We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All bling and very mediocre”
Review of IX-Nove - CLOSED

IX-Nove
Price range: $26 - $69
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Near la Croisette in front of the sea (between the Hotel Martinez and the Carlton Hotel) opened a restaurant with a pleasant Italian character - IX Nove "nine".All rules of the genre - democratic, cozy, delicious. The modern interior, soft lighting, relaxing music and small candles on each table.Institution for all occasions - from dinner with his colleagues has a romantic date or family brunch.And in the culinary sense - main trend of modern gastronomy - a beneficial and healthy food ...Kitchen with a delicious Italian accent on the menu - a large selection of various specialties.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went here with 2 friends (both French) and we all agreed that it was one of the worst meals we had in a while (and thats hard to say in France). Tasted like industrial food. Big white plates with tiny, mediocre quality portions. The blingy atmosphere may fool some, but all that glitters is not gold...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GlenF870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ix-Nove C, General Manager at IX-Nove, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Glen,

We are very apologise that your visit with your friends was unpleasant. Really sorry for that.
Did you talk with manager? Please send us some more comments about unpleasant points. Your opinion very precious for us. Please let me know your visit time it was in Aug 2012 or end of March 2013? We change completely all staff form kitchen and dining room. Please send me to our mail nove.cannes@gmail.com or info@ix-nove.com in your next passage in Cannes we are ready to repair your impression.
My regards
IX-nove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

after reading many other reviews on this site, we went to ix-nove for a family meal on a recent trip to Cannes. we all ordered mains only (5 of us) and a mix of soft and alcholic drinks. i must agree with other contributers that the food was, freshly prepared, wide ranging and well cooked. The £280 bill we thought was slightly excessive but reasonable for a good restaurant in this part of cannes.
now i am unsure as to what the problem was with the staff. whether it was the lack of Gucci handbags and shoes in our party, or the fact that we had brought our grandson with us to their restaurant. Personally i believe it was a mix of the two. i just wish they had said that no tables were available rather than seating us and continually ignoring our requests. Our grandchild was not badly behaved. but we felt that from the glances of waiting staff that children should be anchored to the spot with gags on their mouths. On a plus side the staff seem to be very attentive to lap dogs belonging to some customers, goo gooing at them and on one occasion 3 staff were chasing an escaped one round the outside tables (while we were trying for 10mins to get somebody to get us another overpriced drink).
in the end, we gave the drink a miss, and asked a waiter for our bill. 10 mins later i just went up to the bar and insisted that they tell me how much it was costing me for the less than pleasant experience, so i could finish it and move on.
Sorry ix-nove but you have excellent food, menu and location mixed with customer service that made our party feel like an inconvenience to your staff. I would prefer to pay the same money for average food and good friendly service elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 500pete65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ate here five minutes ago, on our first night in Cannes. Very nice Italian food, seriously large a la carte menu (pastas, lots of meat AND fish options) and friendly service. Great pasta arrabiata, nice sole and gambas. Carpaccio was tasty but a little bit too thick. 126€ for two people, 3 courses a la carte + wine. In general: an enjoyable experience, definately worth recommending!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SebastianRbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ix-Nove C, Owner at IX-Nove, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Sebastian,
We are grateful to you for good rating and positive feedback about our restaurant. We are glad to see you in your next visit to Cannes.

Nove Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

we went to diner with 2 friends to this restaurant.
its place quite next to the croisette, good location, the decor is nice and waitress gentle.
anyway this not an expectional restaurant, just 'normal' prices are a little expencive for the qualite of service and food.

personally its the second time i come to this restaurant, expecting much more from the 2dn visit as i learned that the made good italian food.... i will just say just normal italian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cash_pepito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ix-Nove C, Owner at IX-Nove, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Customer

We're a little surprised that your score was low for our best efforts and that you have been with us a second time.
With all due respect to your evaluation of it is very useful to know that it is in our kitchen you are not satisfied.
Your experience is very valuable for us that would correct there in future.

We will be glad to see you and get you to the comments directly.

Best regards and see you soon
IX Nove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent several days in Provence where we thought we'd have fresh local cuisine and spent several days and meals trying to find it. There was one night we had two dinners just becaase the first one was so disappointing, however the second meal wasn't that great either. Finally, after trying the top popular restaurants in the area that were recommended and quite frankly very lousy in terms of food and service, we found IX Nove. We spent about 2 hours during the afternoon looking for a place to make a reservation by visiting the restaurants. On our last night, IX Nove was the light at an otherwise disappointing culinary experience. The service was excellent, the food was exactly what I expected when I booked this trip (amazing). I'd recommend the grilled octopus and the foie gras over beef. The atmosphere is okay, but once you have your meal, you forget that you are off a busy street with not much of a view. Not only was the food great but also the meal was very reasonable considering the area.

This is my first time I've reviewed a restaurant because I felt so strongly that people visiting the area should not waste their time at overpriced, disappointing hotel restaurants with terrible service. Please go to IX Nove, you will not be disappointed. Also, speak with the manager, he was delightful!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Niamh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ix-Nove C, Owner at IX-Nove, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Niamh,
We appreciate your complete and very exact comment, particularly we are pleased that the guests from the big cities as NY, where is a thousands of restaurants, have positive view of our new restaurant.
Your opinion is very important to us to understand that we are moving in the right direction.
We are waiting for you in your next visit and hope that you like more as in your first time
with best wishes,
Nove Cannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IX-Nove also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing