcoming you back,

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night at this hotel while driving southern France on our honeymoon.

First the positives, and there are a few. The hotel is in a very nice location. We had a prestige sea view room and the balcony was quite comfortable. The room was pretty spacious and the bathroom was very nice.

For the negatives, I'm afraid there are quite a few. First, yes they have valet service, but when no one is in the valet booth and the street is quite busy, sometimes you have to back out of the driveway into heavy traffic and drive around the block a few times before finding your own parking.

We booked this room using airline miles and were treated like slime. In order for us to have booked this room with miles, the hotel had to contract to provide a number of rooms at a deeply discounted rate to a 3rd party travel agency (in this case HotelBeds) who then, in turn, sells those rooms to United Airlines. The front desk staff was incredibly rude when demanding a voucher for this reservation even though our confirmation letter specifically stated no voucher was needed. We had to email this confirmation to them to satisfy their request for a "voucher". I travel for work and pleasure quite often and use those miles all over Europe and the States. I've never had someone treat my reservation with such disdain. It's a shame considering the hotel decided to sell rooms through that channel.

We were shown to our room and it was fine. As I said, the sea view, though we were very low in the building, was nice, but the lawn was a disaster. There were trucks and staging equipment and lights all of the place. As we soon discovered, there was a McLaren car show and Ferragamo fashion show that would soon take over the lawn, that kept us from exiting the hotel on the sea side and eating in the outdoor dining area. For the novelty of watching a few minutes of the show, the fact that we couldn't use the full hotel facilities was frustrating. PLus, the DJ and rather awful female singer went until late in the evening which just added to the annoyance.

Upon looking at the items in the mini bar, we discovered a half-consumed bottle of rose. That's pretty disgusting for a hotel that is supposed to be 5 star. What other cleanliness details were overlooked if all it took was opening the mini bar to see this bottle?

Since we could not eat in the outdoor dining area due to the fashion/car show (we were told it was booked for the evening), we asked for the restaurant menu to provide us with some more variety for in room dining. We were told that was not possible and had to stick to the room service menu. We did request a list of available wines since, inexplicably, that is not included in the room. We ordered a giant bottle of champagne and room service since those were only only dining options. Honestly, I've never laughed so hard at a room service menu in all my life. 16 Euro for fries? 24 Euro for soup? 29 Euro for a hamburger? Whether or not the pricing is in line with other hotels on La Croisette, it's ridiculous.

When we left the next morning, we got our bill and found that we'd been charged several hundred Euro for beach charges from the previous day. We told the staff we had not been at the beach and only had the room service champgane and dinner. It took them a while and way too much conversation to decide we were telling the truth. The charges were reluctantly removed.

There were far too many hassles and inconveniences with this hotel stay to rate it anything other than 3 stars. In my opinion, it's a rather generous review considering the quality of the service we received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVolumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comment.
We are sorry to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your stay in our establishment.
We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and all of them will be discussed with the concerned manager.
We feel very sorry to know that the image you keep about our hotel is not up to your expectations but we hope that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes.
Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice hotel right on the main strip of Cannes, a central location to everything you want to see. Across the street from the beach where you can rent sun chairs. The rooms were large and clean, bed was comfortable, and the quality and friendliness of service exceeded my expectations to be honest. I feel more importantly in a place like Cannes there was value to the price paid, I thought the rate was reasonable and we were more than happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaTravels18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review!
It is always a pleasure to read such a good feedback. A special thank you for the comment about the staff, your satisfaction is our best reward.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Warm regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia spain
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in lovely gardens,where comfortable garden suites and sun shades are available for relaxation. The hotel over looks the sea front but is quite and peaceful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and was spotlessly clean thought our stay, a nice touch was each evening a small box of chocolates was left on the pillow. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant, the food and the service were excellent, befitting its Michelin star award. The car parking facility and the charge were good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your last visit at Le Grand Hôtel.
Your words concerning the decoration, our staff, our service and also the quality of the food in our restaurant are very appreciated!
We are delighted that you spent a pleasant stay with us, and I will not miss to share with my teams your remarks so encouraging!

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues RAYBAUD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautifully situated on the Boulevard de la Croisette, set back far enough to be peaceful but perfect for the beach and restaurants. We stayed 3 nights in a wonderful spacious room with a balcony with a sea view. The accommodation was stylish and very clean, the staff were very helpful and polite, we only ate using room service but it was always delivered on time and was excellent. It was lovely and warm while we were there and the sofas and parasols on the front lawn were perfect for relaxing with drinks.

Room Tip: Stretch to a sea view if you can, we came back to relax on the balcony on the sun loungers most days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherofthetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your encouraging review.

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you benefited of an efficient service and appreciated the kindness of the staff.
At Le Grand Hôtel we strive to make all of our guests feel at ease, whether they are tourists or business travellers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With my best regards


Hugues RAYBAUD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing