We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different way of doing things”

La brouette de Grand-Mere
Ranked #6 of 833 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $54
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A different way of doing things”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although I didn't choose well when ordering my meal the other three of our foursome had a great meal. I really wanted veal escalopes but got veal stew which tasted good but was a disappointment. We really liked the way the meal was served and presented which included champagne, drinks and amuse bouches. The staff were really good and the meal was reasonably priced. We will go back if we are in Cannes in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    200
    39
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Set Fair”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We dined on the set 38 euro menu and can endorse the earlier comments. Friendly welcome and excellent service coupled with fine food (superb duck). With welcome drink, vodka shot and wine included this represents great value. Chin chin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
“Great food, great staff, great price”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our company have been here every time we've visited Cannes for the film festival and it never disappoints. For €38 you get four courses plus a glass of champagne (or a low budget equivalent at least), a shot of vodka and a glass of wine. This is a bargain for most cities/countries, but for the overpriced Cannes it's incredible.

And it's not just cheap, the food is gorgeous (although you don't get a lot of choice) and the staff and owners are all incredibly friendly. We love it and will continue to visit whenever we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave_or_did
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amuse Bouche!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We happened to chance on this restaurant part through walking past and part through a recommendation of a diner sitting out front. We were not let down.

The food was fantastic - a fabulous set menu but with choice of mains and desserts. Very well cooked and with a few extra treats along the way.

The service matched the food quality. Very friendly and effortless. We asked for nothing.

The excellent food and service resulted along with comfortable surroundings meant a lovely ambience.

Fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Super value in a very expensive city”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tremendous French food in the heart of Cannes for just 38 Euro per person!!! There is no menu; you just have to trust the owner and he won't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La brouette de Grand-Mere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La brouette de Grand-Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing