We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!!”
Review of Bastide Valmasque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bastide Valmasque
Ranked #1 of 5 Biot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had a great experience with Claudia and Philippe, the owners and the great Silvia that takes care of most things in the B&B. Wonderful people and the place they run an absolutely fantastic place that we'll definitely be coming back. Maybe not driving all the way from Bergen again, but we'd love to come down to Biot again and enjoy the settings and everything! Wonderful breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice to go with fresh croissants...mmm...get watery mouth just writing about it. Lovely stay in a beautiful place that we'll be going back to. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skellibjalla1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Bastide Valmasque is a very tastefully decorated B&B in Biot, run by Claudia and Philippe. They offer several rooms which differ in sizes and prices. We stayed in "Morjim" (the 2nd cheapest) for 11 nights and really enjoyed our stay there.

Before I want to comment on the exceptional hosts, just some remarks re the room and the location: "Morjim" is big enough for 2 adults with lots of baggage. Great "rain forest"-like shower, always spotlessly cleaned by Silvie and her helper. Nice decoration in a mediterranean-Indian bricolage style. Breakfast is included, and a nice upgrade of the French "croissant and coffee" routine with a large selection of marmelades, fresh cheese and freshly prepared orange juice. The only minus we can think of is that (at least in July, which is already in the main season at the Cote d'Azur) you can hear noise from the roads and the water park "Marineland" when you leave the windows open, which can be a problem for light sleepers.

The Bastide is located in Biot, a small village between Antibes and Nizza. Most of the tourist attractions - beautiful mountain villages like St Paul de Vence or Eze, beaches, Cannes, Monte Carlo - can be reached from there without hassle .That you need a car to explore the Cote d'Azur goes without saying.

What really sets this B&B apart were the owners Claudia and Philippe, who were really extremely helpful and seem to think of themselves more like "hosts" than like owners - they printed tickets for Jazz festivals for us, told us what to see, where to eat and (even more important) what to avoid at the Cote d'Azur each morning during breakfast and also initiated us into the world of steel drum jazz music. It is safe to say that our Cote d'Azur experience would have been a lot more shallow without them. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights, but stayed for 4, even though we had a very tight schedule. Beautifull garden, rooms and breakfast. This is moore than a B&B, its the french riviera dream. We will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fromthehighnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here as part of a larger trip in France and Belgium. We stayed here for three nights in Baga. The room looks exactly like it does in pictures and was quite comfortable. It is a small room, so if you have extra baggage, we would recommend getting a larger room. The room was extremely clean, the only "criticism" we have about the room was the shower, it is very small and leaks quite a lot, if you are tall, this will be difficult, if you are at all wide you will bump into the walls of the shower.

Our hosts were extremely nice and accommodating - we did not have a vehicle with us so they when out of their way to help us.

Breakfast was simple but good, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, cereal etc.

Keep in mind, if you stay here you MUST have a vehicle, it is quite a walk from the train station along a busy, winding highway with no shoulder. It was actually an extremely terrifying experience to walk here from the train station and almost as unsettling just to walk to Biot village for dinner. We would definitely stay here with a vehicle, but definitely not again without one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmoopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A large old french farmhouse restored to a very high standard providing excellant, comfortable accommadation. The decor has an Asian touch with many beautiful artifacts brought from India. The continental breakfast was served on the patia with a vast choice of teas or coffee. The owners and staff were very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

You will not regret staying at the Bastide. It is an affordable option to other B&Bs in the Cote d'Azur. More importantly, the hosts are the best that we have experienced in France (and elsewhere). The hospitality was especially appreciated after I got sick eating shellfish. The grounds are beautiful, and even if you decide to have a lazy day, you will be really happy doing so. The B&B and its grounds are decorated in a unique fusion of Mediterranean and Indian decor (the hosts definitely pull it off). Breakfast is wonderful too...you can have it indoors or on the terrace. We have no complaints - stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vsaroyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This lovely bed and breakfast is located near Antibes France adjacent to a quiet and lush golf course. The extensive grounds are carefully maintained and restful. We stayed in the master suite which was beautifully decorated, large, with high ceilings, and contained a cozy reading nook. The breakfast was fresh and derived from local products, and we took ours outside on one of several patios. The best part, however, are the host and hostess who are eager to make their guests comfortable and who both speak wonderful English.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biot hotels
0.5 mi away
Domaine du Jas
Domaine du Jas
#1 of 3 in Biot
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Sophia Antipolis
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Antibes Sophia Le Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Arcades Hotel
Les Arcades Hotel
#4 of 5 in Biot
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bastide Valmasque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Valmasque

Address: 1110 Route d Antibes, 06410 Biot, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Biot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Biot
Price Range: $813 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes away from the beach ,Bastide Valmasque is a charming guest house in Biot, next to the golf course, ideally located between Nice and Cannes. We are just 20 minutes away from Nice Airport , 5 minutes away from the Antibes train station and 10 min. from the highway exit .The Bastide offers a full equipped self catering, studio apartment (to e rented per week or per month) and 5 rooms, including 1 mini-suite and 1 suite, with a private bathroom. Wifi, Tv room, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bastide Valmasque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing