We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsuites Hotel - Residence
Ranked #3 of 21 Cannes B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel located approximately 15 minutes walk from the city center/beach. Very friendy hotel staff checked us in early even though we booked the hotel only three hours upon arrival. The staff was helpful providing us with a map, recommending places and booking taxis. We never faced any language issues. The small appartment was clean with the exception of a feather (!) on the floor of the livingroom. Smal kitchen equipped with a fridge and wineglasses.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank StineOde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Excelsuites Hotel - Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I must jump right in and state that starting a row with the guests on arrival in the pouring rain was not an auspicious beginning: nor was offering a kitchen without a single piece of equipment to use, which is rather like offering a bathroom with no water! That was the situation we sadly found ourselves in at this suite with kitchenette. There is no point boasting about the hob if there is no saucepan. We couldn't even wash or clean up! I have used this formula before locally in Nice at the Acropolis, where they could not make you more comfortable, all utensils and washing up facilities to help you look after their property. We arrived in Cannes on March 28 for 4 nights and wanted among other things to cook local delicacies.
The man at reception who seemed to be in charge was more concerned to tell us how much commission he had paid for our booking, indeed he turned his computer screen round to show us how much we had cost him which was embarrassing. He then asked us to pay 24 euros for WiFi which we told him was complimentary according to our booking sheet: he claimed not to understand 'complimentary', (he could have looked it up!) but said he would check with hotels.com, we don't know if he ever did that, he did not let us know even when I asked him. He also told us we had to pay 40 euros extra for use of kitchen equipment. We were infuriated and refused to pay any more. He could see that I was quite ill, coughing badly, but although he grudgingly gave us two sachets of herb tea, (for which he intended charging, it later appeared), he did not give us any wherewithal to make even that hot drink, which I obviously needed.
Up in the two bedroom suite, one of the bedrooms with tiny twin beds was 'depressing' in the words of my friend: the size of the bed more suitable for children than adults. My room with double room had a stained bed cover, the sofa was also stained, it needs a refurbishment, as it felt shabby. The microwave smelled badly of burning and the inside of its door seemed to be peeling off. We wondered if it was safe. In the shower room the shower head gave no decent distribution of water directing it in a clump, it also would not stay fitted to the pivot, but fell down. I used the one over the bath in preference, so we shared that bathroom. The mirrors in both bathrooms were tarnished at the base.The trim was falling off the lampshade. On the balcony the wood is badly in need of varnishing. The safe was set so high that I had to stand on a chair to reach into it. They claim on their website a fully equipped apartment, yet we received not a cup, knife or plate. That is their description! We paid £100 a night and were feeling thoroughly ripped off by this angry man, and less comfortable than we would have been in any other hotel as the accommodation is basic.Having said all that, I must add that the chambermaid was efficient and charming. The lady at reception and her husband who helped with maintenance were very nice.
The boss was most insulting to my friend for insisting that we had paid for Wifi and she needed it. He seemed to take out his temper on us as his guests. I would never go back. I was left furious and disappointed. We selected his place at greater cost than a local hotel for the Kitchen facilities and the Wifi: we would have been better off almost anywhere.

Room Tip: Pack your own knife, fork and spoon and buy plates and mugs! There is a sea view just from the edge...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelSuites, Gérant at Excelsuites Hotel - Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame,
Désolé que vous soyez déçu de votre séjour.
Vous avez oublié de préciser que nous ne vous avons rien facturé.
- Wifi offert.
- Supplément kitchenette offert.
- Thé à l'arrivée offert.
- Thé et lait le deuxième jour offert.
- Taxe de séjour non payée et prise en charge par l'hôtel.
En résumé vous êtes partie sans payer un seul centime.
Cordialement
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The ExcelSuites Residence is well located, clean, dry, smell free, air conditioned and reasonably comfortable. It is not a luxury hotel and does not pretend to be. For what it charges, it is good value and the staff are friendly, polite and helpful. We had a twin-bedded suite on the third floor. In general, the furnishings were early Ikea. The bedroom was small but adequate. The twin beds were narrow and would challenge larger people than my wife and I. A large blanket was provided which, when folded double, kept us very warm even though we turned off the conditioning system at night. The pillows were comfortable. There was adequate hanging space for clothes. Next door to the bedroom was a dressing room which proved popular with my wife when applying make-up, had extra hanging space and allowed for suitcase storage. The bathroom had its own electric heater and there was a good supply of quality towels. The shower over the bath was quite powerful but it was mounted at a height that meant even a smallish person had to unhook it for top-down use. The wc was separate and in a tiny "cupboard" without a sink. The remainder of the suite was a kitchenette come lounge which provided a good expanse of comfortable seating. Somewhat strangely, the kitchenette, which had a useful microwave/combi oven, did not come with any equipment. We did not need to rent pots, plates and pans, because we were eating out throughout our 3 night stay. However, it would have been nice to have had a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Overall, we were comfortable and had no complaints. A wider bed would have been welcome as would a cup of tea but those faults aside, we would happily consider another stay. Parking is charged at €10 per day and is via a single-car lift to an underground car park where some of the bays could put your hire car excess at risk. Breakfast was offered at €11 or €13 (can't remember which) but that didn't seem to be particularly good value and we made use of local cafes - probably more fun. Check-in check-out was efficient. The reception is not manned at all times and, out of hours, entrance is gained via a coded key pad - worked without trouble for us.

Room Tip: Try to get a bedroom away from the busy main road. Our room, 301, was fine - the bedroom was at the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierrelePilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We would like to thank people who work in this hotel. Because I've nemer met such a kind, nice and helpful stuff ever. They always can help you with everything you need! Always smiling, always open! Great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Excel residence for 4 days at the end of August, in a 6 sleeper apartment (2 single beds and 2 double beds) - we were 4 people.

The welcome: The family that manage the hotel (I think it's the owner and his family) are really great. From chaning our booking at the last minute, to helping us park our car, to letting us know where the good spots are, what to avoid, and other suggestions, etc. The really made us feel welcome, and well taken care of.

Apartment: Although we weren't at the apartment very often, it had all the comforts of home and then some. Everything was in working order, apartment was cleaned daily and beds were pretty comfortable. Only schlep, was that for an apartment that sleeps 6 people, there was only one bathroom, and an extra toilet. This meant that we had to wait for each other to get done, which was annoying when we were going out; but we managed.

The hotel: The hotel is in a decent area, within walking distance of pretty much everything. The views are spectacular, and what more could you want with a jacuzzi a few steps away... Breakfast was not included in our package, and so we had to pay extra. Having said that, though everything was fresh, and always ready, it could have been better... it was very minimal...

Parking: Because Cannes is pretty busy, parking isn't always available, but we did have the option of paying for parking here. This meant we never had to worry about driving around for forever, and our vehicle was always safe. Note, to enter the parking, one has to drive the car into a lift; this is a bit snug, and so the first time around, we had to ask the owner/manager to help us out. If you are a more capable driver, then no sweat ;)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel! - the welcome alone is what did it for me!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent there five days and the time was great : the Stuff was proffessional, friendly and very helpfull. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was good : shops, beach and harbor within 10 minutes walk.The best thing was jacuzzi on the roof you can sit in bubbles and watch Cannes skyline at night.We will definetly visit Excel Suites next year !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_W101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Rooms were verry clean and service was excellent. Only bad thing is that the rooms were not ready yet when we arrived within the inchecktime. But receptionist was so kind to apologige and give us towels to stay at the jacuzzi for a hour.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmedEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.9 mi away
Eden Hotel & Spa
Eden Hotel & Spa
#33 of 126 in Cannes
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
Novotel Cannes Montfleury
#63 of 126 in Cannes
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cannes Gallia
Hotel Cannes Gallia
#37 of 126 in Cannes
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsuites Hotel - Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsuites Hotel - Residence

Address: 93 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cannes
Price Range: $90 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsuites Hotel - Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a short term or a long stay, for business or your leisures in Cannes, South of France, you will find in Cannes the residence Excelsuites with all comfort and services of a luxury hotel and the independance of a aparthotel.Apartments for rent for 1 night, 1 week, 1 month or more, as you wish.46 luxury suites, studios and apartments from 36 to 73 square meters all furnished for 1 to 6 persons with AC and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Excelsuites Hotel - Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing