We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

How one small thing can change one’s perception. We were shown to our room overlooking the extensive grounds: decent-sized bedroom and bathroom as well as a terrace area with table and chairs outside. We could park the car just beside the room which was convenient. Had to ask about the free WiFi and after a brief hiatus it sprang into life. Dinner began well, with an excellent starter of “nougat” of foie gras – a picture on the plate and delicious. For a main course I chose filet de bœuf (à point). It came bien cuit, and it is a testimony to the quality of the meat that it was edible. However, it could have been superb, rather than simply edible. A crème brulée dessert was again, like the starter, excellent.

When we got back to the room I noticed the pelmet was hanging down on one of the curtain rails, a hook in the bathroom was wonky, the rather Ikea-like furniture not really up to four-star standard. That steak changed my perception of this place from “it’s fine” to “this is not really up to the standard one should expect at this price”

Breakfast, served by the beautiful pool was very good. There was plenty of choice and attentive service.

More attention to detail is needed, because this could be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohn_Galan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 408 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fortunately guided by our gps we found Domaine Cocagne in a delightfully tranquile area just outside Cagnes sur Mer, next to Haut de Cagnes and very near Vence. A friendly reception, an efficient room, superb bed and a lovely view welcomed us here. It is stylish and elegant and at the same time cosy and small. A real nice secluded place to stay while wanting to visit the hotspots at the Rivièra. Everything is nearby, however you need a car or be a fanatic pedalist to get to this little oasis. Breakfast is fine, just watch the clock closely if you want anything for lunch because the kitchen closes promptly at 2.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms on the first floor have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica-jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we stayed a week end and we had such a marvelous time!the place is really relaxing and the welcome was really nice and charming. The restaurant is really good. Nothing to complain about the room : it was just perfect. The best place to discover the riviera but without all the chaos of the great cities. I deelply recommand it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

At Domaine Cocagne, you can rent a private villa. The house is pretty big : it has 3 large double rooms (+1 smaller double room), 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, a large livingroom and a private pool! The kitchen is pretty complete : oven, cooking plate, microwave, diswasher, nespresso machine. The living room is offering a splendid view of Cagnes-sur-mer and the sea! The house is well decorated, but a little more effort could be done.

The Internet connection doesn't work very well in the villa : it is slow and not reliable. The breakfast is like those you often get in France : croissant, coffee, fruits, eggs. Finally, this hotel is not near the center. You pretty much need a car to get there. The neigbourhood is not friendly for walkers. To reach the city center by foot, you'll have to pass trough a the trail in the forest or by the busy road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A nice hotel with peace and tranquility . We had a pleasing stay and would have no hesitation in going back . It was clean and the staff were very helpful .
convenient location with parking on site . Unfortuntely the restaurant was closed in the evening so I'm able to comment on it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank CagnesSurMerIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

... Staying at the Domaine Cocagne is disappointing. Staff is friendly, yet that sadly does not make up for the shortcomings of this hotel. The restaurant is closed every other day 'due to circumstances' and the room we were given looks out on a fence between the hotel rooms and a local neighbourhood with parked cars and motorcyles, together with noise and smells. Thus, the nice terrace does not offer much privacy or a nice and inviting view. We have not had the chance to try the restaurant yet, since it is closed so often. Rooms are clean, yet there are things that certainly deserve attention: there is little room to dry towels or bathing suits, and maintenance is not up to standard everywhere in the compiund. Breakfast is nice, yet mediocre for a four star accommodation. Simple can never be a reason to serve low quality food ... After complaining staff readily offered another room, however, this kind of jailhouse views should never be offered to paying guests, unless they are out all day and only use the room to sleep at night. There are rooms with a nice view though, and the hotel has a certain charm. If you plan to stay here, just make sure that you will not be given room 54-56 and that the restaurant is open when you intend to have dinner there!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Youko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayes there for 5 nights to explor the Côte d'Azur. the hotel is in very good location , very near the autostrada and anable a star like vacation.
the servivce was exelant. very good atitude. flexible prices.
good brakfast.
the rooms are big and pleasent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamir_rafaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagnes-sur-Mer
0.7 mi away
Chateau Le Cagnard
Chateau Le Cagnard
#2 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tierce Beach Hotel
Tierce Beach Hotel
#4 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
210 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Theoule sur Mer
432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne

Address: 30 Chemin du Pain de Sucre, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cagnes-sur-Mer
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range: $177 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Hôtel & Résidence Domaine Cocagne is a secluded private estate, nestled amidst the sun-drenched hills of Cagnes-sur-Mer. The hotel is an ideal base camp for excursions to Nice, Cannes, Juan-les-Pins, Monaco and Cap d’Antibes. With an atmosphere conveying a sense of unpretentious luxury, the hotel offers a diversity of comfortable accommodations, a heated outdoor pool with stunning views and an open kitchen offering outstanding cuisine. Here, you will find all the ingredients for an unforgettable stay on the Côte d’Azur: 5-acre secluded estate set amidst beautiful olive groves Located only 15 minutes from Nice international airport Rooms & suites Residences with kitchenettes All rooms have a terrace or balcony & air-conditioning All rooms have a flatscreen TV with international channels Conference hall (seats up to 20) Restaurant with an open kitchen Bar & terraces Lounge Fiat500 & bicycle rental (on-site) Packed lunches Heated outdoor pool Pétanque court Outdoor gym Massages Free WiFi Free parking Child-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Cocagne Cagnes Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing