We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch even in off season”
Review of Le Jarrier

Le Jarrier
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Biot
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant traditionnel.Cuisine de produits frais.Menu etudies pour Banquets, Mariage et Repas d'Affaires.Privatisation possible du restaurant pour les groupes.(Service voiturier sur reservation)
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
“Excellent lunch even in off season”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I came to see the town after our concierge told us it was a nice place to visit. He was correct. We parked and found this restaurant almost hidden off the main road. We actually first thought it was closed but we tried the door, and it opened.

Inside the restaurant is beautiful with white tablecloths and fantastic views of the mountain village.

I believe we may have been served by the owner, himself. We had a fantastic foie gras that was not only good, but a large portion. Our second course was French style beef that was great. As an American, I am usually disappointed by need in Europe even in fine restaurants, but this time it mire than passes the test. They even cut the beef for us, complete service.

Good wine. Great atmosphere, great service and of course great food.

Possibly my favorite meal that I have ever had in France.

Helpful?
Thank Grigorios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    73
    25
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villeneuve-Loubet, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jarrier, Biot”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Pleasant welcome and a good service. The meat was outstanding and the the fish very fresh. Starters a salade nicoise with a lot of anchovy and the foie gras good but the pate a bit less.

The house wine (province) white outstanding, red good average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rein-Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great front of house and service. Poor food.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visually, price and menu put this as a high-end restaurant among the tourist cafes and pizzerias in the picturesque town of Biot.

Met by a very welcoming front of house Madame in a beautiful setting. Accommodated 4 adults and 4 children quickly without fuss and no prior reservation.

Kids – meat or fish with mash or pasta. Steak hache good, fish portions too small, pasta under cooked. Chef claimed it was al dente but believe me it was raw. Brought out some potatoes following feedback.

Adults – Entre- Salad Perigordine, Frios gras, Feuillete not too bad but portions quite small.

Risotto – terrible, sticky and no flavour, but a nice scallop planted on top.

Mains – Gambas - 3 mid-size prawns luke warm, Cod dish – a mess, steak – OK, Skate – terrible, tiny juvenile ray and a mess.

Ordered deserts and asked for a glass of house red to accompany a cheese course. It was vinegar and cannot believe a French restaurant could serve this.

Deserts I guess were frozen and after waiting 15 minutes for the cheese plate after everyone else had finished we cancelled.

In summary great front of house, good service,terrible kitchen – sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food, but not enough of it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wonderful loaction, with views over Biot on the terrace and excellent service. The cuisine was traditionally French and was delicious, but quite expensive considering the small portions. It is slightly off the main street, so wasn't very busy for dinner at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ep632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very helpful with children”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited at lunch time with our 10 months old baby and service was very kind and helpful, we even got a high chair for our baby! And the food was excellent, I ate linguinie gambas and my husband had the swordfish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virionkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jarrier also viewed

Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Jarrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing