We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in 5 days”

Xavier La Pizzaiola
Ranked #76 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Twice in 5 days”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pizzaiola, 4 Seasons, and the Anduile (spelling?) were all ridiculously good. If I had the opportunity to open a franchise, I might strongly consider it! The pizza is great, the wines great value, the spicy oil is very good.

Service was friendly and efficient. This was a fun casual place to eat that I would return again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    160
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit Chez Xavier”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been going to Cannes for over 20 years and this restaurant has become my go to place for a simply delicious meal. Their wood oven pizza is always so good-I like the pizza with chorizo. Their spicy oil add a nice touch to their pizza. They also have very good salads. And nice meat. I had a scallopine Milanese last time with their salad with bacon. Delicious, simple and cheap. Try it for a quick lunch or a dinner. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P_world_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here after such good reviews and was not let down...Booked and turned up to a very busy restaurant indeed.Lot of locals which is always a good sign.Order taken quick and food arrived fairly fast.As reviews have said perfectly made Italian pizza wit lots different types to pick from.Didnt try pasta as everyone was eating pizza..Prices very good for Cannes so go and Enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cannes' hidden Italian gem!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited La Pizzaiola on a fridaynight around 7:30pm, after reading about it on tripadvisor.com. The place was already somewhat crowded but luckily, we got a nice table right away (no reservation). A friendly waiter gave us the menu and reappeared after 10 minutes to take up our order. The drinks and food were quickly prepared and brought to us despite the place getting busier and busier. By the time we finished our meals the place was cramped! It seemed like many of the guests were locals, which is probably due to the fact that this restaurant is located just off a main road.

We ordered a dessert to share, a huge piece of delicious Tarte Tatin (priced at 5€, this was a true bargain!!!). All in all, we had a great experience at Pizzaiola and the food was fantastic.

Pizzaiola is a great restaurant which offers simple, classic Italian dishes prepared perfectly. Nothing fancy nor fine dining, but great food at a modest price.

Would definitely recommend, but the place is popular so keep that in mind if you plan to visit.

Visit: May 3rd, 2013

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsterdam-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happily going here over the course of 10 years”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We dined at Chez Xavier for the first time in the summer of 2003, and have been returning regularly ever since. We're in Cannes 5/6/7 times a year, and try to fit in at least two, possibly three visits to 'Chez Xavier Pizzaïola' every time.
Service is always friendly. The style is buzy, the dining crowd is mainly local, not touristy - which in our book says Good Quality!

Over these 10 years, we've had
- one experience where the food was not perfect - the fries were soggy,
- one experience where service was not perfect, waiter was too stressed.
This is over the course of 10 years! What does this tell us? It tells us you can count on this place! They deliver, servicewise and productwise.

Their pizza-baker is an artisan, he knows what he is doing, and he does it wonderfully. The pizzas are thin, italian in style, baked in their wood oven and always tasty. There is a good selection of diffrent pizzas.

Their pastas are what we've had the least times I guess, but we have tried everything on the meny, and have been pleased every time.

Their meats are the hidden treasure. They use best quality pieces, cook it to your exact wish, and voila - you're left with a treasure to consume. Their diffrent sauces are good, and there are no short cuts, everything is made from scratch.

Wines are very reasonably priced. Starting at €3,5/glass, you find very decent wine at €17/bottle from Provence, and moving a bit upwards. We've had wine here that was substantially more expensive in other establishments in Cannes.

The short version: Christoph and his team deliver! We have a wonderful evening every time, as we did this evening. Thanks, and à bientôt!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xavier La Pizzaiola also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Xavier La Pizzaiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing