We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Josy-Jo

Josy-Jo
Reserve with
Josy-Jo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 236 Restaurants in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Josy-Jo opened in 1970. Since that time, Josy is still in the Kitchen to prepare her famous provencal starters: little stuffed vegetables, zucchini flower's fritters, sweet red peppers in olive oil sauce... You can see your fish or meat cooked in front of you on the charcoal grill. Choose your piece of charolais beef, french lamb, farm veal and ask the cook your favorite baking. The restaurant is located in the medieval town in the house where Soutine and Modigliani painted their firsts canvas ! You can have dinner under the arbor on inside. Josy welcomes her guests as friends. The mood is chic but easy going. Everything is home made out of fresh products. Alain Ducasse selected Josy-Jo as "Table remarquable".
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had made a reservation by phone over a month ago and were expected. Great, as french is a bit difficult ón the phone.
Everybody were very kind and we had a really good meal with a good bottle of Wine.
The courgette flowers in beignet were especiallly good but also the faux filet for 2 persons tasted really good.
We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    18
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meat in a quaint cozy setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Yes the service could be a little slow sometimes, and there could be a wait even if you have booked, which you must, but the atmosphere in this place is great and the food is superb. Very small menu, but well selected items, local ingredients. The meat is the best thing here as well as the apetizer menu that should be sampled item by item. Desserts are excellent as well, specially the apple tart and mille feuille. Small but well selected wine list. Make sure you have a GPS in order to get there....very tricky.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hussam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went there on a weekday night. The place was slow and we had not reserved in advance. With a lot of signing and eye rolling we were seated by the door. There was one man (I don´t know his exact position) he was the only server wearing a tie, who totally destroyed our evening and the atmosphere. He did not even look at us or speak to us, just throw thing on our table or took things away. The other younger servants smiled at us when he didn´t see but they seemed too bossed around to be nice when the tie-guy saw. Food was good but not better than anything else in the area. This restaurant was such a disappointment and I felt so bad when leaving. It´s quite expensive and absolutely not worth the money. Do go somewhere else. The service and approach towards the customers are the worst I have experience in years. Some visitors/tourists might think this is "typical french" but this is absolutely not true. Josy-Jo´s attitude is not acceptable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Family Gem!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

we have been going to Josy-Jo for the past 5 years during our summer/family vacation in South France, my wife and my children as well as all our friends insist on a repeat at least twice on every trip! the food is excellent and the wine list always hold a sublime suprise vintage - I am not a dessert person but that Tarte-Au-Pommes is not to miss, worthwhile the 20 minutes wait to prepare it - the restuarant is tucked away in a medieval city on a hill, so take the time to stroll after dinner. I also believe that the Restaurant has maintained it's Michelin-Star rating for the past 10 years, a great feat for this small family institute!! will always maintain our tradition of going there twice during our yearly trips.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Talal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

4 of us went for dinner, 3 ordered melon to start. The melon was not quite ripe, therefore hard. Unforgivable at this time of year where melons are plentiful. We all ordered a different main course. The E35 pigeon was tiny with virtually no meat, tasteless and inedible. Fortunately everyone else shared their dishes. The steak was huge but again tasteless and a bit tough, the duck wasn't much better. No atmosphere. Wines overpriced. I ordered the cheapest rose at E35 a bottle but they did try to put me off it and persuade me to get their E55 bottle, or at least the E45 one. Don't be put off as the cheapest one is fine. Nightmare to park in that horrible car park that takes your car down a lift and takes 45 mins to get back. I shall never go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josy-Jo also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Josy-Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing