We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring S.E. France.”
Review of Vanille Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vanille Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring S.E. France.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days at the Vanille. It's a clean, small and friendly hotel across the street from the Sea. The Hilton...No! Better than the Hilton...Yes! It's a family run hotel in an excellent location. You are treated as a valued client. The sea view rooms are quaint, smaller rooms with beautiful balcony views of the Mediterranean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is a small buffet of all that you really need to start your day. Fresh croissants, cereal, yogurt, cheese, meat, toast, O.J. coffee, etc. all served in your choice of an enclosed patio or outdoor seating with a view of the sea. The family that runs the Vanille is friendly and helpful. They actually care about their patrons and speak French, English and probably even more languages. There is no elevator but after eating so many chocolate croissants everywhere we went, we needed to do a small number of stairs. Location is great. If you are driving, there's easy access to the A8 and other main roads. The area has many restaurants, stores and gas stations. From this hotel, you are only minutes away from Nice, Menton, San Remo, Monaco, Antibes, Cannes and more. So much to do in this area based out of this perfect little hotel. I highly reccommend it. I'm an owner of a travel agency and would not have any trouble putting clients here.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars and get a seaview room with a balcony. You're on vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
80
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What we said last year still applies. Cagnes-sur-Mer is such a friendly little place and this hotel and its staff epitomise the town. It is not the smartest of hotels - it needs a lick of paint and new carpets - but for this sort of money where else can you get a room with a sea view on this stretch of the coast? The rooms are fine, the buffet breakfast copious and there are smiling faces all around. The free parking behind the hotel is a real bonus. We give this hotel five stars for excellent value for money and for the friendliness of the staff. We shall continue to return.
Mick & Marian Bister

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel together with my grandmother and her partner. It is a very cosy hotel. Beautifully decorated and romantic. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It's very nice you can park your car behind the hotel or in front of the entrance. The breakfast is good. I would recommend it to family or friends.

Room Tip: We had a room with sea view, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelEyes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I only stayed here for one evening but it was a great stay nonetheless. Management is friendly and the rooms are clean and simple (fan only, no air conditioning, which was fine for a late June stay). They actually have fresh fruit and some cheese for you in their breakfast spread unlike most places which will just give you a croissant and baguette.

My only complaint is that the shower head holder was broken so I had to hold the hand held shower head while I was showering. It was only a single night stay so I didn't bother to bring it up.

I would definitely come back and stay in an ocean view room the next time. It's an oceanfront property in a safe area (south of Nice which can get grungy at night) which was a concern for me since I was a female travelling by myself.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. The garden view room faces the parking lot which has some plants and the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstinawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location.
very friendly staff
good value for money
had a really good time.
would have liked the bar to have been open a wee bit later

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in the Vanille hotel 2 weeks (June and September) in summer 2011. The hotell is centrally located 20 m. from the 'promenade' in Cagnes sur Mer with short distance to everything (the airport in Nice is only a few kilometers away). Cagnes used to be a place we always only drove quickly through, but this town is really improving - the promenade area is getting more and more beautiful and 4-5 new beach restaurants popped up there last autum while we were there.

The hotel offers free WIFI and parking. A good, rich (enough) breakfast buffet is included in the price and is served in a nice cantina with terrasse in the reception area. If you choose one of the sea-view rooms, you can relax on your balcony sipping a glass wine while enjoying the beautiful sea-view and gazing at the traffic below. Obviously, beeing so close to the traffic isn't only positive - you need to use ear-plugs in order to be able to sleep. There's ceiling fans in the rooms - but unforunatly no aircondition. The rooms are modern and clean and as far as I understood the owner, the hotel is even refurbished this winter. The owner is a very informal and charming man and the rest of the staff is friendly and helpful as well. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chose to stay at Cagnes as we were taking the car ferry from Nice to Corsica. Nice was nigh on impossible to stay in as hotels with car parking facilities seemed to charge outrageous prices or were in inconvenient locations. The Vanille, with its own free car parking and situated on the road which leads directly to the Port was the perfect choice.

We did have a problem though. Our return crossing arriving late in the evening would not permit us to get back to the hotel before their doors were locked. However, an email and a phone call sorted that out with the owner who was so helpful and accommodating.

This hotel is exceptionally good value. The rooms are airy, both ours had sea views, the breakfasts were delicous (taken on the terrace facing the sea), and the owner and his daughter were just so friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Suggest Room 8 which has a double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagnes-sur-Mer hotels
0.5 mi away
Tierce Beach Hotel
Tierce Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aeva Hotel
Aeva Hotel
#8 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Chantilly
Le Chantilly
#3 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Villa des Oliviers
La Villa des Oliviers
#6 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appart'e Hotel
Appart'e Hotel
#12 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Le Cagnard
Chateau Le Cagnard
#1 of 14 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanille Hotel

Property: Vanille Hotel
Address: 39 Promenade de la Plage, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanille Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vanille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing