We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haut de Cagnes

Haut de Cagnes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Charming village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We parked our car in the parking area Sainte-Luce in Cagnes-Sur-Mer. Then walked a short distance to Square Bourdet and caught the free shuttle bus #44 to the village. The bus trip takes about 5 minutes.
You can walk to the village up a very steep Montee de la Bourade. We arrived early before more tourists like us arrived!
The Chateau was closed on our visit due to the need to move the Renoir exhibition. We walked the charming streets. Lots of restaurants to choose from.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank welldone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    161
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“with the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

this medieval village is astonishing. all buildings are delicately refurbished. there you feel the Provençal atmosphere.

try to go for dinner on the castle square, the view is unforgettable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo1974Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful old part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It really worth it to visit - the view alone is great. Strolling through century old streets really relaxes my mind.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip-Beekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I absolutely adore this small village/castle on the hill-top. First and foremost because of the tranquility and peacefulness, and secondly for the beautiful view. Walk about in the narrow streets and look at the small everyday wonders or enjoy a meal at one of the restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“its good to be the prince (or lord, or whatever)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed the grimaldi castle tour, and eating at le village restaurant....walking along the maze of narrow streets was like stepping back in time...enchanting to say the least...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sloppyjoepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haut de Cagnes also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Haut de Cagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing