We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Camping Eden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Eden
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Biot
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Camping Eden is great in early September, when still hot, but not too hot. The site and it's facilities are excellent and very clean. The restaurant has a new chef on board this season, Bernard, with Vincent alongside for a second season. The food was the best ever and prices are still excellent value. This camp site comes highly recommended for those who don't mind being a little walk away from the main attractions (fairground, Marineland, beach etc). Just one negative - We put on weight with the excellent food on offer!

Room Tip: If you like to get to sleep before midnight, book a mobile home as far away from the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Camping Eden in Biot for just over a week in mid-June this year and it was really lovely. On arrival we found our friends had booked us into the wrong site, so obviously there was no booking for us but the gentleman on duty in Reception - I think his name was Nino was so helpful. He offered us a choice of 4 pitches and even phoned the site we were booked in to and explained the problems. Nothing was too much trouble and he greeted us every day with a smile and a warm welcome. The site was very clean, lovely hot showers and the facilities were all a good standard. The restaurant on site was great - good food at reasonable prices. If you are used to large English pitches you may find the pitches here on the small side but that is typical of all sites in the South of France. We had a wonderful time at Camping Eden and fail to understand why other reviews are so negative. We would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This small, safe and secure site lies about a 1km walk from the quaint town of Biot (do visit) and is about 1 mile (the other way) from the Biot railway station near the beach. Just a warning that some of the walking is on the verge of the road for short sections (no path as such). Transport links, in general, are good and fairly cheap.

We travelled as an extended family group and found the facilities on the campsite ideal for our needs. The 3 children (aged 1-3 years) loved the modern play park as well as the large swimming pool (with separate sections for toddlers). This well maintained site was generally quiet with a mix of nationalities although everyone was very friendly. There is a small shop attached to the restaurant and another small supermarket on the way to Biot (just before you get there). We did actually eat at the restaurant most nights-good quality and reasonably priced.

The static van we stayed in belonged to Sunhat France and I can only praise the high level of service Liz and Jeff offered.

Temperatures in mid June were about 23-28C with only 3 cloudy days-we did have a thunderstorm on the first Sunday!

If there is a downside to staying in this area then it would be the busy coastal roads and the biting insects-the mosquitos can be a menace! Also it can be difficult getting on and off buses and trains with a buggy-not as user friendly as the UK.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ok paradise is a bit extreme, a few years since I was there but it was excellent. Relaxed family friendly site. Would happily return and hope to before too long.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

L' Eden camp site is located approximately 3 miles outside of the small and beautiful town of Biot (Home to many artists and glass blowers).

In regards to its locational convenience the following may help:

> AIR:

Nice - approximately 30 - 45 mins away (depending on time of year/traffic), Served by all major budget airlines as well as B.A from most UK airports. Both trains and buses leave here frequently in to Biot.

> CAR:

You are better using the AA or Google sites to plan your journey depending on the time of year you wish to travel. From previous experiences July and August are the most horrendous months to be travelling ANY WHERE on the Cote d' Azur.

> BUS:

On the main road outside of the camp, served by buses running to/from Biot, Nice and Cannes, very regularly (1Euro = 3hrs worth of travel). However buses do tend to stop after 7pm!!!!

> TRAIN:

Exceptionally convenient. Biot train station is approximately a 15 minute (most flat) walk away, by the beach. Trains run fairly regularly, however BEST to check trains BEFORE going to the station as the office is CLOSED between 12-2pm for siesta. Not all trains stop here and so run through so please check.

Tickets are exceptionally cheap in contrast to UK service with an adult return to Monaco (1hr away, so furthest you may wish to go) costing around 13.50EURO for adult. Therefore you should make use of something called the Carte Isabelle costing a bargain €12 (£10), this day-long rail pass allows unlimited travel on any of the half-hourly trains that scoot along France's Mediterranean shoreline. There are 30 or so stations between historic Fréjus and the Italian border town of Ventimiglia that make use of this ticket.

*******************************************
I would stay that if you are a fit and active family of any age then you do NOT need a car due to the convenience of public transport here, however if you are not perhaps as fit as you would like or have health problems or even a very young family you may wish to consider a car (your own or hire once there) as the HEAT more than anything can make a small journey more and more difficult.

OK so the camp site and accommodation............

We booked our mobile home via Liz and Jeff at Sunhat holidays (small independent tour operator), last minute. I have to say they are very personable and friendly from the outset, which makes you feel very welcome, a great start and particularly good if it your first time to a new place, especially if it is your first time abroad/to France, which luckily for us it wasn't.

Liz and Jeff do offer a transfer service to and from the airport at 35 Euro each way. You may wish to use this for your convenience or explore using the train if you are on a tighter budget. Additionally if you have decided NOT to use a car then they will also take you to the supermarket at a mutually convenient time/day for around 15 Euro.

On site there is a VERY SMALL shop that sells fresh bread each morning as well as some meats, milk and cereal etc. However the nearest major hypermarket, Carrefour (Makes Tesco Extra look like Tesco Express) is around 15 minutes drive away, accessed by the major highway - NOT walkable!!

On arrival at the site you notice its size, in comparison to many French tourist sites, this one is very small and exceptionally well looked after!!

Liz and Jeff, as well as their own vans, look after some for private owners as well, which was what our van was. In complete honesty I would say the van was older than I expected and not necessarily as modern inside as one may expect for a holiday let, HOWEVER do not let this put you off as everything worked fine, it served its purpose and therefore was fine overall.

Our van was a 4-6 berth with 1x double room, 1 x twin room, bathroom and combines lounge/kitchen.

Outside each van is a very decent sized patio (often with an area of privacy also) complete with table and chairs (with parasol and sun loungers.

The vans are advertised as having TV and WiFi, however TV will only allow for DVD's to be watched and WiFi can only be accessed at the pool or bar area (If booking through Sunhat) - other operators have their own WiFi facility in each van.

The camp site is super safe with CCTV, barrier gate (staffed 24hrs) and most families were quite happy to let their children mingle around the different parts of the site. You will very soon discover after a couple of hours of being there how wonderfully friendly the site is. EVERYONE regardless of nationality or ability to speak another language will gesture or say "Hello", which is often missing on many commercial sites.

Many of the holidayer's that stay here have been visiting the site for many years and therefore it soon feels like a community for which you fit in to and welcomed. Children soon make friends with other children here, again regardless of ability to speak another language as do the adults with each other.

On site you will find the reception, small children's play area, Boules pitch (Of course!), table tennis, shop and small restaurant & bar by the entrance. This is the hub of activity of a night. Now, not ever night do they have entertainment on, however most residents go to the bar and restaurant simply to relax, watch the kids from afar and enjoy each others company. Becky (English -speaks French also) and Frank run the bar and are AMAZING. They are super, super friendly and hilarious and integral to the success that is L'Eden.

On a couple of nights of the week the bar does host some entertainment such as a Singer and others such as Disco, which Becky is definitely a fan of, strutting her stuff between tables. Additionally the waiting on staff are incredible too! Erica, Beckys daughter (sorry name slips) and Dart are ultra friendly and do an amazing job of ensuring your nights are most enjoyable whilst in the bar/restaurant.

Erica is super awesome with her jokes and stories and you MUST catch her .R.E.S.P.E.C.T song during the Karaoke evening.

Additional to these facilities there is also a large sized swimming pool at the top of the site, which is supervised by a lifeguard from opening (10am) until close (7pm). Now sadly this is the only time/area that disappointed me slightly. Baring in mine that July and August are the hottest months in the South of France, there is barely any shade at all around the pool and certainly NO artificial shade, such as parasols. This too me I felt was unacceptable and no very customer concious as the sun/heat was around 37-40 degrees during our week. The only parasol they have is for the Lifeguard, which is understandable if he has to sit out in it all day.

In contrast a nice and convenient facility they have is a water fountain by the pool to fill up your drinking bottles, nice touch!!

The Lifeguards in my opinion are the most unfriendly of the staff that work there. They are 2 brothers who live in their own ego bubble and dish around rules left right and centre. However they unprofessionally decide at times to just jump in the pools themselves or frolic with the owners wife, hmmmm - professional! - HOWEVER please do not let this small and personal gripe effect your decision to stay here.

Also on the site you will find 2 very large toilet/shower blocks, which is strange for a site with no many tourers/campers BUT they really do help! Showers in caravans are not renowned for their size or power and so these 2 additional blocks really do help and are brilliant. The shower heads are rain heads so powerful and very nice.

L'Eden is a very pleasant and attractive site with van owners spending A LOT of money on their 'property'. In some cases you would hardly recognise there is a van on the plot at all.

OUT AND ABOUT NEAR THE SITE:

BIOT:

This village perched up high dates to 154 BC and overlooks hills covered with mimosas and olive trees. Visiting Biot is to take a real tour through Provençal history.

It's streets and alleys are names accordingly : la Calade, Le Portugon, Le Cul de Sac, La calade des Migraniers, Lei Croûtons, place de l'Airette, rue Rondon, rue des orfevres, place de la Catastrophe (where two houses collapsed on June 12, 1898), and place des Arcades which is outlined on two sides by Romanesque and Gothic arcades.

One can't help but admire the beautiful doors, vaults, stairways, stonework, sundials, cobblestones, and the perspectives from one street to another.

A MUST, MUST, MUST SEE!!!!

You can walk from the site in around 15 minutes, around the corner and up the hill, 5 minutes after the shops there is a set of steps to lead you up in to the village/town.


AQUA-SPLASH / MARINE LAND (Also Far West Land / Crazy Golf and Antibes Land).

Aqua-splash is a large and super brilliant water park - a ten minute walk away from L'Eden. There are endless slides and pools here with something for all the family to do from sunbathing all the way through the mega spine tingling drop slides and water shoots.

Marine Land is pretty much what is says on the tin. It is an Americanised park whereby all manner of marine animals are based for you to see, from Sea Lion to Killer Whales.

Each species has its own pools etc, however throughout the day there are Sea Lion, Walrus, Dolphin and Whale shows, not to be missed. As an animal lover I am not particularly keen to see animals performing, however I was satisfied with their facilities, which look larger than most parks.

A combines ticket to Aqua Splash and Marine Line is around 49 Euros (Adult) that you can use over ANY 2 days in a 6 day period so works out a very good price really.

The above attractions in brackets were not visited by me this year, however Far West is for small children, Crazy Golf is what it says, but a good example of such an attraction and Antibes Land is a glorified fun fair with rides aimed at tiny children up to adrenaline monkey's.

************

As mentioned previously you can reach Antibes, Juan le Pin, Cannes, Nice and Monaco/Monte-Carlo from the train station just 5 minutes on from Aqua-splash etc. Also based here is the beach, which is pebbled but not uncomfortable to lie on or swim in.

Finally IF visiting Cannes DO NOT miss out on Isle de St. Marguerite. Walk up to the docks and catch the boat (11.50 Euro - Adult rtrn) over to the Island. Here you will find the mysterious Fort (6Euro) where the 'Man in the Iron mask' was imprisoned for many years .
Additionally there is a woodland area to explore and picnic in. The island has exceptionally low cliffs, of which anyone can pretty much find a place to walk down. Around the 'coast' of the island is littered tiny, tiny little coves that you can use literally as your own (see pics). Here you will be undisturbed as your sunbathe or swim in what feels like your very own piece of paradise. Depending where you chose to sit will depend on how many super yachts also wish to join your for a 'swim'.

ENJOY AND BOOK, BOOK, BOOK for Camp L' Eden!!!!!!

Hope you found this useful, any questions, please email.

Room Tip: It is pretty much equal across the site, have a look at the different tour operators for your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank danioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

my husband and i along with our children who are now grown up had been going to camp eden for many years, i havent been over this past couple of summers due to other reasons but i hope to be back summer 2011, all i want to say is that it is brilliant my kids loved it and made lots of friends, we also met lovely people, i cant complain about one thing, liz and jeff especially were just so helpful, they lifted us at the airport, brought us to the carrefore to get our shopping, they would have done anything for us, the caravans were spotless, everything was 100% i couldnt complain, it was the best holidays we ever had and now that y children are grown up we are going to bring our gran kids with us next year... roll on, and p.s. thank you so much jeff and liz i still have ur phone numbers and will be giving u a ring when we come over for to pick us up.. many thanks wendy and noel from northern ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drumanphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently stayed in Camping l'eden campsite in one of the Sunhat mobile homes. We would like to comment on both experiences separately in dealing with the Liz & Jeff(sunhat) and the Eden campsite as they were 2 very different experiences. The rating we gave for the individual elements are for Sunhat as they provided the accomodation. the over all rating is a reflection of the site and our experiences with the site

Sunhat: Jeff and Liz are 2 wonderful people. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by them. The caravan was spotlessly clean, well equipped and maintained. We had some minor issues with faulty equipment shortly after we arrived but we would simply put this down to the fact that sometimes stuff breaks. Once we informed Sunhat, the problems were corrected straight away. We cannot speak highly enough of them.

L'Eden campsite: Given our positive experiences with Sunhat it is hard for us to say the following about the campsite, this is not a reflection on Liz and Jeff.

Our first day at the pool was on the day after our arrival. We found it lacking in facilities i.e. there were some chairs and only 1 table which had a parasol. This table was reserved for the lifeguard. There was only one other area that provided shade, there was a tree near the entrance. One of our sons is quite sensitive to the sun, this is not a medical condition but rather a common complaint with fair skinned people, and if he gets burned he will itch for several days which as you can appreciate can be difficult if the area is burned. We take precautions by applying lots of sun block etc however we found that given the temperatures it was appropriate for him to wear a t-shirt while swimming to block the sun completely. This worked well for the first three days. On the fourth day, the lifeguard (who had been on duty the previous 3 days) ran over as our son entered the pool and informed us that he could not use the pool with his t-shirt on. Given our limited French and his equally limited English we could not understand why he could not continue wearing the t-shirt. He called upon a lady who was by the pool who was French but spoke very good English. She informed us that he could not wear the t-shirt because the pool was not a 'washing machine'. (It is worth pointing out that we later found out from the lifeguard that the lady was the owner’s wife). Needless to say w found the comment grossly insulting. We were both incensed by the suggestion somehow we were dirty people. We attempted to discuss the situation with her and she continued to insult us by inferring we were stupid, “that a cotton t-shirt would not protect him from the sun anyway”, a method we have used successfully for years.
We should also point out that there is list of rules in French, English and other languages on the way into the pool and nowhere does it say anything about t-shirts not being allowed in the pool.

With regard to the pool rules, the lifeguard attempted to apply the rules reasonably and fairly and in some cases (when the pool was very quiet) was more lenient with ball play, jumping, noise etc. This however did not apply to the owners children. On several occasions the lifeguard attempted to restrict the activities of the children playing ball and horseplay when the pool was very crowded and they ignored him, their mother was on hand to see but never intervened. It would appear there is one set of rules for some and another set for everyone else.

Leaving aside the pool, facilities for children are limited. There is a jungle gym on site suitable for children 4-8 years old and a table tennis table.

Our last comments are with the bar/restaurant/shop. It was a very clean and nicely laid out. There was only one choice of beer on tap. During our stay they ran out of blackcurrant and orange and our kids had to drink water for the remaining 3 days, they do not like fizzy drinks. We ate in the restaurant once, and found the food very nice and over all it was a lovely experience. On most nights there were very few people there after 10pm and there was little or no atmosphere. Frank tended bar every night we were there and was very nice. The shop was very small and poorly stocked.

There were other minor incidents that we experience and witnessed, too minor to spend time on here but to us presented the feeling of outsiders being unwelcome by the residents of the campsite. The campsite is mostly private caravans with a small few caravans rented out by sunhat and a Dutch company. There may be others, we did not notice.

Over all we had a lovely holiday; we have been in the south of France many times and find it a great place to holiday. This time was however sullied somewhat but attitude of the campsite owners and the rudeness of the residents. We will not be going to campsite Eden again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eireteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biot
2.9 mi away
Marineland Hotel
Marineland Hotel
#40 of 86 in Antibes
250 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Sophia Antipolis
1.1 mi away
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Green Side
Nemea Appart'Hotel Residence Gre...
#2 of 3 in Sophia Antipolis
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#15 of 86 in Antibes
658 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side Park
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side P...
#6 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Antibes Sophia Le Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Eden

Property: Camping Eden
Address: Biot, Biot, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Biot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Biot
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Camping Eden Hotel Biot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing