We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pruly(Cannes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ligure Hotel(Cannes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Appia Hotel(Cannes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Brimer(Cannes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
69
75
51
20
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
75
51
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan outdoor swimming poolduplex roomtrain stationminute walkrecommend this hotel to anyonetop floorcomfortable bedsfree wificonvenient locationcroissantsthe main shopping streetcroisetteprivacybalconies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 238 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I booked a room at this hotel for three nights in September through 'Late Rooms' although, in fact, the booking was made some weeks in advance. When we turned up to book in we were told that they didn't have a room for us and when we protested the receptionist told us that a party of guests had turned up unexpectedly and added she thought they had sent us an email. We were then told they had booked us in at their 'sister, hotel 5 minutes walk down the road and it was a four star establishment and offering the same facilities. The hotel we were redirected to was The Cannes Riviera and in fact was a Best Western Hotel. When checking us in at first the receptionist began taking our details as though had no booking and quoted us a higher room rate but we showed him our booking form and after scrabbling with some bits of paper he noted that we had been 'bumped' by The Hotel de Paris. We were not enthralled with our replacement and asked if, since we had been moved we would be given breakfast and he agreed it was included. We also asked him how the two hotels could be 'sister' establishments and were informed the hotel connection were brothers one of whom owned The Cannes Riviera and the other being the manager of The Hotel de Paris.

When choosing our hotel we had ruled out The Cannes Riviera as not been somewhere we would wish to stay and certainly not for three nights because it had few facilities and clearly was suited to overnight coach trippers. We went to bed early but were woken around 10pm by a 'phone call from reception stating that a package had been delivered for us but we said we didn't feel inclined to go down then and there. In fact we forgot all about it until it was left in our room on the last day. It turned out to be a 1/2 bottle of wine as a gesture of regret from The Hotel de Paris. We considered it pretty inadequate having been in this soul less hotel for three days and left it unopened

When we arrived home in UK there was an email from The Hotel de paris awaiting us telling us they had no room for us but we had not received it because by that time were already in Cannes staying a couple of nights with friends. We protested by letter to the head office of The Hotel de Paris in Swizerland but received no reply. We also emailed Late Rooms with our complaint and found them helpful and receptivet. They explained that it is a practice in the hotel world to overbook but we thought it a bit much in our case as they had accepted our booking well in advance of that by the group that took the place over. Late Rooms tried to get The Hotel to compensate us in some way and they offered us a room at a discounted but unspecified rate. We pointed out that we had been staying Cannes on business and had no plans to return and that we certainly would not spend an air fare just to visit their hotel. Late Rooms then suggested to them they could perhaps refund our breakfast bill at The Riviera which we had been required to pay in spite of the assurances of the receptionist that breakfast was inclusive.

The suggestion of Late Rooms was declined by the hotel and then Late Rooms themselves said they would reimburse us the cost of breakfast since we had been so disgusted by the whole experience. We had already used Late Rooms for hotel bookings and will continue to do so. They were in no way responsible for what happened and under no obligation to us in this respect but made us this offer as a gesture of goodwill which we have been happy to accept.

The Hotel de Paris is part of The Golden Tulip Group and although we had stayed in their hotel in Jaipur earlier in the year we will not be using their facilities anywhere again. In writing this review we have been asked to rate this hotel in order to submit it but having had no experience of a stay in the hotel the rating given is irrelevant as we are in no position to comment on the service provided

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Baba4831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine L, Owner at Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

I would like to draw all your attention to this following:

I am the owner of the Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris In Cannes and as this is the fist time that this kind of situation has arisen at our hotel, I need to give the true version of the event.
Firstly we do apologize for any inconvenience to Mr & Mrs G.... but as I will explain , this matter was out of our control.
A reservation was made by Mrs and Mr G... , through the internet site “Late Room” for a 3 nights stay from 15thSeptember to September 18th 2011.
The booking was for a standard double room without breakfast and without city tax.Prices and taxes and conditions of sale are clearly stated upon reservation.
Mr & Mrs G... had chosen the Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris because we are a charming “boutique hotel” located in centre of Cannes and we have all the facilities that a client could wish from a 4 star establishment. We have recently renovated most of the hotel with modern style materials. There is also an astonishing” Garden of Eden” with all Mediterranean ambiance and a swimming- pool in natural granite.
Unfortunately, due to an error in the reservation system, we were unable to accommodate the Gs’ and we had to relocate them in the hotel Cannes Riviera, two minutes walking distance from us, on the same road. We had organized this in advance, in order to avoid any disagreement.
The Cannes Riviera hotel is our sister hotel, or should I say “brother” hotel, as both the Golden Tulip Hôtel de Paris and the Best Western Cannes Riviera belong to Lazzari brothers. As they have the same level of service and quality and are located close to each other, we were confident of the clients’ well-being.
Moreover, I want to say that we do not practice the overbooking at the Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris. This is extremely inconvenient for the client and the hotel but in this case, it was out of our control and we do regret it.
In every situation, we always do everything possible to make a client’s stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. In this instance, as a compensation for having to have been moved, our personal assistant went personally to the Cannes Riviera, to give a bottle of French wine and a gift from the famous Fragonard Industry of Grasse, to the Gs’.
I personally regret that Mr & Mrs G... were unhappy, as all our staff did their best, to make it easy for them.
Finally, I want to say that, as Mr & Mrs G... did not actually stay at our Golden Tulip Hotel de Paris, they were not in a position to judge our hotel. I believe that it is most important, for us that everyone is to be honest.

Sandrine Lazzari
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed here for the second time during the MIP conference and won't be staying here again! Although the staff are lovely and helpful, the hotel itself is 'tired' and a bit tatty and the room was dark and uninviting. i had a 'duplex room' which sounds very posh but in fact was a dark, stuffy, claustrophobic room with a tiny bathroom and the bed up a spiral staircase on a mezzanine level where you couldn't even stand up properly! horrible bed and pillows and there were crumbs on the pillow and someone's old bus ticket on the bed when I arrived which was really off putting. The safe didn't work there was no mini bar and generally I spent as little time as possible in the hotel as it was so depressing. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the duplex room - it's not worth the money and is horrible
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Went only for one night, very nice hotel, breakfast was great, the stuff were friendly, close to the beach and the shops. Loved it and will go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank LondonZena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights on a Late room deal (4wks) Great location only 10mins to the croissette and 5 from station. It is situated by a very busy highway, however this didn't bother us. We nearly didn't book the hotel due to some of the reviews with regards to the noise, however, we were glad that we did as we didn't hear a thing and we were situated around the side of the hotel, still very close by to the highway. Our room wasn't huge and was not of the best standard, however, it wasn't unpleasant either. I'm sure there are other more lovely rooms (ie overlooking the pool area) and maybe it was because we were on a late room deal and choose no breakfast that we were stuck away in the corner! however again it didn't really bother us. There is a great cafe across the highway that we went to most mornings for breakfast and lunch. We had one snack at the hotel and the food was lovely. We did however, feel that 15euros each for breakfast was very highly priced!!! Staff were very accomodating with very pleasant professional manners and I liked the compliment snacks when you ordered juice/drinks throughout the day ie nuts/crisps....thought this was a nice touch. We normally had a coffee in our room at night which the night porter was very accommodating with. Pool area is beautiful with lots of nice shaded seated areas tucked away in surrounding trees if needed. We had a fabulous relaxing holiday which was our main holiday aim.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetiejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and would recommend it to anyone coming to Cannes. Very close to the Croisette - 5 mins walk. Only a few minutes' walk to the train station. Very peaceful garden and pool area, good variety of buffet breakfast and attentive staff. Only downside is no kettle or tea making facility in room. Would come back though.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews