We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask the price of your fish !”

La Cabane de l'Ecailler
Reserve with
La Cabane de l'Ecailler is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $93
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Cabane de l'Ecailler ("Master Restaurateur" title issued by prefectural ruling of the 19th March 2012) The title of Master Restaurateur rewards the outstanding skill of the best professionals working in traditional catering, by highlighting their expertise and their commitment to quality products. The Master Restaurateur is dedicated to serving food prepared on the premises, always using fresh produce. He also guarantees high standards of service and a warm welcome in his restaurant. The team at the Cabane de l'Ecailler is pleased to welcome you every day from 9am to 11pm, with non-stop service for the oyster and seafood platters as well as the take-away service. Our Chef Antoine Losfeld prepares quality dishes with fresh produce served in a refined atmosphere and an enchanting setting. We have an other restaurant on the Saint Jean Cap Ferrat harbour. All our team wishes you "bon appetit" and thanks you for your visit. We guarantee all the fish served in our restaurant is fresh wild fish from various fishing ports
York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ask the price of your fish !”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When the two of us arrived there were only four other people in the Resaurant, probably due to it being a French bank holiday evening and was quite everywhere.
The food was good and tasty and the service polite and helpful, but the price??
We both chose fish from the refrigerated display, which was also shown again at our table.
Fish was chosen by us both, Loup and Chappon. (Sea bream and Rascasse)
We didn't ask the price and were charged 43 and 49.50 euros for the fish. (total over £80)
Total bill with starters and Chablis 186 euros (£162) for this money it should be perfect and the
Food certainly hotter when served. A great location with nice food but don't buy the displayed
Fish without checking the price, or suffer the consequences, as we did !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre H, Responsable relations clients at La Cabane de l'Ecailler, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We wish to thank you for the time you gave us by sending us your impressions of your dinner in our restaurant.

We are very happy to hear that your meal went smoothly and that you particularly enjoyed our card, cozy and elegant atmosphere of the restaurant.

Know that we preferred the quality and freshness of products we serve rather than the price or quantity and this will always be our philosophy.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    183
    56
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
french riviera
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best oysters with best service around”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love high quality "spéciales" oysters. If you do too, this is the place to go. Good service, good wine by the glass, and nice surroundings. I haven't tried anything else there, but something tells me I will soon...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigfatbrunzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
668 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Modern South East asian ambiance for expensive fresh fish experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The ambiance is nice and interestingly designed, with an open area on a multilevel. Actually it's a nice solution because even with a full restaurant the noise is low. The Restaurant is specialized for "coquillages", but has a full menu with all types of dishes mostly inspired by the fresh catches. The service is carefull and quick. For the dessert menu they have a dish that displays all the offering (supposedly home made), the Tarte Tatin was very good, the chocolate mousse could be better.
I decided for a plate of Coquillages, quite good, but I have had fresher (in Nice), and I love sea urchins, and tried 6 of them and yes, they where pretty full, but not so tasty. My family had a "Bourride" a type of local soup, not bad, but to dense. Another had a semi raw tartare which was excellent.
As an appetizer we treated ourselves with 4 crab legs, but in the bill it was written 5 (when mentioned we where told that it goes by the weight, and how can you argue that after it all ended up in your stomac!).
I have one suggestion: since the place is of high class the bread (and even more so the toasts) should be warmed up before beeing served.
Price... it's not cheap, and on certain things is understandable, but nothing is below the 25 € and a Builabaisse at 65 € per person minimum for 2 (this is what is written on the menu)...is certainly exagerated. I don't know what it has to be made of to justify such an outrageous price. (I have not tried it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit or 2”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were staying at a local hotel and came across this restaurant by chance. We booked for an evening meal & felt welcome immediately on arrival. Excellent staff who explained the menu & guided us to an amazing meal. Would always make a detour to have a meal here. Try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jclx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Really good service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very fresh sea food. Recomend Noix de Saint Jacques . Waiters are super kind and try to please customers. Don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patristain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabane de l'Ecailler also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Cabane de l'Ecailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing