We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* hotel; 1* service”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Firstly, I should say that the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located. The rooms are also beautiful (if a little tacky with images of celebrities on the walls). These plus points are all overshadowed by the terrible service though. It's literally the worst room service experience I've had, and consistently so over several days. The first time, my meal was delivered without any cutlery, the second time with the wrong drinks, and the third time I had to call twice to remind them to bring it at all (after waiting over 90 minutes) and when it did arrive, a very unpleasant lady barked at me that she "did not understand English" and so forced herself into my room after she made me get out of the shower to open the door to me. After having waited so long, I had specifically requested that the tray be left outside my room. She then slammed my door behind her when she left. The food in the restaurant was of equally poor quality. It's a 5-star hotel with truly 1-star, arrogant service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Sparkyb_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
First of all, we would like to thank you for the high scores in regards to the cleanliness, the hotel’s rooms and location and the quality of sleep you had.

Regarding your comments on the Room Service we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described.
I would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards and your feedback has been shared with the relevant Department Head, so that the necessary actions can be taken.

We do hope that the overall hotel stay that you had with us, will bring you back to the hotel in the future, allowing us the opportunity to show you the high quality standards we are better known for.

With Kind Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 931 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This review is solely for the property, not the service!

Cannes ~ the jewel of French Riviera. So beautiful with all that glitz and glam. And September is probably their busiest time since all the Europeans go on vacation around that time. Needless to say: most hotel in Cannes was packed and sold out.

The hotel: it is right on that busy /happening street of Boulevard de La Croisette!. Book this on my 5 hours train ride from Paris. Naturally, you're going to pay extra for that last minute factor! And people I travel with wont budge for lower than a 4 stars hotel. Gotta make everyone happy.

I liked the pretty hotel rooms. All black and white with movie star posters. Food and service is a ok. Friendly-ish and efficient-ish. It's not the best hotel I've stayed in Cannes but it's also not the worst. At night. this place gets mad crazy with whats that club across on the beach. But you can easily stay in or walk else where and avoid it. Over all, a ok stay. I'd like my rooms a little bit bigger but this is Cannes. Can't be choosy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LatifaS_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Tifa_Mystique,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on the TripAdvisor webpage.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to the location, our property and the rooms decoration and design.

We are glad to hear that you had overall an enjoyable experience in Cannes, although disappointed that we could not make it excellent.

Please rest assured that I have already passed all your comments onto the department heads to further share them with the rest of their teams.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel so that we may have the opportunity to make your next stay with us an excellent one.

Best regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a great hotel! We stayed over there for a week-end and we had a very good experience. The hotel is located right in the middle of the 'Croisette' facing the sea. The roof top terrace just gives a breathtaking view on the sea.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank mauricette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Mauricette J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay and that our hotel suited your needs.

Once more we thank you for your great comments and we hope to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Cannes soon.

Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the moment I pulled up at the front portico, the service from the valet to the front office staff to the restaurant personnel have been unsurpassable. Extremely hospitable, helpful when needed, the only thing that can match their professionalism is the view across the street on to the Mediterranean. Yes, it costs top dollar to valet park, but so it is for most of the hotel along La Croisette. With Hilton Hhonors I got complimentary internet and breakfast, which is for sure a great benefit. The rates are very reasonable for January, but the swimming pool/hot tub most likely will not be in operation. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Enjoys_Relaxing,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the JW Marriott Hotel and for awarding us with such a great scores.
We are delighted to find out that you were pleased with the level of service and that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.
Based on the priviledges of the Elite Marriott Rewards Status (Gold and Platinum), we were happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast experience as well as the complimentary internet offered in your room.
Once more, we thank you for your great comments and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Cannes is quiet in January. Unfortunately the JSM, was too busy. With the front foyer filled with dinner banquet tables, it felt like we were at a conference with 200 of our no so best friends.
Hotel is a little tired, rooms clean but dated, bathrooms need work.

Auto park is 40Euro day. Internet 25 Euro a day. How come the more expensive the hotel, the more they charge for internet?

Just glad the offseason rates were cheap, otherwise I would have checked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterfront49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice V, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for writting a review on Tripadvisor at the JW Marriott Cannes.
We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you went through as described.
Please rest assured that all your points have been further shared with the Department Heads.
Regarding the prices for the in-room internet, kindly note that we offer average prices with other five star hotels in Cannes and all Marriott hotels in Europe offer complimentary internet in the hotel lobby.
We totally understand that the conference in house during your stay was unpleasant for you and felt that the actions we took upon check-out were appropriate due the inconvenience occurred.
We hope that the good service provided to you by the JW Marriott team will bring you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

this hotel is perfectly located on the Croisette in Cannes. During the low season (winter) they have very attractive rates for internet bookings.
The rooms are clean and big. The only negative point is theat internet connection in the room costs 24 € the first day and 10 € for each additional day.
The swimming pool on the roof is too small for swimming but perfect for refreshing in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a soom with sea view in an uper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileP06, Responsable commercial at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Rob65_10,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our TripAdvisor webpage.
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience.
Regarding the internet you mentioned, please note that for the convenience of our guests, we offer unlimited Wi-Fi internet in the hotel’s lobby, complimentary. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms and is indeed chargeable unless it is part of a room package.
Thank you once again for your comments, and we do hope to have the occasion to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards from the team at the JW Marriott Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent two weeks in France with my wife on a babymoon/wife's birhday in October, where we spent 5 days in Cannes at the JW Marriott. We stayed on points (so I don't have much advive in value unfortunately) and have Platinum status with Marriott.

Staff - 5 stars: Starting with the staff, who were incredible. Very friendly, throughout our stay, really went above and beyond. First, I let them know it was my wife's birthday and the kitchen sent up a delicious cheesecake personalized for us as well as a really thoughtful note. Really didn't expect that, it was great. Additionally, we ended up cutting our stay in Cannes one day short so that we could spend an evening in Nice, which would make it a lot easier to make our flight that following morning. The staff were happy to help us rebook without any change fees. Really just awesome staff all around.

Property - 5 stars: The hotel is beautiful outside and in. Modern but understated looks overall, felt classy. Large lobby with a bar as well that fits in well. Also, has a rooftop pool which unfortunately at the time wasn't really in use due to the low season, but during the high season I imagine it's very popular. They also have a lot of chairs on the room (large area overall) that has just a beautiful view of the water and the beach. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in all of my travel!

Rooms - 5 stars: Stayed in a garden view room with a slight beach view. The room itself was very nicely appointed, although about a standard size. Some interesting decorations (the wall behind the bed had black and white pictures of a bunch of celebrities), but didn't bother me, thought it was kind of cool. Very small patio (could only fit a chair), but a patio nonetheless.

Location - 5 stars: Right on the beach, which during high season is incredible, but while we were out there in the low season there wasn't a ton going on at the beach. That being said, the public beaches were about a 3-4 minute walk. The beaches directly in front of the hotel are private beaches that you have to pay to access (if they are open, which in the low season most were not). Also, nearby a lot of restaurants and stores already, so well placed within Cannes itself.

Food/Bar - 4 stars: Was treated to free breakfast each morning, a self serve breakfast with the usual items (waffles, eggs, bacon, etc.) but also a lot of bakery items. More options than the typical breakfast at a Marriott. Also, they had a patio where you could eat breakfast with a view of the water/beaches which made it even better.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel. It was beautiful, the staff were incredible, the views and location are great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileP06, Responsable relations publiques at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear BobbyP,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the JW Marriott Cannes and for the top scores you have awarded us.
We are thrilled to hear that our JW Marriott Cannes was one of the nicest hotels you have stayed at in all of your travel!
We hope you enjoyed the many activities you had planned during your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards from the team at the JW Marriott Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Address: 50 boulevard de la Croisette, BP 224, Provence Alpes Cote d' Azur, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $125 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing