We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Cannes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Based on some of the other reviews, I was afraid to stay here. But, as a fairly loyal Gold level guest I decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised. I did not find any of the previously mentioned intrusive staff, in fact I found a very capable front desk and front bar staff with strong English skills and very interested in making sure our stay was pleasant. The hotel has a fantastic location, right in the center of all the action. The rooms are very pleasant, clean, and of nice size. They are also very well appointed and stylish. Breakfast is included and was substantial - fresh fruit, eggs, meats, bread [it is France], and vegetables. Breakfast is served on an outdoor dining plaza that overlooks all the action. I would certainly stay here again and have recently recommended to some friends that they consider the property.

Room Tip: Try to get a water front room - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    253
    133
    38
    37
See reviews for
110
298
25
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Two days at the Marriott have been very enjoyable, the hotel is stylish, modern, elegant and comfortable, although there's not much more than the room, the lobby, the restaurant and the beach. A spa is definitely missing. Rooms are well furnished, on current Marriott standards, beds are comfortable, bathroom not large but sufficiently spacious. Rooftop pool was closed so we were offered complimentary seats at the beach, one of the nicest establishments in Cannes. Location on the croisette is optimal. They have the loveliest beachfront terrace bar in town, but be ready to wait indefinitely to be seated and to get food. I would definitely go back for a drink, but I would avoid their food, terrible, and soooo slow. On the other hand, breakfast in the room was very good. Staff were always friendly. Overall, a pleasant stay, the Marriott is one of the best properties we've stayed in Cannes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelersof2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is all about location and its more or less perfect location. Staff was very friendly but extremely slow and you never have the feeling that you are in 5 star hotel. But good breakfast ( as with most Marriotts ) plus great view from the restaurant and as always great beds and clean rooms. Would we come back? Well we would not mind but would rather test some of the other 5 stars on La Croisette

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We left after the first night even though we planned to stay for 3 nights. We reserved a suite for my wife, daughter and myself. The first room they gave us they could not get the lights to come on in the suite. The master “general” switch used with the room key wouldn’t work. They moved us to another room next to the elevator. You could hear the elevator going up and down from the bedroom and the bell “ding” at every floor. The carpets were dirty and the door to the bedroom was broken. They moved us to another room and told us it was a “quiet room”. The third room faced the busy street with automobile and foot traffic noise all night. There was a connecting second bedroom to the suite that was occupied by another guest. The connecting door was open at the bottom and you could hear every word of their conversation and every noise very clearly. The occupants arrived back to their room at 23:30 at night and decided to have a party. Overall, the hotel was not kept up. It was dirty, the carpets in the rooms and hallways were filthy and stained. There are marks and cuts on the wallpaper on the walls and doors to the rooms. We left the following morning. I can’t believe this is a JW property. This location is certainly nothing like other JW properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Frank C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the JW Marriott Cannes. We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your satisfaction.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been further shared with the relevant Department Head for a further review.

The constructive feedback provided by our guests allows us to enhance the level of service we aim to deliver throughout the hotel and we greatly appreciate your comments.

We do hope however that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Cannes soon.

Kind regards from the team at the JW Marriott Cannes

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent location on the main strip of Cannes, close to both marinas and all the fun spots
Great views from the roof top and bedrooms .....................
Friendly staff.................................

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great hotel, located on the main street in Cannes. The facility, staff and restaurants are excellent. The concierge was extremely helpful in making recommendations and reservations at local restaurants. They also helped us reserve tours including a boat trip to St Tropez for the day [highlly recommended].

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBoston60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I read all the reviews before going to the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised how much better the hotel is than written. I had a great overall stay at the hotel. Hey, you are in Cannes. That alone is a great experience. The hotel is in a perfect location in Cannes...high end stores, great restaurants, and the Cannes Festival just steps from the hotel. The hotel does not have its own beach but I knew that going in. There is a beach across the street that the hotel recommends and helps with reservations. (there are a lot more than just the one across the street) Yes, its uncommon in the US to pay to go to beach but it's Cannes. Included in the beach fee is great drink/food service.

The rooms were large for European standard especially the bathroom. Hotel was very quiet at night. The staff were great assisting with anything we needed. We went to Paris for three days before going to Cannes. I am glad we went to Paris first as it was great ending our Holiday in Cannes at the beach. The room service was so so for breakfast but the staff were very helpful. The restaurant was a great steakhouse with great ambiance and views.

The next time I'm in Cannes I will definitely look at staying here again! The staff speaks more English than French which was great for an American with not much French. For Americans, this hotel will remind you of American hotels with great service and accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 129 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#20 of 129 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Property: JW Marriott Cannes
Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette | BP 224, Provence Alpes Cote d' Azur, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing