We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cannes
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'm between Average and Very Good on this property - I can't speak for value, since I used points, but overall this hotel exceeded expectations.

The good:
* This property has a cool art-deco feel to it. It looks very tacky on the website, but was much better in person
* Rooftop pool is great. The pool itself is small and oddly enclosed (many pools are enclosed this way in France). But the views are outstanding, and there are plenty of chairs
* Service and room quality met expectations
* Excellent location on the main drag in Cannes

The bad:
* The hotel does not have a beach without a pretty hefty fee. That is typical of Cannes
* Posted room rates were exorbitant for this level of property - but I used points, which was reasonable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    286
    140
    41
    41
See reviews for
125
334
27
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

In the Marriott hotel family, the JW brand is tops and so I was really expecting something special when my wife and I checked into the JW Marriott Cannes.

It’s certainly in a good location – right on the Boulevard de la Croissette facing the beautiful beaches and the Mediterranean. Along this same strip of land are other luxury properties such as the Carleton, the Miramar and the Martinez, just to name three, together with countless restaurants and high-end shops.

The look and the décor of the hotel – modern with all kinds of mirrors, polished white marble and large format black and white photos of international movie stars – might not be to everyone’s taste, but it’s not offensive. Reports indicate some $50 million was spent on renovations here, but if that’s the case it’s hard to see the value for money spent.

Our room was an upgrade but by American standards was still a little small. It was made better, however, by a very good amount of well-designed storage.

During our weeklong stay the staff never failed to be helpful and courteous and they certainly seemed to care about what they were doing.

The breakfast bar was a somewhat limited Marriott buffet (which are usually terrific). In our experience this one was not up to JW standards. Although there were some excellent baked goods – croissants and pain au chocolat were first rate - the opportunity to showcase fresh French farm products like seasonal melon was missed. As well, the smoked salmon was way too oily, falling well short of what you can buy in French supermarkets. The food being served here, especially in a JW and at rather elevated prices, should be of better quality, not worse. Coffee was poor and the tea selection too limited. If you do visit this hotel and enjoy a good coffee, order double espressos.

More noticeable faults with the hotel were in the guest room itself. First of all soundproofing wasn’t nearly good enough. This is an increasingly important factor, as airline crews who arrive at all hours don’t seem to care about disturbing other guests. And other inconsiderate guests seem to feel that there’s no problem having full-on summit meetings at 3:00 AM in the hallways. As well, like many hotels in Europe this one permits small dogs in guest rooms. You know the ones: high-strung and yapping at annoying volumes at any time of the day or night. We had one. About three rooms away. Lovely.

Many of the rooms on the garden side of the hotel have small balconies accessed via a smoothly sliding glass door. In addition there is a smaller window that also opens – big pluses when you consider how lovely the air can be here during the evenings. We would have used the balcony more except for ever-present smokers nearby who used their balconies as smoking studios. Rooms without balconies are slightly larger as a result, but the downside is that there are no opening windows.

Internet connectivity was okay. Much too slow using the wifi but with an Ethernet connection it ran like lightening. Obviously more quality wifi bandwidth is needed.

The bathroom, despite a sleek appearance, turned out to be somewhat frustrating. Apparently Marriott recently spent more than 20 million dollars renovating this property. Little things like a toilet paper dispenser that is so far behind your back that you’d better book a chiropractor before you try to use it. The cord on the hair dryer - not long enough to allow you to use it while standing in front of the mirror. And then there is this needlessly cute sliding glass door shared between the side-by-side shower cubicle and toilet stall, both of which are too small. And after a shower and the slider is opened it rains water on the toilet cubicle floor. The designers should have forgotten the shower stall altogether and just have had the existing one in the bathtub, thus making a larger space available for the toilet.

But there were good things about the bathroom too. Overall, very spacious, excellent water pressure, temperature balanced fixtures, soft generously sized towels and first class toiletries.

Finally the beds. Our twin beds were wide enough and of generous length, but even with wooden backboards installed by the staff at our request, one of the beds was still mush. A good hotel room begins with a good bed and at least in our room the situation wasn’t completely satisfactory. On the plus side, the gorgeous quality linens, crisply pressed, were truly luxurious.

So, to sum up, it’s no bargain, a bit of a mixed bag quality-wise, and in several ways didn’t measure up to our other JW experiences. But in this market it’s “okay”. Just bring a comfortable set of earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, west facing, overlooking the park. These are the quietest and the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bytowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel rooms renovated but the lobby looks like a 1980's. Good location but service was horrendous. Attitude at the trot desk and concierge was obnoxious and miserable. No way near what a category 8 or JW should represent. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautiful location on La Croisette right in the heart of everything. I found the room to be very comfortable and the rooftop pool was great. From the rooftop the view is awesome. The staff at check in and check out were helpful and polite. I was less impressed with the breakfast, it was fine just a rather limited selection for me again it was fine I am a coffee and cereal person. I would return to this location without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is well-placed on La Croisette a block from the famous Carlton, A couple blocks from the Film Festival hall and near many great restaurants. The street is always busy with people. Great views of the bay, beach, ships and the street from view rooms. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Breakfast we excellent with a large variety of food from which to choose.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the street and bay/water area. 203 is a great room as you can people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We just returned from a three night post-cruise stay at the JW Marriott in Cannes; it is important to note that the hotel continues to undergo major constuction and renovation (the Lobby and Restaurant are now being redone) whch greatly impacted our stay in a negative way. We called the hotel directly about 3 weeks prior to our planned arrival date to ask about the status of the construction and were advised that the renovations were complete and that no construction would be going on during our stay. Imagine our surpirse when we arrived and found ourselves in the middle of a hard-hat area - it was most disappointing and we were very annoyed that we were lied to concerning the status of the hotel. That is wrong and unacceptable.

The hotel's location is very good, the rooms are fine (we were allegedly upgraded to a park view room with balcony due to the condition of the hotel, the honest answer is probably that the construction workers who work 7 days a week and 18 hours per day reside in the standard rooms at the hotel), breakfast is nothing more than average and was served in a room that was only partially complete with different furnitiure every day (honestly, you cant make this stuff up), and the hotel valet parking was a distaster since the entry area into the hotel was blocked by consturction workers and vehicles and we had to stop in the middle of the Boulevard, jump out and hope to find a bellman to give the keys to.......an accident just waiting to happen.

Maybe the hotel will improve once the renovation is done, but I have my doubts. The hotel decor, including the rooms, are not up to JW Marriott standard, and even the renovated areas are not that sharp or luxurious. And, some memebers of the front desk staff need a lesson in service and hospitiality....it really is a lot of nerve to have an attitude when offering a sub-standard product.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are quiet. A few rooms have balconies, ask for a balcony room if that is impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the Croisette, right by the beach. I stayed there for a week in April 2012 for a conference. Good points: the views from the pool terrace, the location, the helpful staff, the room was comfortable. Bad points: the elevators are a real problem - often requiring maintenance and sometimes skipping floors/going up instead of down. Large queues can build up at busy times. The lobby area was not in use because of noisy renovation work, there was a lot of dirt and dust. The fitness room and the pool are both VERY small. Oh and the scrambled eggs at breakfast were the worst I have eaten anywhere in the world. Not what I would expect from JW Marriott. I would say - DO go to Cannes, it is a wonderful place. But do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Property: JW Marriott Cannes
Address: 50 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#30 Business Hotel in Cannes
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing