We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent seafood in a busy informal place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coquillages Brun

Coquillages Brun
2, rue Louis Blanc, Cannes, France
04 93 39 21 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 768 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in a busy informal place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were here during the MIPTV. The place was bustling. Great plateaux de fruits de mer, with different Oysters, clams, praws, whelks and crab. Mostly raw and even sea urchins. Great experience. Prepared food is soso. Stiff prices, like most places here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JcmDoucet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    356
    62
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A seafood delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice busy restaurant set back from La Croisette. Good service, excellent seafood platter and a stunning spaghettini saumon to follow. Not too pricey

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We always buy our take out seafood here. Fresh oysters (many varieties too!), sea urchins when in season, crab, shrimp, clams ... We have absolutely no complaints about the quality of seafood.
The shuckers are always very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 55Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location and heavenly seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The seafood is sent from the gods. Giant crabs and langoustine. It is also a great place to people watch. The only let down were the waiters, who were typically French and slightly arrogant!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's about the seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have traveled to Cannes annually since 2000, and Coquillages Brun is a "must do." It's not about the setting - the restaurant itself is "no frills" - it's about the seafood. You won't care about the lack of decor.

The restaurant is on the corner of Rue Felix Faure and Rue Louis Blanc, and before it's brought into the kitchen, the seafood is prepared outside the restaurant along the Louis Blanc sidewalk. It's that fresh. There are plated menu selections, but the best is to order a variety of seafood that will be brought to you on a tiered stand. Everyone at your table picks off of those plates and it's wonderful. My favorite was actually the perriwinkles that were brought to us as an appetizer that I don't think we ordered and may have been complimentary. However they ended up on our table, they made me happy and writing about them makes me wish I was there. The scampi were wonderfully tastey and my husband got his ever favorite oysters. Whatever you order, you won't go wrong dining at Coquillages Brun. Service was prompt and efficient. People wait to get into this restaurant, so they don't waste time getting the food onto your table.

if you don't want to wait, go early to Coquillages Brun. My husband attends a convention that generates a lot restaurant traffic, and I think the conditions during this meeting would be similar to peak season tourism. We arrived at the restaurant early (around 19:00) and were able to be seated without waiting. The restaurant filled up quickly and by the time we left, there was a crowd outside that restaurant waiting to be seated... and I mean a crowd that wasn't easy to walk through. Neighboring restaurants had many empty tables, and that's how good Coquillages Brun is. People don't mind waiting, and we'll be going back (but early!).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank troggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquillages Brun also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Coquillages Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing