We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great evening”

Le Salon des Independants
Ranked #3 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional restaurant with single menu all included! And yes! Wine also (half a bottle of wine per person) A home made terrine appetizer with a seasonal salad and sausages followed by an appetizer and shot of vodka! and main course to choose between a fish and 4 or 5 meat and finally dessert choices. without forgetting a musical performance every night!
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly great evening”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We went on an impromptu visit to this restaurant. We were shown our table, sat down, we're immediately served prosecco and a starter, and then offered our choices for the meal! It was a surprising start, but the food was excellent, and the wine (choose your colour!) was fantastic. Deserts are to die for... Whilst listening to the live music which begins towards the end of the meal. You may think this sounds a bit strange, but the food, wine, service and atmosphere of this restaurant made for a fantastic evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evilbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    158
    48
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in Cannes”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Friends found this place on trip advisor so the 4 if us went there back in May. What a gem. Superb food, great service, great atmosphere. Do not be put off by the mention of a set menu, it's more about a set price. You may have difficulty deciding as the choices are delicious. Wish we had been able to go back again. It might be worth booking a table as it was pretty packed when we went and seems popular with locals and visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It made my day!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a worth to visit! The food was very nice and additionally we got a fantastic concert! The atmosphere was so nice! One of the best restaurant in Cannes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than the Michelin Star meal i had the next day”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was the most memorable meal I've ever had. 5 amazing courses plus wine, apertif, and digestive for 45 euros per person!!!

It is a true hidden gem and cannot be missed. The location is very hidden- you have to walk up the hill in the Old Town of Cannes, past the tower, and turn onto a winding, dead end street. Keep walking, you will be rewarded...

The food was incredible and very authentic provencal. There was a set menu, and they began bringing us a starter course of charcuterie, baguette, terrine, and an apertif the moment we sat down. We ordered a bottle of wine which was included in the 45 euro prix fixe. A salad came next, and then my favorite-- the truffle ravioli...OMG. A ravioli stuffed with cheese and truffle, topped with whole truffle slices, and more truffles ground up in a delicious white sauce. Amazing. Before the main course, they brought us a shot of vodka as a digestive. Although the menu was fixed, there were quite a few choices for the main plat, all of which sounded incredible. I had the quail and my boyfriend had the leg of lamb. They were both superb. For dessert we had crepes suzette and profiteroles.

And just when we were obsessing with the food, thinking it could not get any better, the owner and his three piece band comes out and starts playing for us! There were only four tables occupied in this small restaurant, but they did such a good job entertaining they had everyone singing along, clapping, and dancing in their chairs. It was the most fun i've ever had at dinner. We had a chance to speak with the band after, and the owner shook our hands when we eventually left (relluctantly)-- this is truly an authentic, family owned, genuinely friendly place.

Dont get me wrong-- the Michelin Star restaurant was superb. But looking back on my trip, I find myself craving the food from Le Salon the most.This is not to be missed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Provencal Dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came here on our last evening after a 3 week holiday in the South of France since we wanted to be sure that we would have a perfect good-bye dinner, and we weren't disappointed!

Food was amazing, the fixed menu still had many options for the main course, and it was difficult to choose, as they all sounded delicious. Wine was great and especially, the staff was charming and very friendly. The music created a great party atmosphere, so we left the place even more pumped than we entered it! Absolutely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salon des Independants also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Salon des Independants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing