We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid until completely refurbished! This is a very badly run 2-3 star hotel at present.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at this property some years ago and enjoyed it. However my trip in July 2013 was very disappointing. The hotel is now very badly in need of refurbishment and the condition of many of the rooms is quite frankly disgraceful for a supposed 4-star hotel. Also, there is a huge building site next door which will continue for the next year or so.

My 200€/night sea-view 'superior' room had wallpaper peeling off the walls, a threadbare and dirty carpet, scratched and chipped furniture with almost no storage and a tiny bathroom featuring a cracked sink and dirty tiling. As I had paid in advance for 6 nights, I was stuck with the hotel so I asked to see some alternative rooms. I saw two other rooms and they were more or less of the same poor standard. Eventually I chose to upgrade to an Executive room at a (reduced) additional charge of 30€/night. The hotel management and staff were mostly useless, unbelievably rude and arrogant which is an almost comical combination.

Other negative points are : poor WiFi (albeit free) a frankly ridiculous charge of €9 per poolside sunbed in July/August. The 'Spa'/Gym is a joke with tiny towels, broken showers and no drinking water (unless you pay €4.20 for a small bottle!).

On the plus side, the Executive rooms are very nice and I quite like the location especially when the next-door building site is finished in 2014. Additionally, the underground parking is free (very unusual) as is the Shuttle service into town.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room as the standard rooms are tiny. Also ask for one of the very few recently refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we appoligize that we weren’t able to meet your expectations as during your last visit at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury.

Your statements about the decoration and furnishing style were taken into account and we will use these comments for our future renovation program of our hotel. I’m pleased to learn that you liked the upgraded room we proposed you. We also offer Family rooms ,equipped with a sofa-bed, which are bigger than our standard and superior rooms.

For information, the construction works next to the hotel will be finished by the end of the year 2013. It consists of 7 tennis courts, a swimming pool with retractable roof surrounded by grass and 6000 m2 of exotic plants.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. To learn that this was not the case, is very dissapointing. Be assured that we addressed the rudeness and arrogancy issue to our reception staff and manager.

We offer free WIFI in all the rooms and the public areas of our hotel. The acces to the pool and the garden area is free of charge. Our guests are not obliged to use a sunbed. Otherwise, we charge 9€ per sunbed for a whole day, and 5 € for half a day, like all the hotels in Cannes.

Towels for the pool and the beach are complimentary during the summer as well as the towels for the SPA throughout the year. A free water fountain is at your disposal at the Fitness next to the SPA. We also offer you two bottles of mineral water in your min-bar at your arrival.

We are the only hotel in Cannes who propose our guests a free underground parking lot, and i am thrilled to read that you appreciated this service as well as our free shuttle service.

We highly appreciate your constructive comments. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Looking forward to welcome you again as a client of Novotel,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 806 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked last minute break through BA holidays and arrived on 31st July for 7 nights. Knew the hotel had a pool but due to past experience at other Novotel hotels didn't expect too much - so very happily surprised to find that this hotel is a real gem. Located about fifteen minute downhill walk from La Croisette and the sea, our rooms were well furnished with a balcony overlooking the pool area (think it was called a garden view), excellent pool with tons of sunbeds - probably because they cost 9 euros per day per bed which is excessive but did mean that we could stroll down whenever we wanted and be sure of three beds together. We dined in the restaurant twice and found the food to be great quality. The gym is a bit basic but has two running machines, two cycles and assorted other equipment. There is also a steam room and sauna and massage available. WIFI is free throughout the hotel but is dodgy away from reception area and keeps loosing connection. There is also a free shuttle to and from the town centre which we used frequently and was very useful. Should mention the building work taking place next to the hotel which generated a lot of noise but we hardly noticed it after a while. Would definitely go again and would look forward to doing so!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

First of all, we appreciate the time you took to relate your stay with us at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury.

It was a real pleasure to read your impressions about the location, our hotel and its facilities we provide. Your comments are really important to us.

I confirm that the acces to the pool is free as well as the garden area around it. We charge the sunbeds like all the hotels in Cannes. The rates for sunbeds are 9€ for a day and 5 € for half a day.

Concerning free WIFI : be sure that we passed this comment to our technical service to avoid this matter in the future. The connection should work throughout the whole hotel without the loss of connection.

For information : the construction works next to our hotel are finished by the end of the year 2013.

We are delighted that the Novotel Cannes Montfleury lived up to your expectations and hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

LOCATION / HOW TO GET THERE
It’s a little outside centrum, but Cannes is quite small, so only 15-20 minutes’ walk to the main eria. If you use a TomTom, it’s quite incorrect, so take care.. Easier to find the Montfleury eria.

ROOMS
We are a family of 4, kids 14+15 yo. Stayed 5 nights. Rooms OK, standard Novotel, acceptable with the sofa made as a bed for 2 kids. They did complain of the sleep quality though..
Clean, lots of towels etc. as you can respect from Novotel.

FACILITIES:
OK pool, not very large, but very deep. So if you bring small children (under 12), they will not be able to stand anywhere in the pool, expect the stairs.
The kids pool’s a joke. And also to pay Euro 9.00 for a sun bed as a guest, even if this is Cannes..! (If half a day you pay 5.00) Towels are free (if Accor member, as I am?). Nice café at the pool, also a wery good restaurant for lunch. (Menu as other Novotel in this part of France).
The standard Novotel PC/X-Box in reception for the young ones. Free underground parking.
Free MiniBus to centre.

SERVICE:
Welcoming. Understaffed during breakfast, but got a lot better when the more effective restaurant manager came back to work! (Fun to see how much this business is all about people!)
Lots of new staff, lost a lot of plates, glasses etc. in the floor all the time. Quite amusing.
And also quite cute; when I asked a young new waiter for more coffee cups at the coffee-machine, since the tray was empty, he came back a couple of minutes later with one (1) cup,
instead of a tray with cups. I’ve sat down in the meantime, another guest have of course taken the cup. When I asked again, he came back with (still) 1 cup..!

SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENTS:
At breakfast, there was not one single vegetable, like tomatoes, cucumber etc., which is nice to have. (Novotel Monte Carlo had a lot, stayed there a week later).

TIPS:
If you want to take the complimentary mini-bus to downtown Cannes, it’s smart to book a time early in the day, could be fully booked at your preferred time in the evening.
Save your money for a sun-chair. The lawn just outside the pool is free of charge and more comfortable!

CONCLUSION:
OK, but not as nice as other Novotels I’ve stayed in. A good choice if with (young) children.

Room Tip: If you have a room with "mountain view", ask for a high floor. (Not mutch view there eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to relate your stay at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury and I hope you enjoyed your visit in Cannes.

We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

Concerning location, Novotel Cannes Montfleury is the only hotel proposing a free parking in Cannes and we are at only 10 minutes by walk from the city center and its beaches. Moreover, we have a free shuttle that brings our guest to “La Croisette” in less then 6 minutes.

I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities within our hotel. Our outdoor swimming pool and kids pool are free, as well as the garden area. We charge sunbeds during July and August, like all the other hotels providing sunbeds in Cannes. Family facilities includes babysitting/child services on request, a children’s play area (video games, library,..) and balanced menus. Also good to know is that children under the age of 16, who were mentioned at reservation, are accommodated for free and their buffet breakfasts taken with their parents or grandparents are free as well.

We have passed on the remarks to our restaurant manager concerning service in order to strengthen their team training, and the large choice that we can consider to extend with vegetables. Our american buffet consists of a various amount of hot drinks, orange juices, different sorts of breads, pastries :brioches, croissants and ‘pains au chocolat’ freshly baked every morning at the hotel, fruits, sausages, bacon, eggs, waffles, and so on. And this all you can eat.

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion and we hope to welcome you soon again for your next visit in Cannes!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and as time went on it became apparent management needs to deal with the many inadequecies of this hotel. On the plus side the location is good and the free shuttle to town is a definite plus. The free parking and free wifi are also beneficial. The wifi is "iffy" at best and cuts out frequently. The "dining room" and I say that loosely is a large room with no decor or ambience and most unappealing. It's a shame because after a long day it would be nice to have a dining room you would want to be in. The outside space is very attractive but the hot weather makes eating outside not possible all the time .The staff works hard and when asked about the poor dining space or any othe problem they all respond "I know" as if they have heard it before but they are not in a position to rectify anything. Our key to our room needed to be reprogrammed on a daily basis, the bathtub is very unsafe- slippery without anything to make it more secure, the pool charge is 9 euro a day to sit at the pooling a lounge chair but if you want to swim and not sit its free, there is no elevator to the pool so one must walk down a large flight of marble steps and my husband fell going down. The manager means well but seems impotent to make any changes. Also be cautioned they allow dogs to stay here and I felt like I was in a vets office at breakfast where hotel guests fed their dogs from the buffet. Go someplace else if you have a choice.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for answering our questionnaire. I appreciate the time you took to share the difficulties you encountered during your stay.

Although i’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our free shuttle service, undeground parking lot and WIFI, i’m dissapointed to learn that there were several aspects that influenced your stay negatively.

We have taken your comments concerning the restaurant decoration/style and its service into account. We are striving to improve and offer our guests a more efficient service in busy times like these.
We transferred your remarks about the room to the housekeeping and our technical service. One of the most common reasons of room key-cards who stop fonctionating, is when you hold it next to an electronic device like a cell phone, it will demagnetise.

The pool is free of charge as well as the garden area around it. Our guests are not obliged to take sunbeds. If so, we charge 9 € for the day and 5 € for half a day. Please ask reception for assistance to bring you down to level -1 with the elevator for acces to the pool and restaurant.

Rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation.

We do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank TGr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is just terrible. Staff (just women) at the reception are very arrogant..it seems like they do not care if the guest feel satisfied or not. The guest must do all kind of reservations..from the sunbed to the shuttle, the sunbed you must pay 9 Eur (that should be written somewhere before you book hotel). Elevator didn't work. The hotel is located in the hill, in the night is not nice walking there. The room is the only thing that is ok, but the corridors are horrible. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel..this is low 3 star hotel and is not worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyOS2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We value the opinions of our customers and we truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Most of our staff has been working with us for a long time. We keep regular and happy co-workers who are professional and willing to always do their best. We have however hired several trainees and new co-workers due to the level of occupancy. Even though all information might take time to be gathered to everyone, we acknowledge these weaknesses, but learning and training takes time if one wants to do it properly.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the arrogance issue, and spoken with the reception staff in question.

We recommend our guests to make reservations for the shuttle and sunbeds in advance to avoid disappointment. The access to the pool and the garden area are free of charge. The guests are not obliged to book a sunbed. Concerning rates for sunbeds, we charge 9 € per day (8 a.m until 7 p.m) or 5 € for half a day during July and August, like all the hotels in Cannes.

Due to a technical issue, the elevator did not work properly. From the moment we report this, a technical service (24/24) is on the way to fix this matter.

Concerning location, Novotel Cannes Montfleury is the only hotel proposing a free parking in Cannes and we are at only 10 minutes by walk from the beach. Moreover, we have a free shuttle that brings our guest to La Croisette in less than 6 minutes.

Your statement about the decoration and style of the corridors was taken into account and will be incorporated into the next investment program for the renovation of the hotel.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

I hope that you will give us a second chance to show our willing to satisfy you.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Each year in June we stay at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury - some years we return again in September. Always for 4 - 6 night stay. We feel this is a "little gem"!! Superb location in a quiet resudential area of Cannes and yet within a short walk or taxi ride to the lively Port and main hotel area of Cannes. Staff are friendly - lovely pool and breakfast.
We look forward already to our 11th visit!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanKarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, Directeur général at Novotel Cannes Montfleury, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Novotel Cannes Montfleury and I’m thrilled to read that it was a success.

I confirm that we are located at only 10 min by walk from the beach and our free shuttle service will bring you in less than 6 minutes to the Palais des Festivals. Also, a free underground parking lot is at your disposal.

All your kind comments with regards to our staff are highly appreciated and I gladly transfer them to our team.

We are looking forward to accommodate you for your 11th visit and many more to come!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel & Spa
Eden Hotel & Spa
#30 of 126 in Cannes
875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#27 of 126 in Cannes
333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cannes Montfleury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cannes Montfleury

Address: 25 avenue Beausejour, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $83 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cannes Montfleury 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional juxtaposed with the modern ! In the heart of this legendary town, located in a peaceful park just ten minutes on foot from the Croisette and close to the town centre and the beaches, you will find the Novotel Cannes Montfleury. A four star hotel which offers you a harmonious interior decor and a warm welcome.Discover the calm atmosphere of our 182 bedrooms. Remove the stress of worrying about organising your professional business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Cannes Montfleury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cannes Montfleury Hotel Cannes
Accor Cannes Montfleury
Cannes Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing