We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location, lots of old people”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice hotel - with decent size rooms. great service from the maid staff and the concierges. Melissa from the front desk was fantastic. the hotel has a private beach across the croisette - plague 45.
but its seemed always busy. even with us staying in the hotel, we had to push the girl to give us daybeds closer to the front - i tried every day to upgrade to the daybeds on the pier, but they always seemed to be reserved for the Yair Marx (entourage) types. the beach was decent with a nice atmosphere, but very crowded. everything is expensive in cannes. food wasnt that special. if we were to come back to cannes, we would come back to this hotel - problem is that we will never come back to cannes. good value for the money, but we rather be at the Cove@atlantis!!

ps:
- cabs from nice airport - "90-95 euro" in the 7 series BMW.
- lots of old people at the hotel
- french dont like people like me
- europe is broke

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quanitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to communicate your comments on this website.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and especially Melissa, I will not miss to pass them on to her.
Regarding our private beach, we regret that you were not able to enjoy the jetty.
It is true that we are busy in the summer and this is why we always recommend our guests to book their sunbeds in advance.
Should you decide to come back to Cannes and to our hotel one day, I would personnally reserve one bed on the jetty for you.
With my best Regards,

Hugues raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Le Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 551 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hotel recently for a business trip in June.

The hotel is in an excellent location and perfect to get around Cannes from. The hotel setting is wonderful, surrounded by lush well kept gardens with breathtaking sea views, set just off of the Croisette.

My room was very spacious, with an enormous comfortable bed, stylish décor, separate living area and sparkling clean bathroom. Housekeeping did an excellent job throughout my weeks stay at the hotel and all the hotel staff were very helpful, courteous and professional at all times.

I can’t recommend a visit to the hotel restaurant highly enough! We were able to sit outside in the beautiful hotel terrace to eat and the atmosphere was wonderful. The Michelin starred chef cooked up the most delicious food I have ever tasted. The wine was delicious and the sommelier extremely friendly and helpful. The evening was a real treat!

The hotel also has its own private beach, Plage 45, which is opposite the hotel. The beach house was wonderful! The food was delicious and as the beach is private to hotel guests only we managed to avoid the crowds of Cannes. You can rent a sun lounger, enjoy a drink or two on the beach thanks to the available table service there and simply relax!

I would love to return to the Grand Hotel the next time I am in Cannes and would highly recommend to anybody visiting!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful comment!
We are delighted to learn that we meet your expectations during your stay in our establishment and very much look forward to welcoming you back,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Faboulus location with a nice garden in front of the hotel. The sea view rooms are fantastic, large and with a big terrace. Great bar and M-Star restaurant! The Plage45 was nice, and necessarry given that the hotel does not have any pool - even if the swiftness of the service here could be improved somewhat. A great and big breakfast buffet.

The only big drawback for anyone that likes a good nights sleep; the doors have a locking system wich need you to bang the door shut when you leave the room - the noise penetrates the whole corridor! I am sure even also up and down the floors. Very strange this is not fixed.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you are facing the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

We recently had the pleasure to welcome you in our establishment and we would like to thank you for sharing your opinon on this website further to your stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, its facilities and spacious rooms.
Regarding your remark about the doors slamming, we thank you for providing us with this information. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused during your sleep, please accept our sincere apologies.
Our technical service is going to check our locking system on every door to ensure this does not reoccur.
We thank you once again for your feedback and very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Favoured room 773, high enough to get a good sea view, and at the the end of the corridor.
This is a large 1990's decorated room with decent size en suite and good wardrobe space, small balcony witn 2 sun lounges and table.
Excellent breakfast, probably the best in France for self serve. The inside bar is boring, outside on the lawn faciung the sea is vert pleasant, an older crowd than some other waterfront hotels.
The hotel is sort of expensive but our choice for a second visit because of the location in amongst the restaurants which are centred in the small streets behind the hotel, an easy walk.
The private beach is worth a visit, and has an excellent beachside restaurant where we had a memorable lunch. Good parking in the private car park in the rear, and front desk staff most helpful with very good English. will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are delighted to read that you were so fully satisfied with the hotel, its service and location that you already know that you wish to come back! This is our best reward.
I will pass your nice comment on to the staff at the front desk.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel, Cannes for a business trip. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with wonderful gardens, set back from the Croisette. My room was very clean and tidy, with excellent service, and huge in size. Throughout the hotel the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We also made use of the hotel's beach at Plage 45 which was fabulous. Perhaps the biggest surprise was the quality of the food both at the beach and at the hotel. On our last night we ate in the Grand's hidden gem Michelin starred restaurant on the hotel terrace and quite simply it was one of the best meals I've ever had.

Room Tip: I stayed in a non sea facing room but it has a lovely view over Cannes and beyond.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our service and facilities.
I have passed your comments on to the great team we have here and especially to our Chef Sébastien Broda.
I hope you visit us on your next stay in Cannes,
Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This review is for the private beach Plage 45 owned by the hotel:

A relaxing, welcoming atmosphere is just what Plage 45 offers - smaller than the other private beaches, with a superb restaurant - seared tuna with ginger and sautéed vegetables or fresh sushi the perfect beach food. Burgers are top quality too. An abundance of smiles from the staff - Romain and Manon are formidable - and classy service without presumption - make this our favorite find during our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SpinnerDolphinSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment that I will not miss to share with the beach team.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure welcome you back for some other relaxing moments.
Kindest regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel seems to have been recently renovated and it was brought to an amazing standard. The style is 70's retro (which perfectly suits la Croisette) and it is extremely comfortable. Luxurious without being pretentious.

Rooms: We stayed in a high floor overlooking the sea and the value you get at this hotel is simply amazing. It's probably one of the best deals in Cannes, since getting stunning sea views as the one we got and such a spacious balcony (perfect to have some wine in the evening and chill out) in another 5 star hotel in the Croisette (such as the Carlton) would be incredibly expensive. Rooms are very spacious and bed/ pillows are amazing. Such a good sleep!

Service: staff was very attentive and efficient, from room service (with turn down serv in the evening) to reception and breakfast room.

Location: other reviews already said it, but it's perfect. Right in the Croisette with private garden.

Breakfast: the restaurant has 1 Michelin star, and good restaurant standard leads to good breakfast. Food was very nice with fresh, high quality ingredients. Service was attentive and you can enjoy breakfast in the terrace.

Facilities: they don't have a pool and I don't care - there's a beach across the read. However, the beach club was closed and we had not been told about it - that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz_Nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the hotel location & equipments as well as the service provided.
We are very sorry regarding the exceptionnal closure of the beach and we understand your disappointment.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Le Grand Hotel in order to spend other memorable moments.
Kindest Regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $147 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing