We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, wonderful setting”
Review of La Guerite

La Guerite
Ranked #246 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $58 - $105
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: From April 22nd to November, the restaurant « La Guerite » welcomes you on « l’ile Sainte Marguerite ». You will discover a place of 1000 m2 at the water’s edge in front of the Bay of Cannes. In this little piece of heaven, you will find three distinct spaces: the restaurant, the beach and la Moulerie. We welcome you for your lunches, dinners, private events or professional meetings.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, wonderful setting”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Please do not be put off by the older reviews of this place as I think there has been a change in chef/mgmt this year.

We hosted a small dinner there and it was fantastic! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the setting was beautiful and the food was very good. Would recommend and go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    85
    55
    61
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Turn left and not right”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As we came down the steps from behind the old prison we came out into this restaurant at lunch time. We didn't wan't a meal - just a snack. Opposite the main restaurant, and run by the same people, is the open bar/entertainment area - a bit like a bush/beach pub - with a kiosk attached. We had a beer and shared a ham baguette in the shaded areas. Pricing was good. I got the impression that there was a lot of renovation work going on and everything was a bit "in progress". The toilettes had clearly been finished and were very clean. Can't comment on the main restaurant at all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip Off! Stay away”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stopped here for a cup of tea for 2, not on the menu, big mistake. We were served a pleasant tea but tthe staff were scruffy, didn't acknowledge us for some time, made us feel in the way and then we were charged 7 euros per tea.

We had been looking for somewhere for lunch later, didn't bother going back here, don't let the setting persuade you, they do not deserve your money. It left us feeling ripped off and annoyed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sward151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“worse than a tourist trap”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This restaurant has a beautiful situation on one of the islands near Cannes.
It used to be a nice place for many years but taken over a few years ago.
We were very upset about the way we were treated. Very rude and arrogant staff!!
We had to wait more than 1 hour for the food. 20 minutes for the wine.
Bouillabaisse was cold and very simple for 85 euros.
This place is terribly overpriced! Even the coffee was bad.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“prenez garde...rip-off alert!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I 'd rather say nothing than knock a restaurant, but reading the curiously divergent reviews of this particular restaurant, I feel I owe it to other tripadvisor users to put my oar in, too.

We took the 10-euros-a-head (9 people on the way out, restaurant seems to seat about 50) for the 5-minute-each-way return boat trip (their boat) out to L' Ile Sainte Marguerite on the chin because the evening seemed to promise so much. The restaurant is in a terrific setting beside the sea, with a floodlit monastery (or whatever) high on the cliff above, and we plonked ourselves down in eager anticipation.

Sadly things went downhill from there. The food was below average and farcically over-priced (75 euros for soggy pasta - left uneaten by all who chose it - with half a langoustine draped over it, and 80 euros for a very ordinary bouillabaisse) for the quality (or lack of it).

On top of this they tried (and almost got away with) charging the two people sharing the bill just short of the full cost of the meal each.

Unfortunately we only spotted this after we had paid (it was so dark we couldn't see how much they had typed in), and were immediately hurried away into the back when we pointed it out. There we got little more than a shrug and were told it was impossible to reimburse our credit card accounts (hmmm), and we would have to accept cash - as somebody said, a great way to launder money; then - surprise, surprise - they discovered they had 45 euros too little in the till...!

In disgust we said to Hell with it, all, thought about informing the police (but one never does) and stopped our cards, just in case. Most of the other customers seemed to be Russian and might not have noticed until too late either, but if they did this even once a week, they would still be pulling in a small fortune.

Be warned therefore: lovely position but well below average food AND CHECK YOUR BILL if you do end up there. Had the boss seemed even remotely interested, I probably wouldn't have bothered with this. I would like to believe it was a genuine mistake (then it would just be another outrageous tourist trap), but we all had a bad feeling about it afterwards, and it would be interesting to see if any other tripadvisor customers have experienced something similar there (I hope not).

What is sad is that with even half-decent food it might be worth a go, but it rather seemed they just wanted to make as much as possible as quickly as possible from people they didn't expect to see again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bongomagnifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guerite also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Guerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing