We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view...but a bit of recognition?”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
st remy de provence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room with a view...but a bit of recognition?”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been coming to the grand hotel about twice a year in the past three years, with the children. Love the location, the view from the room sea facing, the garden and the beach. But wouln't it be nice to get a word or a smile of recognition after being coming regularly. We visited the bar about a dozen times, the beach restaurant half a dozen times, isn't it part of the service in a five star hotel? ...but if the hotel director does not greet the clients with a 'bonjour' why should the rest of the staff?!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Difese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to deeply, and personally apologise regarding your experience during your last stay with us as this is absolutely not representative and in keeping with the standards in the Grand Hotel.
We do share your opinion on the fact that this is unacceptable and the necessary steps have been taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    146
    58
    31
    15
See reviews for
79
253
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Location is not what its all about


Location, location, location are definitely the three best things about Le Grand Hotel in Cannes. Having undergone a recent refurbishment, the reception, lounge and other public areas are light and bright with a strong 1970s influence. The rooms are well appointed, clean with comfy beds and if you have a 'superior room' with sea view, the terraces are quite spacious. Air conditioning is efficient but noisy. Sadly that's where the good review has to end. From the moment we arrived, before check-in time, we were greeted (using the term loosely) by receptionists who told us to come back in two hours. Left entirely to our own devices, without even the offer of a cold drink after our journey, we knew were off to a less than brilliant start.

The service in the hotel restaurant at breakfast was average to say the least. The buffet was adequate but certainly not 5 star standard and neither was the service. Attracting attention to order coffee or to attempt to get bowls or cutlery became tedious as was persuading the staff, all gathered for a chat in the kitchen, to replenish food trays left empty at least half an hour before the official end of breakfast service. Not what we would expect from a top hotel in Cannes.

The hotel has no pool and we were very unimpressed to find that beach facilities for residents didn't seem to be discounted despite having been informed that rates were preferential. Service was poor on the beach - loungers were uncomfortable unless you chose and were 'lucky enough' to get a reservation on the exorbitantly priced pier - and in the restaurant. We found a much better beach at the Vegeluna just down the road, less expensive than the Grand and offering far superior service. It's not all negative however - the food was good, once it arrived.

The hotel concierge started off being very helpful and the day after we arrived, we asked him to book a table at a popular restaurant (that we knew very well) for pretty much any evening during our stay. We were then informed that this had been made and was in the diary for the Sunday evening, which of course we were very happy about - until that is we arrived at the restaurant to find it closed. We then had to find another restaurant to take us as 'walk ins' and ended up eating a very average meal on what should have been a special evening.

On our return to the hotel we informed the concierge on duty, who just shrugged, gave us a very weak apology and said there was nothing he could do about it. The following day we were informed that the restaurant was now fully booked until several days after our departure. We were so disappointed that we reported this unhappy experience together with some of the others to the hotel manager, who was more apologetic and attempted to appease us for his hotel's many shortcomings with the offer of a complimentary meal in the hotel restaurant (which we did not accept), a bottle of champagne sent to the room and a small discount on our final bill.

The Grand Hotel has pretentions of grandeur that are neither reflected in its retro 70s decor or its gloomy 70s service levels - I'm afraid it will take far more than a bottle of bubbly to lure us back there.
.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
Your comments assist us maintain and improve the qualities of our service to our guests.

We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and please, be sure that every aspect will be discussed and steps taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
Regarding the unfortunate experience with our concierge desk we would like to apoligize once again and very much regret that you did not accept our offer for a complimentary diner for two in our Michelin starred restaurant.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Before I describe this hotel, I would like to bring your attention to the following:

If you read the critical descriptions of all the 5-stars hotels that are on the Croisette, you will find that they carry the same negative comments: Expensive, lots of extra-charges and old dark rooms. It does not matter if the hotel is Majestic, Martinez, Grand, Marriott or Intercontinental. The private beaches are almost always full and you will need to reserve a "bed" long before you arrive to the hotel for your holiday to get a place, although they are largely empty. People reserve spaces but do not use them.

My advise is to stay away from all the hotels on the Croisette. They are too expensive and provide too little value for their own good but have too many people who want to stay there. For what? To walk in queue on the Croisette and look at boats and dirty beaches? Please - stay at another Riviera-town that is smaller, take the train/car in to Cannes for one day, and you will get a better beach, better room, better service and your wallet will remain fuller. You do not need more than one day in Cannes and you have seen it all.

Back to Le Grand Hotel:

These are the 5-star aspects of this hotel: The location, the cleaning personnel, the restaurant and the price.

The reception and services belong to the 4-star category
The rest of the hotel is 3 stars. The bathroom/toilet we had belong to the 2-star category.

The positive parts:

- The location is right on the Croisette, close to all tourist areas and Rue Antibes. You will reach all the restaurants, cafes and shops you want to visit
- The hotel has a nice garden in front of it, which is unique compared to other hotels on the Croisette. A nice aspect with sitting areas that can be enjoyed late at night
- The restaurant has as far as we know a Michelin-star, but we chose to eat out instead
- The cleaning ladies are very smiling and do a very good job. They should be praised and maybe promoted to run the hotel

The negative parts (parts which the hotel ought to have done something about long time ago):

- The hotel has been recently renovated and has chosen a dark 1975-style
- The free internet hardly works, due to lack of proper infrastructure. We managed sometimes to push 30kbps, hardly enough for ordinary computer usage. Fyi: I am an IT-professional
- The beach is expensive, small and dirty, although the service is good
- The bathroom pictures on trip advisor and the hotel website are deceptive. The bathroom we were given was clearly in the 2/3-star category. Please also see the pictures we have uploaded, not only those provided by the hotel or the marketing agency. You might end up getting a room like we did
- There are robes and slippers provided in the bathroom, but there is no swimming pool or spa
- There is no coffee-machine, water boiler, coffee cup or spoon in the room
- The air conditioner was extremely noisy. It could be regulated from high to low, but it was not possible to notice any difference. It made it harder to sleep properly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took for your detailed feedback of your stay and we are truly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
We have taken good note of your dissatisfaction and we will do everything possible to avoid such bad experience happening again.
Should you come back in Cannes in the future, I would be very pleased to show you the very best of the property.
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centreville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice hotel - with decent size rooms. great service from the maid staff and the concierges. Melissa from the front desk was fantastic. the hotel has a private beach across the croisette - plague 45.
but its seemed always busy. even with us staying in the hotel, we had to push the girl to give us daybeds closer to the front - i tried every day to upgrade to the daybeds on the pier, but they always seemed to be reserved for the Yair Marx (entourage) types. the beach was decent with a nice atmosphere, but very crowded. everything is expensive in cannes. food wasnt that special. if we were to come back to cannes, we would come back to this hotel - problem is that we will never come back to cannes. good value for the money, but we rather be at the Cove@atlantis!!

ps:
- cabs from nice airport - "90-95 euro" in the 7 series BMW.
- lots of old people at the hotel
- french dont like people like me
- europe is broke

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quanitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to communicate your comments on this website.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and especially Melissa, I will not miss to pass them on to her.
Regarding our private beach, we regret that you were not able to enjoy the jetty.
It is true that we are busy in the summer and this is why we always recommend our guests to book their sunbeds in advance.
Should you decide to come back to Cannes and to our hotel one day, I would personnally reserve one bed on the jetty for you.
With my best Regards,

Hugues raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hotel recently for a business trip in June.

The hotel is in an excellent location and perfect to get around Cannes from. The hotel setting is wonderful, surrounded by lush well kept gardens with breathtaking sea views, set just off of the Croisette.

My room was very spacious, with an enormous comfortable bed, stylish décor, separate living area and sparkling clean bathroom. Housekeeping did an excellent job throughout my weeks stay at the hotel and all the hotel staff were very helpful, courteous and professional at all times.

I can’t recommend a visit to the hotel restaurant highly enough! We were able to sit outside in the beautiful hotel terrace to eat and the atmosphere was wonderful. The Michelin starred chef cooked up the most delicious food I have ever tasted. The wine was delicious and the sommelier extremely friendly and helpful. The evening was a real treat!

The hotel also has its own private beach, Plage 45, which is opposite the hotel. The beach house was wonderful! The food was delicious and as the beach is private to hotel guests only we managed to avoid the crowds of Cannes. You can rent a sun lounger, enjoy a drink or two on the beach thanks to the available table service there and simply relax!

I would love to return to the Grand Hotel the next time I am in Cannes and would highly recommend to anybody visiting!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful comment!
We are delighted to learn that we meet your expectations during your stay in our establishment and very much look forward to welcoming you back,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Faboulus location with a nice garden in front of the hotel. The sea view rooms are fantastic, large and with a big terrace. Great bar and M-Star restaurant! The Plage45 was nice, and necessarry given that the hotel does not have any pool - even if the swiftness of the service here could be improved somewhat. A great and big breakfast buffet.

The only big drawback for anyone that likes a good nights sleep; the doors have a locking system wich need you to bang the door shut when you leave the room - the noise penetrates the whole corridor! I am sure even also up and down the floors. Very strange this is not fixed.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We recently had the pleasure to welcome you in our establishment and we would like to thank you for sharing your opinon on this website further to your stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, its facilities and spacious rooms.
Regarding your remark about the doors slamming, we thank you for providing us with this information. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused during your sleep, please accept our sincere apologies.
Our technical service is going to check our locking system on every door to ensure this does not reoccur.
We thank you once again for your feedback and very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Favoured room 773, high enough to get a good sea view, and at the the end of the corridor.
This is a large 1990's decorated room with decent size en suite and good wardrobe space, small balcony witn 2 sun lounges and table.
Excellent breakfast, probably the best in France for self serve. The inside bar is boring, outside on the lawn faciung the sea is vert pleasant, an older crowd than some other waterfront hotels.
The hotel is sort of expensive but our choice for a second visit because of the location in amongst the restaurants which are centred in the small streets behind the hotel, an easy walk.
The private beach is worth a visit, and has an excellent beachside restaurant where we had a memorable lunch. Good parking in the private car park in the rear, and front desk staff most helpful with very good English. will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are delighted to read that you were so fully satisfied with the hotel, its service and location that you already know that you wish to come back! This is our best reward.
I will pass your nice comment on to the staff at the front desk.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing