We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot Margaux - CLOSED

Bistrot Margaux
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was recommended by our hotel and we really enjoyed it. Small restaurant on one of the side streets serving local cuisine, with local wines at reasonable prices.

They have a tartare menu and the steak tartare was lovely! So was the rest of the meals we had.

Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    12
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ideal local bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

This is a bustling bistro which is full of locals in the evening and deservedly so. The food is freshly cooked, tasty and well-presented and the all-in menu is amazingly good value. The service by the new owner David and his staff is excellent and we have enjoyed many good meals here for the last few years, as it is consistent and we have no hesitation in recommending it .

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
351 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not bad but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We went to Bistrot Margaux on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews. It certainly has very good value menus (the cheapest one at 13.90€ is perfectly acceptable). Portions are large and the food was freshly cooked. However, service is very brisk and we were out of there in less than an hour. Our first course arrived before we'd even finished our aperitif, which really annoyed my husband. His 'salade exotique' was very good, he said, apart from the piece of plastic packaging he found in it. Now, I don't know what it is with France but it's the third time that we've found a foreign object in our food. We've travelled extensively in the States and more recently in South Africa and have had no problems of this sort at all, ever. The waiter apologised but that was it.

The menu's ludicrous attempt at translation into English could - if you're in a good mood - make you laugh out loud but it could also drive you to tears of frustration.

To conclude, nice place, food is good but could improve by making sure diners do not feel rushed and tightening HACCP rules in the kitchen.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice place in the center !!! Recommended !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We had a great diner with my husband at bistrot Margaux. Few meters from our Hotel in the center. Good food for good price. You feel like home even if you are far away from it. Excellent french bistrot. Menu from 13.90€ , not expensive at all. We will be back for sure. The staff is welcoming and the ambiance is cosy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AudreyRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ordered the set menu. It is worth the...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Ordered the set menu. It is worth the money. Nice place. Will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank razorgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Margaux also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing