We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appeared typically French”
Review of Le Grand Cafe

Le Grand Cafe
Ranked #198 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $17 - $58
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Appeared typically French”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Both premises and staff were very smart. We sat and enjoyed drinks while watching thhe Christmas Market. Didn't eat but the food served to the other customers, most of whom appeared to be locals, looked and smelt good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    169
    58
    34
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of Cannes best places for food, drinks and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a more than 20-year old tradition to always start a visit to Cannes with a lunch or dinner at Le Grand Café.

The staff is always helpful, the food is great, and you have a great view of the harbour, le Croisette and the surrounding petanque-lanes. Almost everyday there's also a market close by.

You can come to Le Grand Café for a great meal, or just enjoy a good drink while you relax and enjoy the view.

My favourite here is the Foie Gras; probably the best you'll ever have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caline1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had eaten here a few years ago and returned on this visit to Cannes. Unfortunately we didn't find the food as good as previous visits. We got bruschetta to start and this was really nice but we weren't advised that portions were very big so when our mains arrived we were fairly full. I ordered veal Milanese - it was very bland and the huge veal steak came with spaghetti bolognese - very unusual. I think it's reasonable to expect the waiter to have advised on sizes of portions! Prices were reasonable and seemed cheaper than a few years ago.

Helpful?
Thank LouK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I ordered cheeseburgers from this restaurant. We were not impressed. The burgers took quite a while to arrive, and when they did they were not thoroughly cooked (actually closer to raw) plus one had onions even though we asked them to not put onions in it. So we send the burgers back. When the new burgers arrived they were well done – with a vengeance. Charred pretty badly in fact. And yeah – they both still had onions. The fries were crisp but obviously made in oil that should have been renewed a while ago. Service was painfully slow and incompetent, overall, though pleasant enough. In short: go somewhere else – there are a lot of places to choose from.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkeldrewsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better not.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wouldn't recommend it if you want to enjoy a good meal in a nice atmosphere because this place is not suitable for this, imho. We ordered crepes and I had a cocktail. The crepes were alright, not bad but could be better, you know. Probably an option if only you want to rest for a bit and have a drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing