We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT FIND, JUST YARDS FROM THE FRONT”

Le Bistrot Gourmand
Ranked #33 of 833 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $48
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 2007 Guillaume ARRAGON and his team propose you an home made cooking of Mediterranean recipes.Every morning fresh products are selected on the stalls of the producers and commercçants of the "Marché Forville".We work products according to the seasons and avoid those of import so guaranteeing an optimal quality.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A GREAT FIND, JUST YARDS FROM THE FRONT”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes! Great value, superb presentation, efficient friendly service and a very tasty meal in a smart bistro!
Evidence that Cannes can get it right!
Don't hesitate - book and go!!
We shall certainly be back.
Tip: lunchtime menus are terrific value and the house wine the best we had in Cannes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    153
    41
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Terroirbly terrific (sorry!)”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This classic bistro serving authentic local cuisine is nestled in the street that runs from the Croisette past the wonderful covered market from where it buys its ingredients daily and adjusts its menus to include the produce of the season.

You can dine inside or on the pavement outside, our preference on a sunny day. The welcome and service are excellent and the menus should suit all comers who want a quick business lunch through a higher level cuisine bourgeois offering. The choices on the €20 are exceptional. We sated with a kir and a free offering of superior tapenard then enjoyed quite wonderful Beignet of courgette flows stuffed with ricotta and a delicious and well present tartare of mackerel. This was followed by a flavoursome marmite de poisson for my wife and a perfectly cooked entrecôte with pomme allumette. For dessert we both had a peach salade topped with a subtle granita of vervain. It was all washed down by a balanced and inexpensive local rose from the very reasonable and varied list. Shop in the market for the best and freshest local foods and the enjoy lunch at the bistro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woollybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best . . . when in Cannes, do not miss!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food and service here is excellent, top notch French. This was our 3rd time here and this time we were with 4 friends, so we took a outside table under the awning for 6. Placed our orders, poured the first glass of wine and as the entree arrived, the skies opened. It poured. 'Faster than a speeding bullet' (yes, I know) the staff was moving us (and others) inside where they started us over with fresh beignets and really delicious plats. . . . These folks are pro's in the kitchen as well as in the dining room - they really care about the quality of their food, as well as the pleasure of their guests. At 20 Euros, the menu is incredible! Everyone seemed to be enjoying the food and the atmosphere. Do not miss Le Bistrot Gourmand when in Cannes - and go a bit early to first enjoy the scene at Marche Forville (just around the corner) if you are a visitor to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Owner-KonaKai-Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

One word-great! We are not that easily wooed in restaurants partly due to my partner being a chef but this was a great meal & have booked again for my parents tonight. We had the foie gras & ravioli followed by steak tartar & fillet steak then to finish the cheese & fondant. Enjoy....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was looking for a really nice restaurant as we were staying in Cannes and it was my wifes birthday. I came across this restaurant in the hotel recommendations where we were staying. I went to check it out and it looked classy and the menu comprehensive so made a booking with thefriendly staff. It was a great night my wife said one of the best meals of our holiday, everything straight from the kitchen and I even tried steak tartare for the first time and really enjoyed it. A sparkler was added to my wifes strawberry desert to top off a great night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Gourmand also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing