We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred L'Ecailler

Fred L'Ecailler
Ranked #121 of 768 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a great restaurant, a place where the food is good, the people and the atmosphere are nice with a beautiful location. A perfect restaurant for summer time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isadelerins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    76
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal on our last night in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The concierge at the Majestic Barriere recommended this restaurant to us. We were looking for a great ending dinner in Europe before heading home after spending two weeks on a cruise. This restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. It spans two sides of a small side street in the old quarter. On one side, there is the open air seating and on the other there is the inside portion of the restaurant. There is a large iced display that contains all of the fish that is served that evening. They have a large array of choices. Our waiter was very helpful in the selection process. We had a variety of fresh salads (octopus, prawns, etc.) Then three of us had extremely fresh fish and the fourth had Bouillabaisse. All of us thought that it was one of the top two meals that we had in Europe during our visit to four countries. We also had an excellent Rose from Provence that was very reasonably priced. Finally, the desserts that we had were outrageously good. This was a perfect conclusion to our trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It is very French and very Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is an old style restaurant in an old quarter of Cannes .
The fish is very fresh and the choice is large .
The recipes are simple but well prepared and well done.
The service is fast , friendly and competent.
This is an excellent adress for 2 , 4 , 6 or larger party.
Bon appetit .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maklouf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediterranean cuisine away from the touristy turbulence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I found Fred l’ecailler while on a morning run at the end, away from the commotion of La Croisette (the main seaside board walk) in the upscale residential area behind the Palm Casino situated in a small town square made up of bocce ball courts. Even though we didn’t have a reservation, they were welcoming and friendly (unlike some other places we have been to here). There weren’t any more tables at the outdoor terrace overlooking the bocce players, which was a pity, it seemed quite nice, the terrace should be booked in advance. We sat at a table inside. The décor was different than that on the website which depicts it decorated with fishnets and gas lamps. In fact it is quite simple and clean, still in keeping with the nautical theme but much more moderate. Their specialty is Mediterranean cuisine with a good selection of fish and meat dishes. We both had fish; fish salad and grilled octopus for starters and fish fillets as our main dishes. Although Fred is away from the touristy turbulence of the main strip, it is not cheaper. Expect to pay less than the Croisette prices but remember you are still in an upscale part of town. You do get very good quality and generous portions. We would have gone back again if the prices had been more reasonable. Yes, we would recommend Fred l’ecailler to our friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FACEtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An excellent Fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very lucky that 14 july to be at Fred .
The ambiance with the band at this typical old place , the excellent Fish " au gros sel" , the stranwberries ...
The service is excellent and typical french with " bonne humeur".
It is located far from thé crowd but the atmosphere will remind you the good old days.
May be a little too expensive .
À very nice restaurant in Cannes .

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meir48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred L'Ecailler also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Fred L'Ecailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing