We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY FANTASTIC”
Review of Josy-Jo

Josy-Jo
Reserve with
Josy-Jo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 235 Restaurants in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Josy-Jo opened in 1970. Since that time, Josy is still in the Kitchen to prepare her famous provencal starters: little stuffed vegetables, zucchini flower's fritters, sweet red peppers in olive oil sauce... You can see your fish or meat cooked in front of you on the charcoal grill. Choose your piece of charolais beef, french lamb, farm veal and ask the cook your favorite baking. The restaurant is located in the medieval town in the house where Soutine and Modigliani painted their firsts canvas ! You can have dinner under the arbor on inside. Josy welcomes her guests as friends. The mood is chic but easy going. Everything is home made out of fresh products. Alain Ducasse selected Josy-Jo as "Table remarquable".
GREECE
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“SIMPLY FANTASTIC”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

One of the best meat restaurants in France. Just below a medieval castle ( it contributes to the taste ) meat cooked on wood fireplace that can blow your mind. The lady that has it is always in the premises ( we were all grand parents so when we see older people we ask about their grand children, she just had a grand daughter and her name is Suzie, ask about her and you will get the best table) but even if not the food is fantastic. By the way the best tables are on your left hand side by the window. The restaurant is small during the winter so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    18
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Third time still charming”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Tonight was my third visit to Josy-Jo in as many years. Her food is consistenly very good, the atmosphere is friendly ("not stuffy" according to my date) and the surrounding medieval castle town is well worth a stroll before or after dinner.

Josy-Jo is hard to describe and is different from the other Michelin starred restaurants on the Cote D'Azur. If asked to summarize it in a single sentence I'd say it is a French version of an American steakhouse without the charcoal and aged meat. There are no amuse bouches, there are no fixed price menus other than for lunch (somewhat surprising) and things can (and will) get expensive in a hurry.

We did not go all out by any means, I had one of the house salads and the pepper steak, my date had the deep fried eggplant and the lamb cutlets. We split a lemon mousse for dessert. The total was just over 100 Euro. I would have tried their coffee (if you read my other reviews you'll see that I have a love hate relationship with Michelin starred restaurants and coffee) but for the nine euro price tag! I can only say this: it takes a set of balls to charge nine euro for a single cup of coffee and Josy-Jo definitely seems to have them. The only reason the coffee is not ten euro must be that there are starters on the menu that cost that much.

If there is one thing I would complain about it would be that the things that went with our respective dishes (potatoes and zucchini to share) came out well after we had received our food and well after our food had begun to cool. That's simply not acceptable but, looking at other tables around us and when they got theirs, it appeared that ours was the exception not the rule.

Overall, the experience was very good and I will likely visit Josy-Jo again the next time I am in the area. It may not fit everyone's taste, but it fits mine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average expensive food”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We went for lunch, the meal was tasty home made type and the service ok but this is not what you expect from one Michelin star restaurant...
The price was at Michelin star level though ...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of the movies copyright”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The setting was just out of the nicest pictures, the food and drinks just deliciscrumptious and the fact that the lady Chef itself is coming to welcome you puts you in the perfect mood.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 21stofMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good, honest food”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local patisserie. The setting is lovely, reception was friendly, service fast, they even tried to accommodate us in Spanish and English. The staff seem to understand each other very well.

The specialty is meat (apparently unusual for the south of France) but they have other dishes, like fish (loup) and lamb. We went for beef which was very good. As a vegetarian it would be great to have an option but I wouldn't expect it in France. We all left very favourably impressed, even though the price was on the high side - for four people with apéritifs, starters, main dishes, wine, a couple of digestifs and one dessert about 300 Euro.

Only later did we realize this is a Michelin starred restaurant; I appreciate the honesty of the food even more, as I am beginning to equate anything starred or "gastronomique" in France with pretentious food and poor service.

The place to go for a special dinner near Nice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SenZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josy-Jo also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Josy-Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing