We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow outstanding food for a good price!”

La brouette de Grand-Mere
Ranked #6 of 800 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: French, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Utrecht
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow outstanding food for a good price!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We got excellent food and service for a reasonable price! A must see when you go to Cannes and want to eat well. The owners are nice people and the service is excellent. We enjoyed very minute!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InKnowvator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    188
    34
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully simple delicious French food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My partner and I were staying just around the corner from La Brouette when we were in Cannes for the advertising festival. What a local gem, right on our doorstep.

A foodie friend of ours told us later that there are hundreds of restaurants in Cannes, but only a handful that cook with fresh, locally sourced produce and La Brouette in one of them.

There is a set menu every night; you just turn up, sit down, choose a main course and sit back as the gorgeous French fare rolls out.

An entire pot of the most delicious terrine turned up. It was the chunkier kind which is my favorite. We spread that on some fresh bread and devoured it with a lovely local white wine. To know that the terrine was made on a farm just outside the city made it taste just that much better.

We both opted for the fish which was handled so delicately. The cooking style is very hands off; just the lightest and fewest ingredients to bring out the flavor of the fish were used. Everything tasted so fresh, I'm sure that fish had a to-do list that morning before ending up in a net.

There was also a fish carpaccio served in the midst of all this, and again, a delicious and subtle flavor, but totally different to the main course.

And no meal is complete without pairings. We had a wine for each course and for the carpaccio, they served a shot of vodka. When in Cannes...

I have no idea how they make it work for the prices either, it was amazingly inexpensive.

The young couple who own the place are a delight; really committed to carrying on the tradition of the restaurant that's been there in Cannes for decades. They also helped us out a few days later when we couldn't find a taxi and helped us get to the airport on time.

If you want to try some real French food and get away from the ritz and glamor of the high street in Cannes, La Brouette is a wonderful oasis in what was a chaotic week of business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbears90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent staff.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our recent visit with our son, his wife and 7 year old daughter was a great success. The very fresh tasting terrine and marinated salmon were excellent as usual. Main courses of kidneys, quails, loin of pork with a mustard sauce all served with gratin dauphinois were full of flavour. Desserts enjoyed were chocolate mousse, a lemon meringue tart, and a caramel pannacotta - all delicious. With a half bottle of wine per adult, the welcoming "fizzy", the glass of vodka and soft drinks for the child it was such good value. The staff were attentive, efficient and delightful in the fuss they made of the 7 year old. Good location on a warm summer night, delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelr06400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great find in Cannes”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently ate here during a stay in Cannes. Its a lovely restaurant just of the Rue D'Antibes, Having visited france most of my life over 30 years, I was looking for a good french restaurant, good food, atmosphere, wine, and a normal price! this is great, they have a set menu, and you are best to sit back and let them bring you the dishes! we started with a glass of sparkling wine and olives which were very good, then a huge dish of homemade pate arrived, i was in heaven!! with a platter of cold meats, copious amounts of bread as well! then a palate cleanser, then our main courses arrived, both cooked beautifully, steak, along with a whole bottle of rose wine, dessert choice was very good, panacotta and strawberries, it was probably the cheapest dinner we had during our stay, excellent value for money, and you can sit on the pavement watching the world go by! it was very busy when we were there so i would advise reserving a table if you go, its a great restaurant for Cannes and a great alternative to a lot of the very overpriced establishments that are available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A different way of doing things”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although I didn't choose well when ordering my meal the other three of our foursome had a great meal. I really wanted veal escalopes but got veal stew which tasted good but was a disappointment. We really liked the way the meal was served and presented which included champagne, drinks and amuse bouches. The staff were really good and the meal was reasonably priced. We will go back if we are in Cannes in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La brouette de Grand-Mere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La brouette de Grand-Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing