We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not a 4 star even by European standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
Ranked #88 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 star even by European standards”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Location - terrible. While you can't see the train station or the main roadway from the pool....boy can you ever hear it. When we were there from 7/15/12 - 7/20/12, there was construction in the surrounding area. Was not nice to walk around. I felt like I was staying on 8th Avenue in Manhattan.

Front Desk - OK. Nothing to write home about.

Rooms - old. We had 2 rooms which were extremely small. The mattress in my room must have been 15+ years old. My husband and I felt the springs and rolled into the center. My children had 2 twin beds and the mattresses were much better. Bathroom seemed to be more updated than the furniture, but also small. We had a tub (my children had a stand alone shower stall - no tub) and only a handheld shower head. A little difficult to shower!

Breakfast - staff in the restaurant were very nice and friendly. Buffet was OK....scrambled eggs were mushy....I was the only one who ate them. My husband, 20 year old son and 17 year old daughter passed on the eggs. Same spread every morning.

Pool - best part of hotel (except for the noise from the nearby traffic and trains). Bring a pool towel with you or the hotel will charge you 4 euros to rent one. We flew from NY and tried to pack light. I thought that if a hotel had a pool, they would provide pool towels.....silly me.

NO free WiFi! Are they kidding me in this day and age? They rent it to you by the hour or by the day.

The hotel does participate in a beach location. Make your reservations early as this hotel is not the only one that participates in this particular beach. It cost us 10 euro per person for the day because we were associated with the hotel. Otherwise, I think it was 20 euro per person for the day (16 euro for 1/2 day). The beach had free WiFi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heware, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Madam Emmett,
We are very sorry if you were not satisfied with you bedrooms. (146)
Actually, we have few comments like yours, thanks god. And of course, we were very surprised to read this comments because you have never show up at the reception to tell your feelings about your stay. If I knew this before, I would have asked the reception to move you in another room. We are not used to let an unhappy customer in the hotel.
I am pretty certain that the entire standard in the US are different .like for instance the pressure in the shower tabs is not the same. The Europeans stipulations are different too.
In Europe, the food is different too, we’ve never had such a bad comment regarding our scramble eggs; I guess the taste in NY should be different too.
We are obviously very sorry to hear your write about us.
As for your reservation, you have found room accommodation through Miki Travel for a standard room.
For the price you’ve paid you couldn’t be in a superior, or in a junior duplex or suite room. Your booking was for standard rooms
Our entire bedrooms are differently decorated in the hotel.
You have to know also that for the price you’ve paid, you have supplement for:
The beach
Towels to the beach or pool
WIFI
Anything you wish is in extra.
For superior rooms, duplex or suites, wifi and towels are included.
It is something usual everywhere on the French Riviera. There is nothing to be surprised with.
I though in the US, you have to pay in supplement for everything too. I’ve been to NYC and I‘ve made my own experience there.
We have 50 rooms and we rent our bedrooms every day, and we never had such violent comment. It is why I have taken some time to answer you.
We have the deadline to close the hotel end 2013 to remodel our entire establishment. We hope to surprise our clients. We hope that you‘ll be lovely surprise too.
Best regards.
Sandrine.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    45
    19
    20
See reviews for
32
81
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Rather anonymous tourist hotel directly next to the Boulevard d'Alsace, Cannes' major thoroughfare (the situation can be well seen by entering the hotel's address on google maps streetview).

Rooms are well insulated against street noise, but less well against neighbouring rooms. OK standard hotel rooms with efficient AC and comfortable beds, with the exception of rooms on the top floor with very low ceiling. Hotel is decorated in a kitschy medieval style including knight's armours in the staircase, takes some getting used to. Nice swimming pool in the garden, however with some noise from the street. Breakfast buffet leaves little to be desired, some fresh vegetables would be nice. Many guests from Netherlands/northern Europe and on package vacation.

10 mins by foot to the Croisette, very close to train station. Private Rado beach at Croisette costs 10 EUR/person/day for hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is well-appointed, walking distance to the promenade. It's kept in an old-fashioned style. First of all we were misled by the list of amenities listed in their international website, like a gym etc. There is none. There is a lovely outdoor swimming pool though.
We got an attic room which was quite beautiful but so tiny. We had a balcony, unfortunately the view wasn't the greatest.
The service at the reception really varied. A very helpful man, however an older woman was cold and unhelpful.
Breakfast was OK, nothing too special.
A nice, well-kept hotel that can be a good place for a city-break, not a longer vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NordicSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having recently stayed at this hotel and having read the reviews on trip advisor I wish to add my own personal views. Firstly I will admit requesting a different room as was unhappy with our initial allocation, as our trip was booked through a Tour Operator we had no choice of room on booking. The hotel managed to allocate an alternative room which we were much happier with. It would appear that most of the rooms are all very small, we did find our room was kept beautifully clean and it was very comfortable. I would recommend that if your budget allows request a room upgrade. The staff were all very polite and helpful and the building itself is a beautiful old mansion house with a nice ambience. The pool area is beautiful and also the Hotel cat 'Mimi' would often be found sunbathing in this area! The breakfast was quite sufficient for continental standards and the location was not too bad, a 10 to 15 minute walk to the centre (perhaps not so ideal for the less able). All in all we would def stay here again and it def had a 'homely' feel due to size and friendly staff.

Room Tip: recommend upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jquarterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at Golden Tulip for 5 nights part of a package, room only ok no view (just a wall). There were better rooms but got the impression that the package guests got worst rooms. Breakfast was poor even for continental standards, the area has an abundor ance of beautiful fresh fruit and yet the only fruit on offer at breakfast was tinned fruit cocktail!!!. There appeared to be wider choice for other parties of guests. Pool area and garden lovely though as hotel right next to busy road expect some noise. Breakfast staff very friendly, middle aged lady on reception was less so. The Cannes area is lovely and Monaco, Monte Carlo Antibes etc all easily accesible by train at a very reasonable cost,

Room Tip: for view ask for pool view but need to close window at night (air con on) as traffic noise goes on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Petite and sweet, but average service, and a terrible terrible wonky bed. Also, be prepared to pay ridiculous amounts for parking. The pool is lovely and there are loungers for guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The bedroom was good but the breakfast was not the buffet at all if i was to go there again im never gona book this hotel . breakfast service was not good as well ,as they provide us cold boild eggs from last night. As we requested for the sea view and there was no see to view at all...

Room Tip: Plz if u r looking for the good location and sea view as well dont go for this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizwi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#24 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#19 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olivier
Hotel Olivier
#53 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris

Property: Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris
Address: 34, boulevard d'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star Mediterranean-style Hotel located 7 minutes walk away from la Croisette Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Cannes Hotel De Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Cannes
Cannes Golden Tulip
Tulip Paris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing