We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay at the JW Marriot”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and we had a wonderful stay. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and recently renovated. I loved the modern decor. The service was very good. Special thanks to our receptionist Caroline who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location of the hotel was also perfect right in the middle of the Croisette. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the outside seating. We would definitely stay here during our next trip to Cannes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Cannes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 888 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel tries to play with the big boys and doesn't quite live up to it. The lobby is impressive, the staff professional, the valets attentive, when they are around. Our room was decidedly sexy, well decorated and even had a little balcony. However as much as this sounds great, the details were lacking. First there is the sound proofing - we were on the 4th floor, the second highest, yet the music from the lobby was seeping in all night. It was barely noticeable but I can only imagine how it would have been on a lower floor. Our room also had one of those annoying doors that connect it to the next room. These are definite noise bridges and sure enough we could hear the people in the next room talking. One night some people came home late and were extremely noisy - we had to call front desk, who called them to ask them to quiet down. They did, but even when they were talking quietly we could hear them. When I'm in an expensive hotel like this, the one thing I really have no tolerance for is noise.

The bathroom was large, yet it was lacking any towel bars. I just don't get that. And luckily we are sporty so we had no problems climbing into the tub/shower but if you are in any way challenged, you will find it hard to climb over the very high ledge of the tub to take a shower. The shower had one of those rain shower heads which was placed so far away from the shower wall it made it impossible to not spill water into the bathroom. Not much thought went into that design.

Lastly the two jacuzzis of the hotel on the rooftop were out of service. So overall, we were not impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the most amazing chicken burger with humous, guacamole, tender chicken breast, tomatoes and garnish served with a little basket of perfect fries. I do not usually eat fries but they were so lovely I managed to demolish them. My husband had the same so no menu envy!!!!!! Lovely restaurant with efficient waitors and calm atmosphere. Go if you want the best chiken burger ever!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel has a great location. The room was perfect.
I was making a motobike trip from Marsille to Venice.
When i first arrived staff showed me a place to park.
After i check out the motorbike wasnt there.
It had taken to the garage by the police.
Staff had the responsibility and solved my problem.
Also they payed the fine.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Serkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a great spot to burn Marriott points as I used 160k points for a free 5 night stay. With Marriott gold I also got free breakfast and free internet every day. It is a great spot on the beach and it is pretty much on par with what you would expect of a Marriott. Just down the street is the Hotel Martinez, now a Hyatt property. I toured that with the help of the Platinum desk and saw their spa which the Marriott does not have. When I go back to Cannes I will choose the Hyatt over the Marriott. Overall Cannes is great little city with very nice beaches, great opportunities for day trips, and fantastic shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location and outstanding service but breakfast was really substandard, quality and choice were simply not there, coffee was just awful. Rooms are fine but not terribly practical e.g not much to hang stuff in the bathroom, overall seems not very user and environment friendly. Would be nice to have other newspapers than le monde and le figaro. The hotel seems to be exploiting its great location without further effort, except for very nice and friendly service it doesn't do much good to the brand. A pity

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlivierB852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room, lobby, and restaurants were sleek, modern, and super comfortable. Hotel staff and front desk staff especially were very helpful. Definitely a 5-star property.

Word of caution-- the place is in the heart of the action across the street from the beach and some of the town's major nightclubs. On weekend nights the street in front of the hotel is absolute gridlock and traffic does not move. Nearly impossible to leave via car and retrieve your car from valet.

Also- this is a party town. Rooms are great with good walls but you WILL hear the bass the music from the Baoli nightclub until 4 or 5 in the morning. Great idea to bring some earplugs.

Room Tip: Most room rates include breakfast. Don't pass up a chance to enjoy it on the outside terrace...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $201 - $854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing