We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Del Mare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Del Mare

Cafe Del Mare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Del Mare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location was average but we had wandered into town on our 1st night.
Food presentation was very good.
The French prefer their meat on the breathing side of 'rare', so beware if you don't like 'bloody'.
Portions were more than adequate. Tuna was over seasoned, Beef was very nice.
Drinks were on the large side
The whole meal was expensive, not helped by the exchange rate.
We would not eat there again, but not because it wasn't good...but because there are so many other places to try!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    135
    38
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First dinner of our honeymoon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

...and we were not disappointed. This place was recommended by our hotel, The Royal Riviera. The decor and atmosphere was relaxed and the service very good (to be fair there were only six tables of diners in the restaurant). The portions were huge and good value. Carrying on the calamari debate, I had the calamari as part of my dish and they were superb, crisp batter, tender squid, piquant tartar sauce. My wife had a seafood pasta which was also excellent. Absolutely no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank DaveK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A jewel. Brilliant and cheap.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having eaten in some of the nicest, best reviewed and most expensive places on the Riviera, we found the Cafe Del Mare to be a revelation. Next door to the much better known African Queen, it shares the position on the sea front looking into the glamour of the large yachts in the bay.

We ordered a cream of truffle risotto with Scallops. A huge plate of perfectly cooked, creamy and very truffly risotto with big plump scallops on top. It was utterly delicious and enough to feed an army. The truth is that in a Michelin starred restaurant in the area a portion a third the size without the scallops would be €40-50 and the scallops would be the same price again as an order on their own. This whole course was €22.

The atmosphere is friendly, comfortable and relaxed. The dessert menu is a whole experience in itself and the desserts themselves delicious and generous. The wine list is not extensive. Just a basic selection of the essentials, all drinkable and sensibly priced at price more like the local local supermarket than the local competitors. the place was busy when we were there and well it deserves to be.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noah2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst restaurant in South France”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Simple lunch took 2 hours. Asked for water 3x and didn't get it till end of meal. Ordered calamari and they were the worst I've ever had. Don't know which was worse, service or food. Avoid at all costs.

Helpful?
Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Eat here twice whilst on a 5 night trip. Superb food and good value too with friendly and efficient service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank waley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Mare also viewed

Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cafe Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing