We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great sales chat, average delivery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
Ranked #295 of 784 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great sales chat, average delivery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After three nights in Cannes we were open to taking a chance and the guy outside had a great patter so in we went. For the same money we had much better experiences elsewhere, not so much becuase of the food quality, which was not that bad, but the atmosphere and attitude of the waiting staff lacked care. Starters: foie gras maison, fine; casoulet de st jacques, very tasty. Mains; boeuf au poivre vert, good, trio of mixed meats, average to poor. wines, not too expensive: good rose and crozes hermitage. However, we did feel unattended and on something of a gravy trian, no pun intended. There are better places; places that make you feel more welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Stevescnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    84
    43
    23
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Been there with my husband and the colleague in January, 29th 2013. The most delicious bouillabaisse I ever had in Cannes during MIDEM for over 10 years! The meal was exquisite in taste and presentation. Magnificent host and sommelier. Had a great fun and enjoyed our dinner. Were not only tolerant to Calvados which gave us a stroke in head and purse ))))))

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“REALLY AVERAGE!! DISAPPOINTED!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place always looks very popular!!
However, maybe the chef had a night off
But our food was very, very average
Foie gras cooked nicely, but it's accompanying fig sauce was made from the juice and figs from a tin, just thickened with cornflour. No other seasoning, stock, fruit or alcohol
(None of that lovely rich, reduced, flavoursome sauce. That really makes this dish!!)

Meat platter, was more quantity than quality
Virtually inedible, under-cooked pastry, with the apple pie desert

Unfortunately Cannes has far too many restaurants of this quality

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crumpet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“unpretentious, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my wife went without many expectations. Service with only 3 people working. Friendly but efficient. Food very, very good. We ate the chevre chaud (hor goat cheese salad). Dar: carreau d'agneau, note 7, and steak au cheese roquefort, note 10. It's worth. Very authentic.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noruegues2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good cooking. Fixed price menu good value but don't stray from this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyable meal with top class cooking. Would recommend this place. But, in a wine producing country, how come the wine is so expensive??

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank declanlernihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing