We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Good, Ambience Good, Service mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaston Gastounette

Gaston Gastounette
6/7 Quai Saint Pierre, Cannes, France
0493394792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 733 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food Good, Ambience Good, Service mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our last evening we ate here but went home disappionted.

Had to wait quit some time before we finally got a menu and something to drink, while in the meantime locals were seated immediately and serviced. So actually a bit annoying.

I would lie if I said food was bad but could not compare to the diner we had the evening before.
Again we got the feeling that staff was more occupied with each other than with guest but hé we do not speak French so that might be the reason..

For the food we would go back but service needs more

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After 2 days of disappointing food this place was recommended by our hotel. We had a very enjoyable meal and service was great! Wish we'd discovered it sooner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lientje_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great restaurant to go for a special occasion we went there easter sunday for dinner fab food. The bouillabaisse was certainly a filling dish

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank suhashini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best tiramisu of the world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am Italian, so I normally eat very very good, and normally I don't like French cuisine, but this restaurant surprised me with the best tiramisu of all my life!!! and all the other dishes were also superlative and the turistic menu was not expensive.They are very nice, clean and efficient. The restaurant is elegant. When we were in Cannes we ate ONLY there, lunch and dinner!!! :) They have a wonderful gift from above!!! ;)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littleangelmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quality Food at Exceptional Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant serves delicious food, beautifully presented with first class service and wonderful ambience at realistic prices. Forget the huddle of restaurants in the centre of Cannes and take the extra short walk to Gaston Gastounette, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaston Gastounette also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Gaston Gastounette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing