We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for food”

Le Cafe de la Poste
Ranked #15 of 45 Restaurants in Biot
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nice, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ok for food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First time in Biot and the place is packed for the annual international ‘petanque carrés championship’ which made our visit even more interesting. Plenty of restaurants in this lovely village and all of them fully booked, so difficult pick, at least according to ‘the the bigger the crowd the better the food, (hopefully)’ criterion. Our Moleskine guide book suggested La Poste as one of the oldest places, pity no table available overlooking the square and the games which were taken by the teams drinking wine. The service was fast but detached, I guess too many tourists and the Petanque week end on top of it tired the staff out. The food was nice, I’ll go again for that. Pity the place has no real character since the quaint old square is already a perfect setting for a tradional ‘French’ bistrot, as the name also stands out for the good old times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank et0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    57
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend a lunchtime”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It doesn't get much better than sitting in a square in a small French village
enjoying the sun and the plat du jour.

Le Cafe De La Poste is opposite the square and the waiters bring your food across.
It looks great to see them scurrying about with plates of food, it is always interesting seeing what other people are eating.

For 13 euro each we both had the mixed fish. Rouge, loup and sole fillets with a dressing of what looked like capers and something else. Whatever it was it was very tasty, I should have asked, but my French is not quite up to that yet.
It came with either vegetables or chips.
I love the Rose in France, it is very light and goes so well with fish.

There are a lot of restaurants to choose from in Biot but I think this one was as good as any. The staff were very pleasant, (and they speak English, and seem to put up with bad French speakers) and the food very tasty, what more can you ask for!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a drink”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice bar in the main street of Biot. We sat just outside, on the little road running between the shops. Good service, and a good price. Lots of outdoor seating available on the square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hert3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice terrace on the market place”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice food with a menu of the day at 13 euros, very friendly service !! we had an entrecôte with pepper sauce and rougets a la provencale. nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nadine64KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, TN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The place is very cozy and the food is very good, we ordered sea bass and it was excellent. The owners are very nice and I would go back tomorrow if I could.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eibsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing