We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad....”
Review of Gaston Gastounette

Gaston Gastounette
Ranked #94 of 808 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vimercate, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so bad....”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for lunch.
The menu is pretty good and the food also, but it's the classic restaurant for tourists.

Not bad, not glory.

Helpful?
Thank prometheus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    158
    80
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I found this nice restaurant on the harbour of Cannes and decided to give it a try, despite the high price. It was overall a good experience, the fish was really good and the presentation of plates was perfect, nice service too. However, I think some things were way overpriced: we paid 15 euros for a Sambuca, I understand it is importation good outside Italy, but 15 euros for a spirit which is made out of nothing rare or hard to find is frankly too much. Even the menu is a bit expensive, in my opinion what you're paying for is the fact of being in Cannes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilviaLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
305 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“More style than food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice over last two years and our opinion just strengthened : the service and style unfortunately are not matched by food. The food is rather dull and does not have a touch of creativity that you would expect from such a stylish and expensive place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a fantastic experience. If you stay with fixed Price options, the prices are great value. Delicicious Food for all cources with large portions. Outstanding clientele too. Would defintately return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, ok food, terrible service!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been here several times during the years. Great location on the old harbour, pleasant interior and exterior areas, whiet tableclothes and an exclusive appearance make this a good spot to spend a lunch or an evening. This is not a gourmet place. Simple bistro cooking, normally of quite good quality, though. The service is ridiculous! A couple of examples form this time around: We were seated oustside. When ordering a half bottle of Domaine d'Ott rosé wine, the waiter at first declined to serve it because it was "too expensive". Thank you very much! the bottle appeared, and the waiters disappeared. Almost for good! On one occasion I had to go to the back of the restaurant, knock the kitchen door and fetch the staff myself! Plainly arrogant! Very expensive for what you get. Conclusin: Nice place in a nice location. Good bistro cooking - very erratic service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terje T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston Gastounette also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Gaston Gastounette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing