We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a meal”
Review of Cafe Brun

Cafe Brun
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Biot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cafe Brun, in institution in Biot since 1987 and owned by the same family since 1991, welcomes you all year round. Discover the cosy atmosphere of our pub-restaurant; with a log fire in the winter and our sunny terrace the rest of the year. A good selection of beers to be tried in a relaxed and friendly environment; our dishes are cook to order but even in high season when it can get very busy they are well worth the wait! A bientôt !!
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow, what a meal”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my first visit to cafe Brun, and I enjoyed the whole experience from start to finish. The restaurant is situated in a small cal de sac off the Main Street, and has a pleasing relaxing feel to it. I had mussels in pesto and garlic to start, and I have to say it was one of the best things I have ever tasted, it near,y brought a tear to my eye, for all the right reasons. I followed this with a mixed grill again cooked to perfection, and then Finnish with a brandy laced ice cream Sunday hic! The host was very peasant and spoke very good English, as did his son and wife who also support the business. My compliments to the chef and the owner. Great service, great food, great night

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    122
    30
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best meal of our holiday”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cafe Brun was recommended to us, and we went on 8 August while on holiday in South of France. Biot is a pretty village with beautiful views, well worth a visit. Cafe Brun is just off the main street. Food was excellent, our party of 4 had ribs, steak, duck and mixed grill. The owners and all the staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming, despite being really busy. They took time to chat to us, advised us on the menu, and made sure we enjoyed everything. The special on for pudding was raspberry tiramisu....to die for!!! A special evening, good wine and good value. Don't miss this place, it's well worth a visit if you're on the south coast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank suenglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly with wonderful food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family have holidayed in South of France for over 8 years and each year we visit Cafe Brun, it makes a lovely change from the normal menu you receive in this area. We would strongly recommend the Ribs or Satay Chicken. Lovely family run business which always plays good music (nice to hear familiar songs!) and my husband was delighted to find Guiness on draft. Defiantly worth a visit along with Biot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Somewhere for 'supper'..?”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Following recomendations on TA regarding on how good this cafe is, we decided to give it a go. First impressions were that it is clean and tidy, the tables were all dressed and ready for service.

Our party consisted of two adults and three children aged between 10 and 16 years.

Service was not over quick, however the owner was very polite and made small talk, his 'English' was very good, making us all feel embarrassed that our 'French ' should/could be better. The food ordered was good especially the sweets..! The only observation that I will make is, don't treat it like a normal French Cafe and wait to be served, go to the bar and order a drink if thy are busy.....would we go back........yes without a doubt..!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alihfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This fantastic restaurant is worth seeking out if you are in Biot or the surrounding area. We have been coming to the south of France for many years and only just discovered this hidden gem. The menu is quite extensive, the food outstanding, and the service and ambiance are excellent. We stopped by early in the week and were delighted to find the owner remembered us from our visit two years prior. The food and friendly atmosphere brought us back two more nights during the week! We look forward to stopping back to Café Brun on our next trip to France!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snow59715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brun also viewed

Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cafe Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing