We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attitude is a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Charq

Al Charq
Reserve with
Al Charq is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #186 of 800 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Attitude is a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Clearly we all have moods and rating based on attitude is volatile. However bad service with nothing which can balance it for a higher mark, simply results in a poor score.

We ordered twice a set inclusive of the meat, plus a kids menu. We also ordered mint tea. My tea glass had a lot of red lipstick on which shows the level of hygiene of the place. It then took them 10 minutes and a few reminders to bring a new glass.

They never served the kids menu... Our son ate bread and stuff from us. They also never served the meat. For both however they wanted to charge us and they were very surprised that we did not agree. It also took four reminders until we were finally allowed to pay. The boss would not take a complaint but would simply walk off.

Well the food, was ok. We love Lebanese and had a lot of it in the ME, Europe and Asia. What they serve is ok, portions large. It's the way it's served that's simply an absolute no go. My advise, use their take out also have a look at their sweet selection which is truly a sight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    114
    45
    31
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a lebanese, I can tell that the cook is not lebanese and this restaurant is way too expensive. I don't recommend this restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ripped off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We visited this restaurant on our last night at the recommendation of the villa we stayed at - 4 of us. It was around 9pm when we got to the restaurant after we had a few drinks. We asked the owner Aldo for a traditional Lebanese mezze plate. We had to pay 216Euros for basic food and a bottle of wine. They charged us for a royal mezze 45 Euros each instead of 25 Euros. The owner and his staff took advantage of us as we were tourists. Do not got o this overpriced Lebanese restaurant. The food and service was just ordinary. Better Labenese on Rue d'Antibes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food at Al Charq was solid - not out of this world, but very good. The review among my family members was mixed - I liked the food a lot - but the rest of my family found it to be just average. Service left something to be desired. Value was average - when you consider that you are barely 1 block away from the beach and Cannes is a high-end destination. You can probably do well by purchasing from the take-away option.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BK-1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
378 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awful now; one to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Going to Al Charq after a couple of years came as quite a shock. From the experience, it would seem that not only does it have new management, it probably has a completely new crew. The service at the restaurant was never good, and somehow the standards have fallen further. The food, which at least used to be quite good, is now horrible. They clearly did not serve us any fresh food, just some warmed-over frozen food, which was very rubbery and tasteless. If you really need Lebanese food, just walk over to the nearest supermarket and see what they have. Also, be sure to check your bill, because - as others here have noted - they are not above billing you for stuff you didn't have, especially if you are there for dinner and it looks like you are on a date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Charq also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Al Charq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing