We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“David is AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez David

Chez David
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Chez David represente l'art culinaire Provencal. Les produit sont frais ,la cuisine soignee, la carte est reduite 4 entrees, 5 plats, 5 desserts.1 seul menus a 25 euro : entree , plat , dessert 1 formule le midi a 12,5 euro du Lundi au Vendredi : 3 plats au choix et un cafe Gourmand compose de 3 desserts maison. La carte change toutes les semaines et suis le cours des saisons.L'equipe chez david vous accueilles midi et soir du mardi au Dimanche midi / fermer le dimanche soir . Cette cuisine faite "maison" du debut a la fin, sans pretention, saura surprendre vos papilles.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“David is AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a place! Nothing more to say that this is by far the BEST place in Cagnes.
Very creative cooking at a fraction of what you would otherwise pay near the seafront.
Go now!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank galexis505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    161
    30
    29
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An absolute must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a new restaurant offering an amazing experience for a fraction of the cost of other less worthy restaurants. We were recommended to visit this great restaurant in Cagnes, we made the trip and we were totally amazed at the quality of all the dishes on offer, the owner David is great and really personable and the staff are attentive and knowledgable. The menu has a brief description but when your meal arrives it is inventive, cooked to perfection and full of fresh, complex, beautiful flavours and ingredients. Please believe me this is one restaurant that is really worth the trip to find. It is really good value most mains are €10-12 and incredibally delicious, the desserts are equally as good and the drinks are also reasonably priced, this is not a typical Cote D'Azur place, it is a real 'cut above'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FredandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceedingly good burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stumbled across this little place on tripadvisopr. It was a few towns away from where we were staying but WELL worth the trip. It's an intimate, quiet restaurant with very friendly staff and plenty of atmosphere. The Burger Provence for 12 euro was an absolute bargain! Very creative, I've never had a burger quite like it. The meat was cooked exactly to specification. The accompanying chips were thick and cooked to perfection. David the chef came to our table to introduce himself, very friendly and happy to share some of his culinary secrets. We'll be back next year so keep the burger on the menu!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMB187234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple things are the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were lucky enough to stumble upon this gem of a restaurant while on holiday, and quickly became regular visitors.
The menu we were presented was fairly limited, but we were guided through all the choices by our friendly waiter. Although limited in choice, the menu changes frequently to represent what's in season and quality.
As we waited for our meal we were presented with complimentary home made tapenade and bread. The quality of the tapenade was just a hint of how great our meal would be.
Between the 6 of us eating we managed a strong selection from the menu. The total quiet around the table was proof that everyone rated this food highly. Moist fish, tender steaks, delicious regional stews - fantastic. Once all the food had been served, chef David came out to say hello and introduce himself - a really nice, friendly touch.
All in all, a great culinary experience. Simple menu done really well in a beautiful setting, with a fantastic welcome.
Cant't wait to go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good fresh food - Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The wonderful simple menu, allows the chef to focus on each dish. Lovely touches such as the tapendae for starters brought out to the table. Lovely, lovely waiter - could not do enough for us! The prices were surprising low for such good food! Great burger - but please note, it is served almost like steak tartare, which is fine for me but not for all palates. All the bread is homemade also!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliecotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez David also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing