We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$145
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
$278
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette(Cannes)(Great Value!)
$168
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion(Cannes)(Great Value!)
$192
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$404
$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Le Canberra(Cannes)(Great Value!)
$192
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Splendid(Cannes)(Great Value!)
$146
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$285
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$278
$246
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Renoir(Cannes)(Great Value!)
$222
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
319
166
65
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
166
65
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewretro stylela croisettespacious balconyperfect locationrooms are hugenice hotelroom service isprivate beachbottle of champagnebeach restaurantour honeymoonnice roomsea frontnice airportbulgarimichelin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 603 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently returned from a 2-night weekend break at Le Grand Hotel Cannes. Lured by what I can now only assume must be bogus reviews. From the outset I was thoroughly unimpressed with the service and the aesthetic of the hotel. The lobby is dark, gloomy and very dated, something like a 4 star business hotel 20 years ago. I arrived with my elderly Mother arrived at midday before we could check in to the hotel and was told to come back in a couple of hours by the surly and unhelpful reception staff without being offered any refreshments or reassurance. On our return at 3pm when we were told to come back, it took another 30 mins of waiting around before we were shown our room. The room itself is nice, the decor is pleasant enough and it's a good size but I have to say this is the only positive thing I can say about the hotel.

We were unable to book the beach or restaurant that afternoon because it was full and it took three reminders to finally get confirmation of a reservation for the following day. The beach is crowded and the loungers are ridiculous, just mattress' propped up by a tiny wooden stool. For 23 euros each, this is a pathetic attempt. Far better to go next door to the right (I can't remember the name), where you get proper loungers, enough personal space and half way decent service for about the same price.

Breakfast was beyond a joke. The buffet was not replenished for more than half an hour. Consequently, there was really limited choice, a shortage of bowls and cutlery and if you anted coffee or eggs cooked to order you could expect to wait at the very least 15 minutes for it to arrive and be prepared to remind the pouty and unfriendly staff at least once. Beyond a joke for a supposedly 5 star hotel. It's really nothing of the sort. I'm also disappointed to say that the French guests were given noticeably more attention than the non-French guests at the reception, bar and breakfast buffet.

Having been lucky enough to stay in genuine 5 star hotels on a regular basis with work, I'm unsure how Le Grand Hotel managed to achieve this status. Having checked out the competition for next time I thought the Martinez, the Marriott and the Intercontinental looked far superior, though I can't comment on the rooms or the service (though realistically, it could not have been worse than the Grand).

I have no intention of ever returning to this hotel and I'm actually very angry that what was supposed to be a relaxing, luxurious weekend was marred by poor service, seriously unfriendly and unhelpful staff and a genuine disregard for customer experience. I spent most of the time feeling wound up, badly treated and a strong sense that I'd been ripped off. This is not a 5-star hotel. AVOID

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelbugKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion.
We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the special atmosphere our establishement offers, and especially the lobby, as this is a much appreciated value that our guests mention. The entire hotel has been decorated in a modern, chic style based on the 70's and is kept in its best shape.

Regarding your early arrival, we regret that your room was not ready before 3pm (check-in time) but as our hotel was fully booked we had no other room to propose.

About our private beach La Plage 45 you may have noticed how popular it is in Cannes, especially during July and August which is our absolute highest season.
We totally understand how disappointing it is not having the chance to enjoy it and this is why we always encourage our guests to book their sun-chairs in advance or at the time of booking.
Then, there is indeed an extra charge for this service, which is discounted for our hotel guests and very interesting compared to the usual rates offered in Cannes.

For the breakfast experience, we regret that you remain with such a bad impression of the service provided. It is our daily task to keep up quality and service standards and you can be sure that the points that you have highlighted are discussed in detail with the concerned department.

Hoping that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes,

Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been coming to the grand hotel about twice a year in the past three years, with the children. Love the location, the view from the room sea facing, the garden and the beach. But wouln't it be nice to get a word or a smile of recognition after being coming regularly. We visited the bar about a dozen times, the beach restaurant half a dozen times, isn't it part of the service in a five star hotel? ...but if the hotel director does not greet the clients with a 'bonjour' why should the rest of the staff?!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Difese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to deeply, and personally apologise regarding your experience during your last stay with us as this is absolutely not representative and in keeping with the standards in the Grand Hotel.
We do share your opinion on the fact that this is unacceptable and the necessary steps have been taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Location is not what its all about


Location, location, location are definitely the three best things about Le Grand Hotel in Cannes. Having undergone a recent refurbishment, the reception, lounge and other public areas are light and bright with a strong 1970s influence. The rooms are well appointed, clean with comfy beds and if you have a 'superior room' with sea view, the terraces are quite spacious. Air conditioning is efficient but noisy. Sadly that's where the good review has to end. From the moment we arrived, before check-in time, we were greeted (using the term loosely) by receptionists who told us to come back in two hours. Left entirely to our own devices, without even the offer of a cold drink after our journey, we knew were off to a less than brilliant start.

The service in the hotel restaurant at breakfast was average to say the least. The buffet was adequate but certainly not 5 star standard and neither was the service. Attracting attention to order coffee or to attempt to get bowls or cutlery became tedious as was persuading the staff, all gathered for a chat in the kitchen, to replenish food trays left empty at least half an hour before the official end of breakfast service. Not what we would expect from a top hotel in Cannes.

The hotel has no pool and we were very unimpressed to find that beach facilities for residents didn't seem to be discounted despite having been informed that rates were preferential. Service was poor on the beach - loungers were uncomfortable unless you chose and were 'lucky enough' to get a reservation on the exorbitantly priced pier - and in the restaurant. We found a much better beach at the Vegeluna just down the road, less expensive than the Grand and offering far superior service. It's not all negative however - the food was good, once it arrived.

The hotel concierge started off being very helpful and the day after we arrived, we asked him to book a table at a popular restaurant (that we knew very well) for pretty much any evening during our stay. We were then informed that this had been made and was in the diary for the Sunday evening, which of course we were very happy about - until that is we arrived at the restaurant to find it closed. We then had to find another restaurant to take us as 'walk ins' and ended up eating a very average meal on what should have been a special evening.

On our return to the hotel we informed the concierge on duty, who just shrugged, gave us a very weak apology and said there was nothing he could do about it. The following day we were informed that the restaurant was now fully booked until several days after our departure. We were so disappointed that we reported this unhappy experience together with some of the others to the hotel manager, who was more apologetic and attempted to appease us for his hotel's many shortcomings with the offer of a complimentary meal in the hotel restaurant (which we did not accept), a bottle of champagne sent to the room and a small discount on our final bill.

The Grand Hotel has pretentions of grandeur that are neither reflected in its retro 70s decor or its gloomy 70s service levels - I'm afraid it will take far more than a bottle of bubbly to lure us back there.
.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
Your comments assist us maintain and improve the qualities of our service to our guests.

We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and please, be sure that every aspect will be discussed and steps taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
Regarding the unfortunate experience with our concierge desk we would like to apoligize once again and very much regret that you did not accept our offer for a complimentary diner for two in our Michelin starred restaurant.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Before I describe this hotel, I would like to bring your attention to the following:

If you read the critical descriptions of all the 5-stars hotels that are on the Croisette, you will find that they carry the same negative comments: Expensive, lots of extra-charges and old dark rooms. It does not matter if the hotel is Majestic, Martinez, Grand, Marriott or Intercontinental. The private beaches are almost always full and you will need to reserve a "bed" long before you arrive to the hotel for your holiday to get a place, although they are largely empty. People reserve spaces but do not use them.

My advise is to stay away from all the hotels on the Croisette. They are too expensive and provide too little value for their own good but have too many people who want to stay there. For what? To walk in queue on the Croisette and look at boats and dirty beaches? Please - stay at another Riviera-town that is smaller, take the train/car in to Cannes for one day, and you will get a better beach, better room, better service and your wallet will remain fuller. You do not need more than one day in Cannes and you have seen it all.

Back to Le Grand Hotel:

These are the 5-star aspects of this hotel: The location, the cleaning personnel, the restaurant and the price.

The reception and services belong to the 4-star category
The rest of the hotel is 3 stars. The bathroom/toilet we had belong to the 2-star category.

The positive parts:

- The location is right on the Croisette, close to all tourist areas and Rue Antibes. You will reach all the restaurants, cafes and shops you want to visit
- The hotel has a nice garden in front of it, which is unique compared to other hotels on the Croisette. A nice aspect with sitting areas that can be enjoyed late at night
- The restaurant has as far as we know a Michelin-star, but we chose to eat out instead
- The cleaning ladies are very smiling and do a very good job. They should be praised and maybe promoted to run the hotel

The negative parts (parts which the hotel ought to have done something about long time ago):

- The hotel has been recently renovated and has chosen a dark 1975-style
- The free internet hardly works, due to lack of proper infrastructure. We managed sometimes to push 30kbps, hardly enough for ordinary computer usage. Fyi: I am an IT-professional
- The beach is expensive, small and dirty, although the service is good
- The bathroom pictures on trip advisor and the hotel website are deceptive. The bathroom we were given was clearly in the 2/3-star category. Please also see the pictures we have uploaded, not only those provided by the hotel or the marketing agency. You might end up getting a room like we did
- There are robes and slippers provided in the bathroom, but there is no swimming pool or spa
- There is no coffee-machine, water boiler, coffee cup or spoon in the room
- The air conditioner was extremely noisy. It could be regulated from high to low, but it was not possible to notice any difference. It made it harder to sleep properly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took for your detailed feedback of your stay and we are truly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
We have taken good note of your dissatisfaction and we will do everything possible to avoid such bad experience happening again.
Should you come back in Cannes in the future, I would be very pleased to show you the very best of the property.
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice hotel - with decent size rooms. great service from the maid staff and the concierges. Melissa from the front desk was fantastic. the hotel has a private beach across the croisette - plague 45.
but its seemed always busy. even with us staying in the hotel, we had to push the girl to give us daybeds closer to the front - i tried every day to upgrade to the daybeds on the pier, but they always seemed to be reserved for the Yair Marx (entourage) types. the beach was decent with a nice atmosphere, but very crowded. everything is expensive in cannes. food wasnt that special. if we were to come back to cannes, we would come back to this hotel - problem is that we will never come back to cannes. good value for the money, but we rather be at the Cove@atlantis!!

ps:
- cabs from nice airport - "90-95 euro" in the 7 series BMW.
- lots of old people at the hotel
- french dont like people like me
- europe is broke

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quanitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to communicate your comments on this website.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and especially Melissa, I will not miss to pass them on to her.
Regarding our private beach, we regret that you were not able to enjoy the jetty.
It is true that we are busy in the summer and this is why we always recommend our guests to book their sunbeds in advance.
Should you decide to come back to Cannes and to our hotel one day, I would personnally reserve one bed on the jetty for you.
With my best Regards,

Hugues raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews