We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice location for a quick lunch”
Review of La Fregate

La Fregate
Ranked #527 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice location for a quick lunch”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a quick lunch here which was quite enjoyable. It wasn't 5 star but that was not what we were expecting or wanting but the food was quite reasonable and the house wine acceptable and the atmosphere and location was exactly what we were wanting. It may have been a different experience if our waiter had not of speak reasonable English as none of the other waiters did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    41
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
1 review
“Mon dieu - the ANGRY waiter!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

OK - I NEVER write reviews, but I just had a meal where the waiter was... angry!

I don't know what when wrong - but by ordering from the man who took my drinks order I obviously insulted him in some way I could not understand - I even asked him if it was bad that I had ordered - but he was so angry he couldn't answer me. I kept thinking I must be imagining it - and kept trying to get him to warm up - but no - he was in a total rage from that point on until I left..

It was actually rather an unpleasant experience - especially as I was on my own - which was a shame because the food was good brasserie fare - and I could see all the other waiters having a nice time with their tables. SO don't get me wrong - it isn't a bad place - but god, this one guy...

So be warned - if you get the guy with the shaved head - it could get nasty!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Late Night Food Joint”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You know how it happens - even in Europe, sometimes you just can't get out early enough to eat dinner before restaurants begin to shut down, even when their normal closing is 2230. Because we are late eaters, we've been wanting to try La Fregate. And, it's only a very few steps away from our place. So, out we went, at 2230, after one very hot day at the plage.

Upon arriving, we were happily greeted. Where to sit? Street-side inches away from the endless stream of cars, or slightly up on the raised wooden decking? As the heat of the day was still radiating, we chose the street-side. At least the cars stirred up some air movement. Odd thing about places here - there are no fans anywhere to be seen - or enjoyed.

We had researched menus earlier, wishing to find a very good steak au poivre. La Fregate has three to choose from: 200g, 400-500g, and another dish which is similar. We chose the smaller steak, with a separate salad to go with it. We share our meals, so this seemed like a good combination. At almost 18 euro for the steak, it wasn't cheap, but could be well worth it. For an additional 1 or 2 euro, you get to choose the type of sauce. We chose creamy au poivre, the other choices being Roquefort and possibly bernaise. This turned out to be a great choice.

The steak arrived, with frittes (French fries) and a small salad also on the plate. We also received a large (dinner) plate with the other salad. The very creamy au poivre included whole cooked peppercorns. As creamy au poivres go, this was pretty good. The steak itself was another story. It was gristle-y, with alot of fat as well on this small, 1/2 inch thick slice. Finding a pleasant piece was almost impossible. We asked - and received - an additional small amount of au poivre, as we like to use it on the fries. This was a great combination.

The salad was accompanied by slices of white onion, tomato, and a combination of lettuce greens. Overall, it was lifeless, oozed with dressing, and the tomatoes had not been carefully prepared - bits of the stem had not been cut out of their tops. One of the worst salads we've had in the area.

Overall, service was pleasant, yet unremarkable. If not for the very good au poivre and fries, this review would have netted two dots, not three. A way to think about food quality here is that it is an American restaurant trying to be French, catering to the non-French, late night customers who just don't care that much about what they get. There are so many other wonderful restaurants to patronize here, even tho they are farther away - much. We won't be coming back and can't recommend La Fregate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bh355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant with friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were at this restaurant several times during our stay in Cannes. The Manager of the restaurant, Frédéric, is very serviceminded and helpful. The food is very good, traditional french. We like the tartar and the saumon!

We will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lofsdalen_blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
377 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good value - nice location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant services good value food. We like the terrace with street and see views. Quick, courteous service. The croque messieur and madame are good. Can recommend for a quick lunch. Loud music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fregate also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mandelieu-la-Napoule, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Fregate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing